We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle experience in the city beautiful”
Review of Hotel Parkview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Parkview
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Jungle experience in the city beautiful”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had the misfortune of staying at this 'hotel'.

The Parkview at Chandigarh is poorly run, is in terrible shape, has crummy room service & food and really needs a major overhaul. The only thing going for it is the location, which is great. And the laundry guy, who's really good.

Another thing going for them is consistency. Starting from bad tea, to dirty sheets, to dirty bathrooms, to lizards running helter skelter in & out of your room, it takes you through the whole routine of a jungle camp without faltering even once.

Overall, a dreadful experience. Wish I could say something nice but just can't.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    61
    41
    13
    4
See reviews for
49
34
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've stayed in two types of room in this hotel. I don't remember what they're called maybe the deluxe (the basic) and the super deluxe. I believe there's a suite as well but I did not stay there. They're both fine.
The basic room (the deluxe): I stayed there in July 2011. The backrest of the bed in the basic room had come off loose and it wasn't fixed. Spring mattresses were alright. There was a window AC and a tiny balcony facing the balconies of the other rooms in the building in front ("park"-view?? Where where??). The bathrooms were neat and clean, just that the hot-water finishes very quickly, so if you wanna have a warm bath then you'll have to fill your bucket intermittently to have barely enough warm water. Rest all is fine, the rooms and bathroom are not small. For around Rs. 1600/- a night (back then) in Chandigarh, I think I got more than my money's worth.
The super deluxe room: It is roomy and nice. It has a split AC fitted which was perfect set at 29 degree centigrade (yes twenty nine, and I know you'll find me crazy if you're one of those who set ACs at 24 and below and then sleep without compunctions in a big quilt) in the blistering summer heat outside, mainly because it throws the air directly on the bed. It's a good room, the bathrooms good too. Here you wouldn't have the insufficient hot-water problem like you have in the lower category room. Lights are adequate. At around Rs 3000/- a night (if you have contacts or if they're offering a deal, you might get if for lesser). Food is ok too. There're tea-bags, coffee and powder milk sachets with an electric kettle in the room so you can help yourself with the same.

Problem:
Keep you cell-phones charged. If you wanna make a call through the operator at the hotel, they'd charge you Rs 20/- per call whether local or STD. Also I wish that there was some light in the room that would be operated by a dimmer as all the lights are bright and harsh. Needless to say keep the curtains drawn as the view outside is not that of a park but the other rooms facing yours. REALLY! Where's the park? Maybe some rooms do have the "Park View" but I've not been in one. Another thing, if you wanna order drinks, do so before the bar closes (I guess at 10pm), else be ready to be asked for Rs 100 EXTRA for a bottle of beer (that's priced at a 100 odd itself)...so its gonna be around Rs 200 for a bottle of beer past the bar closing time!! Shucks!

Final say:
Take the basic room if you don't have a choice or are short of money. HOWEVER, if in winter time it's best to take the super-deluxe room owing to the hot-water problem.

This place is good: neither great, nor bad (at all).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Je S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Went for a friends wedding and had a good stay for 3 days. Food was average but the service was good and timely. Good place for a short/long stay but food to be preferred from outside.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nvgaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults+2 kids) stayed at Hotel parkview for a night and found it very neat and clean. The room service was prompt and the food at the restaurant was reasonably good. The staff helped us book cabs to travel to Kasauli. The lady at the reception was efficient but not particularly helpful. The hotel is well-located to all the major tourist areas in Chandigarh. Good value for money. Remember to stay in the new block where the rooms are much nicer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aps_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and i stayed only for one night here, my husband choose this place because if it's location, tourist attractions and main shopping areas are easy to reach by a 10 minutes rickshaw ride.the hotel is simple but clean and provides all what one needs, basically this hotel caters more for business congregations and functions rather then a holiday accommodation. The hotel garden makes an ideal place to sit in the evening and chatt the time away.The hotel staff is polite and well mannered.The restaurant serves continental and local cuisine, we enjoyed the local cuisine.At this hotel it was value for money.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 204 which was spacious and had garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinasedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
5.6 km away
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
#14 of 100 in Chandigarh
490 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#34 of 100 in Chandigarh
190 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Classic Chandigarh
Hotel Classic Chandigarh
#39 of 100 in Chandigarh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
964 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Orbit 34
Hotel Orbit 34
#66 of 100 in Chandigarh
52 reviews
2.8 km away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#9 of 100 in Chandigarh
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parkview? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parkview

Property: Hotel Parkview
Address: Sector 24, Chandigarh 160023, India
Region: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,990 - ₹ 3,787
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Parkview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing