We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JOLLY BOY ISLAND”
Review of Jolly Buoy Island

Jolly Buoy Island
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Port Blair
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
PORT BLAIR
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“JOLLY BOY ISLAND”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

located in the mahatma Gandhi marine nation park , jolly boy is one among the 15 islands located in the park .protected to conserve the rich marine bio diversity of the area and the moment is restricted without permission .
One has to reach wandoor which is a village close to the park , by road 32 kms away from Port Blair .some of the other islands in the park are red skin island , tarmugli island , grab island etc.....,
tourist are allowed to visit two islands in the park red skin / jolly boy island . which is open for visit every 6 month alternatively .

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank MSAJID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    116
    26
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kishanganj
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent location”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

good for snorkelling,excellent view of marine life

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Sukhen Kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I had no idea that in India we have such a well preserved marine national park. The corals and the under-water world is just spectacular. Please go to this place first before the tour operators con you into going to North Bay. This is an infinite times better spot. This is an un-inhabitated island open only for 5-6 hours a day for visitors. The number of visitors is limited by the number of boats that can go there in a day. You will be able to enjoy nature away from the busy (and dirty) beach scene that greets you at North Bay.

I am secretly doubtful about the star fish they show here. These do not look real. However, you must go for snorkeling here. You will love it. I went for two rounds.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Amitabha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 6 Contributor
765 reviews
576 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,066 helpful votes
“Best Island to visit for marine life. Do not miss this”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I was surprise rather shocked that there are no reviews about this island.
From where I start……ok
This is a small island and you can take boat from Wandoor jetty. Charges for to and fro ride is INR 550/- per person (it includes 1 snorkeling OR bottom glass boat ride nearby Jolly Bouy Island). Do not keep plastic bags as this island is No plastic zone. To carry water, there provide you water bags on INR 5/- rent and 100/- deposit. Boat ride take around 40-45 min to reach there.

Because of rich corals, they shift you in small glass bottom boats and then you entered on the most beautiful Island. Very IMP is, carry some snacks as Island is under national Marine Park so no food stalls.

Island is very clean and water is crystal clear. They offer you free snorkeling OR bottom glass boat ride. If you like it then you can pay extra INR for longer ride. We did snorkeling and free snorkeling was just a trailer of marine life. We like it so we paid INR 400/-extra per person and he took us for 20-25 min ride. This experience was simply amazing. We saw a lot of corals, different types of fishes and 2 octopuses. We witness Breath taking underwater view of coral and marine life. We loved so much that we did snorkeling 3 times.
Those who are scared of snorkeling then enjoy glass boat ride. By the way for snorkeling swimming is not at all required.

Timings are:
Boat sail from Wandoor at 9a.m. and same boat brings you back at around 2-2:30p.m.back to Wandoor.
There are 2 – 3 boats sails at different timings.

Tips:
1. Do bargain rates for snorkeling if you wish to do twice.
2. Don’t miss coconut water outside Wandoor jetty. Tasty and hug size coconut in just INR 20/-

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank priteshkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Buoy Island also viewed

Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 

Been to Jolly Buoy Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing