We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, needs revamping”
Review of Taj Chandigarh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Chandigarh
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Dated, needs revamping”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a regular haunt of mine in Chanidgarh; earlier it was because there were not many top hotels in Chandigarh, later it got into a habit - clean, good standards, located in centre of city. However, when I stayed recently, I felt that it had become too familiar, too much taken for granted! Especially when there are new options available in the city. The rooms and toilets are reasonably (by Indian hotel standards, not out of country) spacious, the facilities are all there. The TV in the room was a major disappointment - hardly any of the channels were come clear; for a 5 star hotel, this was pathetic performance. A good gym and pool are there, but nothing out of the ordinary. The breakfast is also predictable, nothing great. The first rains of the season brought it into the coffee shop - the corner of the coffee shop started leaking, with staff casually going about to contain it! And all at a cost which is a way too high. Best to check out the competition.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for posting your feedback in the tripadvisor.

We appreciate you spensing time and wrtiting your thoughts, It is with objective feedback from our guests like you helps us to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and delightful stay with us, every time.
You would be elated to know that we are undergoing a phase wise soft refurbishment of our rooms and restaurant. we have also upgraded our television channel system and now have an in house relay system which gives great channel selection.

I look forward to having you back at Taj Chandigarh soon.

Thankyou
Anil Malhotra
Tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    455
    192
    49
    46
See reviews for
291
142
100
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I booked the Taj on the strength of the brand. I am sorry to say that it was not a wise choice. I had n ot booked a transfer from the airport but was charged for it at the rate of 1,200INR, and despite my protest they refused to shange the bill. This is quite disgraceful ( the cool cab costs just 400INR from the airport).

The rooms are average in quality. The bathroom has a half length bath. The breakfasts are very ordinary and the cornflakes did not taste fresh.

Far better choice is the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for posting your feedback in the tripadvisor.

Allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay experience with us. Please be assured that the matter has been taken up with the concerned departmental heads for immediate deliberation and rectification.

Your patronage at the Taj is extremely important to us and we hope that this incident will not cause you to look unfavourably at Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. We regret for the inconvenience and look forward to welcome you back.

Thankyou
Anil Malhotra
Tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My first time here. The Building doesn't look like TaJ :/, at least not like the Mumbai Taj!
The Rooms are Clean and the service is as per the Standerd.
I had a lot of Indian food here. Which missed the Spice of Punjab. Quite unhappy.
Very Expensive as per the Facilities.
It is just a normal 3 star Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatee_verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for posting your feedback in the tripadvisor.
It is with objective feedback from our guests like you helps us to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and delightful stay with us, every time.
I look forward to having you back at Taj Chandigarh soon.

Thankyou
Anil Malhotra
Tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A decently done up place but the service levels don't match Taj standards. Rooms are cosy and comfortable. Food is nice but you don't have much choice in the buffet specially for vegetarians. We had lunch while checking out but somehow they donn have much to offer for vegetarians in the main course.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out time and posting you review on tripadvisor.com
We appreciate your positive impression about our rooms and the service, it is very unfortunate that we were not able to offer you with the selection of food as per you likings.
I would like to invite you to discuss and elaborate your likings as a business traveler. Please do write back to me directly on “tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com”
I look forward to welcome you back soon and serve you...
Warm Regards
Anil Malhotra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The breakfast and lunch buffets are appalling. Like all Taj properties the restaurants need an overhaul. Processed cheeses, unfresh, sugary juices, limited selection of teas (come on it is India give us some good tea). Should serve only fresh in season fruit, no canned rubbish fruit. More eggless cakes and pastries.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out time and posting you review on tripadvisor.com
It is very unfortunate that we were not able to comfort you selection of food.
Our associates are very much dedicated to providing exceptional customer service for every guest, every time.
I look forward to welcome you back soon and serve you...
Warm Regards
Anil Malhotra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
2.7 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
4.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#2 of 100 in Chandigarh
457 reviews
5.6 km away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#4 of 100 in Chandigarh
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
640 reviews
4.8 km away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
4.8 km away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Chandigarh

Property: Taj Chandigarh
Address: Block No.9 | Sector 17 A, Chandigarh 160017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chandigarh
#6 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,361 - ₹ 10,344
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Chandigarh 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandigarh, the capital of the states of the Punjab and Haryana set at the foothills of the majestic Himalayas, was planned by the French architect Le Corbusier after India’s independence. The young-at-heart, fast-growing and progressive city is striking for its urban planning, impressive buildings with brise-soleil facades, well-organized sectors and broad tree-lined avenuesTaj Chandigarh celebrates the dynamic spirit of Chandigarh in its sophisticated architecture and interiors. The newly built hotel, located in Sector 17, the city’s prime business and shopping area, is a comfortable 30-minutes drive from the airport and a 15-minutes drive from the railway station. Taj Chandigarh is the city’s finest hotel and is well suited to both business and leisure travellers to Chandigarh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Yatra, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Chandigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Chandigarh Hotel Chandigarh
Taj Hotel Chandigarh
Chandigarh Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing