We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it looks in the photo!”
Review of Gateway Hyderabad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gateway Hyderabad
Ranked #122 of 307 Hotels in Hyderabad
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not as good as it looks in the photo!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I am used to staying in budget hotels and don't mind slumming it a bit as it means that I can travel more often. However I don't usually stay anywhere quite as bad as this!

Although it is in a pretty good location near Nampally station, close to a nice public park and with easy reach of the Charminar district, there were not too many other plus points.

My room was spacious but basic, there was no hot water, the bed linen although clean was stained. I repeatedly asked for a clean towel but none ever arrived. The floors and public areas were clean enough and there were no bugs.

Unlike at some Indian hotels I have stayed in I was not constantly pestered by the staff for tips which was good. The laundry service was efficient.

The area outside the hotel is always crowded and noisy and some may find it a little intimidating. However there are some good food stalls, ciggie shops etc. There is a rickshaw/taxi rank right outside the hotel and you are frequently accosted by drivers wanting to give you a ride. (unless you really want one of course, and then there are none to be found!)

The reception staff were friendly enough, but charged me an extra 1000Rh for checking out late as I arrived early in the morning, as they use the 24hr check-in/check-out system so common in India, and I had checked in very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel at the back to avoid some of the noise - although the view is not too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    2
    5
    23
See reviews for
21
5
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here and had a HORRIBLE experience. They gave us a standard room which was small. the bath room was stinking and leaks all over. The taps were also not working properly. They upgraded us to their top room and we thought of having a small nap in the afternoon and to our utter dismay, we found BED BUGS on the cot. Both my wife and me had this itching and were wondering what they were. Immediately i complained to the reception and they changed our room. They assured us there wouldn't be any bed bugs and i was wondering it it were to be true. In the middle of the night, again there was some itching sensation and when we put on the light we saw alteast 5 big BED BUGS on the bed.By then you would understand our frustration and it was midnight and when we called the reception they asked us to dail 9 for change of room. (it would have no effect). We had to sleep on the floor the whole night along with our 3 year old which was very frustrating and these guys definitely spoilt our holiday. PLEASE DON'T GO THIS HOTEL.. Atleast we wouldn't go there.. WHAT A NIGHT MARE!!!! The hotel staff were not helpful at all...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hyderabad hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Hotel Gateway is located near the Nampally railway station in Hyderabad and its a below average place to stay. The rooms are not good and the hotel does not have any restaurant as well. The location of the hotel is pathetic as it is sorrounded by street vendors and is at a very noisy location as well. The hotel service staff is also not coperative at all and the hotel offers just very below average service and rooms. This place is not at all recommended for anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prabhatkatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

There couldn’t be worse than this hotel. There is hardly good about it other than it’s location. The staff don’t have any training in customer service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Terrible service, rude managers and non-cooperative staff make the Gateway Hyderabad best avoided! We had to wait 2 hours before we were given a room, some what similar to what was promised to us. It is an old cheap trick the Manager Mr. Jaffar uses- he made my colleague pay an advance- 90% of 2 days tarrif (non-refundable) and showed him an excellent room (I call it cheap advertisement) and offered us a hole in the wall on our arrival. After an unpleasant verbal duel, we were given some other room. There is 24 hour warm water service as the hotel claims, nor is there any complimentary breakfast as their website says. Apart from that there is a whole group of youth hanging just outside the hotel (friends of the manager Jaffar) sizing you as you walk in and out! Really scary and unnerving! All in all, it is a place run by cheats and thugs! A big no-no especially for family and business class people.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Hotel Hollyhock
#181 of 307 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Gunfoundry
Hotel Harsha
Hotel Harsha
#162 of 307 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Gunfoundry
Hotel Quality Inn Residency.
Hotel Quality Inn Residency.
#251 of 307 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gunfoundry
Hotel Three Castles
Hotel Three Castles
#256 of 307 in Hyderabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Gunfoundry
Treebo Grand Plaza
Treebo Grand Plaza
#249 of 307 in Hyderabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Hampshire Plaza
#41 of 307 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hyderabad

Property: Gateway Hyderabad
Address: Station Road, Hyderabad 500001, India
Region: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 307 Hotels in Hyderabad
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,422 - ₹ 2,068
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Hyderabad 3*
Number of rooms: 56

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing