We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awsome experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I went with my husband for a short trip to vizag from 28th december 2011 to 1st january 2012. We booked the ac delux cottage. The experience was awsome. The rooms clean and a spacious bathroom adds to the comfort. It had a li'l flaw when the ac remote didn't work and one light wasn't working..but then that caused no trouble. The food was tasty including the complimentary breakfast and the resturant menus. The quantity was more than enough. They arranged for local sightseeing and araku visit and on special request a day extra was arranged for us to visit some local places. The sea view beyond explanation. The ambience excellent and staff cooperative. I would definitely suggest visit to bayleaf for stay and spa (well very good spa). In case of li'l flaws..well didn't harm much. The best experience was more the the trivial flaws.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvpkolkata2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gunturu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

one of my good experience stay in bay leaf .good staff ,good location ,good food ,and spa experience excellent we went to vishakapatnam for holiday trip with my friends. that experiences was were good . the staff was friendly.we came from hydarabad

Room Tip: i will suggest to bay leaf
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijayGunturu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vizag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We went to this Spa-resort on a friend's recommendation .... wish we had seen the reviews here earlier!! Our experiences were very similar to @rajeevk (A stained and Strained Exp).
The check-in was smooth, but had to wait 5 min while the room was being cleaned out. This despite a reservtion for 1500h and arriving at 1510h. The room smelt really good and looked clean. Water was gushing at the taps (literally .... so much so that had to be careful not to splash the clothes). The AC also seemed pretty efficent and after a short nap, the kids clamoured for the pool.
Thats where we got our first surprise. The language problem of the staff had led us to believe that the pool was shallow for kids. However the pool's 4-1/2', also, there's nothing to hold on the sides.... so kids needed floats which werent available. Plus, there are no ladders, so wifey backd out. That left me to hold the kids and play with them (although, I admit that was fun too).
The restraunt is quite good ... although as a North Indian, I find it amusing that they call a "tawa paratha" as a Chappati! Bonus - the prices are reasonable considering its a spa-resort. (egg curry-50/-, "chappati"-20/-.) The complimentary S.Indian breakfast was very tasty and sumptuos. However, we had to ask (and remind) the room service to give tea bags etc.
The main disappointment came when we tucked in ..... the blanket had a cigarette hole, the bedsheet was small and couldnt cover the complete bed! and had oil (??) stains. The main issue was that the AC and fan kept getting varying due to voltage fluctuations, although to be fair, I wonder what the mgt can do abt it!
The restroom, though clean, had water accumulation problems due to bad sloping. No handtowels, shower curtains or footmats too. The best was that the window hinge was broken so that the window couldnt be closed, HENCE EXPOSING THE BATHER TO ANY PASSERBY!! When pointed out, the guy who responded only vaguely promised to check it out, which didnt happen in the next four hours, by when we checked out.
I tried the full body ayurvedic massage+steam bath. The staff was polite, experienced and hygenic. However had a shocking moment when we were informed that the lady massuere had taken a day off for Dusherra. I had to throw my weight to ensure that she was made available. Imagine a stay at a Spa where ur wife doesnt end up getting one!

PLUS POINTS -
The spa surely. Good food, specially B'fast.
10% discount on spa for residents.
kids upto 5 free.
Helpful receptionist.

MINUS POINTS -
Linen hygiene
Bad pool design
Voltage fluctuations
Response of staff.
Repairs of room problems (the long term variety)

OVERALL - Must visit for Spa .... stay at ~2500 for double occupancy is rather steep for the quality.

Room Tip: I recommend the non-delux cottage, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSDhody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We went to Vizag as Pre-Valentine's Day meet. We were looking for a romantic place to stay and we got it. The location of the resort is amazing. There are nice cottages in front of the sea. The cottages also have facility to go to the roof and see the sea view. The resort has a swimming pool. After enjoying in the sea water you can take bath in the swimming pool.

Hospitality: There was a smooth check-in to the cottages. The staff are very helpful and prompt. They deliver the food within 30 mins time. The food quality is good. The quantity was bit more, so we kept the food in the fridge given in the room and asked them to make it hot while having the dinner. They do not provide wide ranges of breakfast, but whatever they provide is tasty.

Cleanliness: This is something where Bay Leaf lags behind other resorts. The rooms were absolutely cleaned. But the water drainage was not proper in the restroom. Water used to stay near the door inside the restroom. The towels provided were not much cleaned. Be prepared for this and get some towels and slippers with you.

The receptionsist arranged a cab for the local sight seeing and it was with reasonable price.
We woke up at 5:30 early morning and went to the sea shore to see the sun rise. It was really fabulous.
Over all it was a very good experience staying in Bay Leaf.

I have tried to capture enough photographs of the resort, so that you'll have a greater visibility about it.
All the best.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goutam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights since we couldn't get rooms at the much better Senora Resort, also just of the scenic beach road heading towards the VUDA Rishikonda beach. Check-in was painless, and the room looked good, but boy, did we have a few surprises in store, and not the good kind!!!

First, we noticed that the pressure in the bathroom taps was just nonexistent. Once we removed the bed-covers, we were greeted with an old, holed(yes, i mean full of holes) and stained bedsheet. The headboard was Dusty and stained too. The A/C just wouldnt work, despite repeated complaints to the one-man reception+housekeeping+room-service+spa in-charge. The maintainance staff would amble along, give the A/C some long, thoughtful looks, and then declare that the room would get cooler "In 10 Minutes", and this routine repeated 3 times until we got tired of it, and said we would like to switch to another room, which we got only on the next day.

Our next surprise came when the housekeeping staff entered to *Make-Up* the room. They step in, pull out the bed, take off the bed-covers, the blankets and the sheets, and promptly begin putting them back on to the bed! My suggestion that maybee some *New* sheets would be in order was met with a resigned - "But sir, the bedsheet *LOOKS* ok??"
Had to Get a bit firm to get them to bring in new sheets, and get firm AGAIN to bring in fresh pillow covers. And by fresh sheets, i just mean sheets that just happen to be stained in different places! When we asked for fresh towels, we get a reply that all the towels are in the laundry, and would we mind waiting till 12 for fresh towels? The sweeping+swabbing of the room war perfunctory, and none of the areas under the furniture or near the corners were even touched. The same story with the badly holed and stained sheets and yucky towels repeated itself the next day, in the room we were shifted to. Thankfully, the A/C in this room actually worked, so we were not sweating and adding to the numerous stains on the sheets.

All in all, the housekeeping was so bad, it left convinced that they were just that right mix of incompetence and laziness that is the hallmark of government run hostels.

On the Plus side, The Ayurvedic Spa was clean, and the therapists very efficient and capable. It's the only part of the resort worth visiting. If you have to, stay somewhere else and visit it just for the spa. Also, the Food was good, and while the menu is limited, you enjoy the taste.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rajeevrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visakhapatnam (Vizag) hotels
0.0 km away
The Bheemili Resort Managed by AccorHotels
The Bheemili Resort Managed by A...
#17 of 69 in Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 km away
Ambica Sea Green
Ambica Sea Green
#22 of 69 in Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 km away
Keys Hotel Visakhapatnam
Keys Hotel Visakhapatnam
#13 of 69 in Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 69 in Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhap...
#3 of 69 in Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#1 of 69 in Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort

Property: Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort
Address: Plot-A, Ocean Drive | Sagar Nagar, Visakhapatnam (Vizag) 530045, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Visakhapatnam (Vizag)
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,276 - ₹ 4,613
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Leaf, the Ayurveda Spa & Resort is the only one of its kind in Vizag with 10 luxurious cottages on the Ocean Drive and offers an array of spa treatments, swimming pool, dining and 25 member conference facility. The cosy resort is swathed in coconut palms and overlooks the azure sea. Bay leaf beckons you and offers you indispensable indulgence. Stay-Swim-Sleep. Refresh, Renew, Rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Leaf - Ayurveda Spa & Resort Visakhapatnam (Vizag), Andhra Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing