We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #3 of 313 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

If you want to experience the life of India's Mughal rulers and relax in a stunning setting with great service then stay at Taj Falaknuma Palace. I've visited palaces in Rajasthan, but the Taj Falaknuma is by far the best I've seen. I cancelled my scheduled city tour just to spend more time at the hotel!

When we arrived at the magnificent gate, we were met by a horse drawn carriage that took us to the palace. This meant that there were no car fumes within site of the palace, which is on a hill top above the city of Hyderabad. After enjoying a refreshing local drink, we entered the palace with rose petals showering on us from above - just like royalty! I stayed in a palace suite that was beautifully appointed and comfortable. My only complaint is that it was pretty dark with no private patio or balcony. I recommend booking a room with a private patio - some of the rooms open out to a hidden private pool. The grounds are beautiful and a lovely place to walk and birdwatch. The food was exceptional - we had an excellent Italian meal with personalized attention from the chef. I had lunch by the pool one day, sitting next to a waterfall and flowers and eating excellent Asian food. There is musical entertainment in the evenings before dinner on an alcove that is a nice place for an evening drink. The staff are friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

My only complaints are that the spa services are average, the cost of a 30 minute drive to the airport is excessive ($75), and they don't put a water kettle in the room to boil water for tea/coffee.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    101
    30
    14
    14
See reviews for
218
298
33
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

i visited this place with my wife and this is probably the best hotel in south india
the staff are very friendly and they'll do their level best to ensure that you have a very memorable stay
bit expensive but worth it
has fantastic views of the city, esp. during night time
it is located on a hill top ~2000ft above sea level

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DVT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I had the chance to spend a couple of nights in this magnificent palace just before its' grand opening as a Taj property earlier this month. The restoration of the palace is still in progress - but is splendid insofar as it has been completed. The staff is very attentive - although they were still working out some kinks prior to the opening. The room was as comfortable and quiet as any I have ever experienced. All of the food was superb. The cultural entertainment (Qiwwali singers and a dancer) on the balcony overlooking Hyderabad at night was magical.
This is truly an opportunity to reside in a museum.
Guests are whisked from the gate to the palace entrance in a horse-drawn carriage, showered with rose petals and escorted to the room by a personal butler.
The views of Hyderabad are stunning in all directions.
This place is pricey, but well worth it for the unique experience it offers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel is more than just a gorgeous, luxury hotel - it is a jewel like piece of history. Meticulously restored, and impeccably manned by motivated, hand picked staff, this magnificent property can hold its own with the most luxurious palace hotels of the world.What we enjoyed was the 'Aadab' - the gracious way of greeting guests from well dressed, sherwani-clad managers. This adds a refined, old world touch to what was once the Nizam's residence in the erstwhile state of Hyderabad. Several small touches (a silver salver with a soothing, herbal body lotion placed by the bedside at night) make this an opulent , sensual experience on every level.It's magnificent architecture astonishes but does not overwhelm. The cuisine in the two restaurants is splendid, as is expected in a city that celebrates its well deserved culinary reputation.There are 62 well-appointed rooms that retain the original character while boasting of state of the art amenities. We stayed in the Aurangzeb Suite, with its muted colours and understated detailing. We loved the marble bathroom.... in particular, the bevilled mirrors behind the tub. The bath products were great. But, the biggest indulgence was the shopping experience at 'Khazana' - the Taj Boutique, which on this property, is housed in a haveli and boasts of the most exquisitely sourced objets, gifts, shawls, jewellery and more. Local crafts and fashion designers get top billing here. We splurged! Even though we weren't planning to.
Yes, all this and more comes with a fancy price tag ( starting at Rs. 30.000 a night). But I'd say, if you have the dosh - come spend it here. It's not everyday that a hotel let's you live like the legendary Nizams. I did miss having the famous Jacob diamond as a paper weight.... ha ha. But even without that famous rock, I felt 'royal - put it down to the courteous, courtly service. And those soft spoken 'Aadabs', of course.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superstar075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Trident Hyderabad
#2 of 313 in Hyderabad
895 reviews
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#16 of 313 in Hyderabad
1,277 reviews
Banjara Hills
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
#9 of 313 in Hyderabad
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramoji Film City Hotel Tara
#1 of 313 in Hyderabad
977 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 313 in Hyderabad
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Property: Taj Falaknuma Palace
Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,331 - ₹ 58,744
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing