We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best option in Patna”
Review of Hotel Chanakya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chanakya
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Patna
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Probably the best option in Patna”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I have stayed at the Chanakya twice. The first time for almost 3 weeks. The second time for almost 6 weeks. This hotel is much cheaper than the Maurya and I was able to negotiate a better rate due to the length of stay. The rate is still very high but there is really no other choice. The rate was less than the Ashoka Paliputra down the street even though the Paluputra seems to be in desperate need of updating when I toured the rooms. I choose the delux room at the Chanakya and asked for the same room for the second trip.

The hotel is very clean. I found the hotel staff very accommodating. Room service was fairly quick. The breakfast buffet is extensive. The tea kettle and tea/coffee supplied in my room was great to have. They let me remove everything from my minibar fridge and use it for fresh fruits and vegetables that I bought at the market and washed before putting in the fridge.

The first time I stayed people kept knocking on my door, sometimes twice a day to see if I needed anything which became quick invasive. I complained to the management and for my second trip no one bothered me. My only complaint is the limited hours one can use the fitness centre and some of the equipment in the gym could use some maintenance..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Logical7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    76
    99
    35
    21
See reviews for
31
15
33
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Among the few hotels available in Patna. The reception was courteous.
Had to hop from one building to the other through what seemed a maze of doors and corridors. There's an easier way if one just went out of the reception area to the building and went in.
The room was spacious. Maintained satisfactorily. The coffee maker appeared unused, and so did not dare to venture. The TV was nice and big, and the picture was amazingly clear.
The bed linen was satisfactory.
Toiletries okay.
Dinner was good - tried a mutton dish with a laccha parantha, and an alu stuffed parantha - yes, I was famished.
The fan and AC did their jobs well, and gave me a good night's rest.
Its located fairly close to the airport and the city, and I guess overall its convenient.

Room Tip: The new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

After having some really disgusting reviews on Patna hotels, it is with great trepidation that I entered Hotel Chanakya. The reception area was spacious, the Check-in was done fast and my room was in a different wing. It had these interesting elevators where you enter from one side and exit from the other. I entered the room with apprehensions as to how would it be. But contrary to what I expected, the room was spacious, tastefully done up, clean and well appointed. To my relief I found the bathroom very clean and all my fears about Patna hotels evaporated. The food though slightly over priced was delicious. Overall my stay at Chanakya, Patna was very comfortable one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chitra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The only option in the city if you have the money. Hygienic and comfortable with clean and polite staff (a rarity in this city!). Not a 5 star but phenomenally expensive rooms. Food is good but be ready to dish out 5 star rates for it.
Not for personal trips.
Internet is charged.
Overall, in this cleanliness and hospitality deprived city, a decent place...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed 5 nights on business and, in general, it was fine. Food was indeed good but service level varied: housekeepers were great...front desk was disinterested. Biggest areas of improvement are internet (wireless is only accessible if you have an Indian mobile number...not so helpful for foreign guests like myself) and the hotel is unable to place international phone calls. So Skype is no-go and you'll have to rely solely on your mobile. A few tweaks and they'll be ready for more international business guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PursuiterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patna hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Maurya Patna
Hotel Maurya Patna
#1 of 31 in Patna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Patliputra Continental
2.4 km away
The Panache
The Panache
#2 of 31 in Patna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
#9 of 31 in Patna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
8.7 km away
The Westend Hotel
The Westend Hotel
#25 of 31 in Patna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Archie Inn
Hotel Archie Inn
#19 of 31 in Patna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chanakya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chanakya

Property: Hotel Chanakya
Address: Beer Chand Patel Marg, Patna 800008, India
Region: India > Bihar > Patna District > Patna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Patna
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,719 - ₹ 8,598
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chanakya 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chanakya at Patna the leading four star business hotel . We have 112 centrally air conditioned rooms with premium lifestyle. Samrat is our 32 year old multi cuisine restaurant located on the ground floor is famous for its Mercury Chicken & tomato baked fish . Madira our well stocked bar is the best place to quench your thirst located in the lobby level . We are proud of our specialty restaurant Takshila located on the first floor that serves mouth watering Indian delicacies . The Murg Malai and Murg Mirch Tikka which our regular guests and food connoisseurs swear by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Chanakya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanakya Hotel Patna
Hotel Chanakya Patna, Bihar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing