We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Vacation at andaman

We used green ocean ferry from Havelock and neil to port Blair last week. On time service... read more

Reviewed yesterday
amit b
,
Pune, India
via mobile
The fun trip yo Havelock Island

There are both govt and private ferries from Port Blair to Have lock Island.The govt ferries are... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
81anupamm
,
kolkata, India
Read all 131 reviews
  
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
42
45
29
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
45
29
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open deck luxury class sea trip havelock island great ride play music top deck better option seating arrangements comfortable journey take pictures sea sickness comfortable seats air conditioned neil island per person movie
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We used green ocean ferry from Havelock and neil to port Blair last week. On time service. Entertainment throughout the journey. Needs improvment in AC specially in economy class. Overall fantastic experience. We recommend everybody. Travel in royal class. Not much rate difference.

Thank amit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Green Ocean; that the perfect name for the ferry you can have for real green & transparent water view from the ferry. Felt like an esteemed guest on board for the wonderful & remarkable hours of sea journey.

Thank Cruiser27926618543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

There are both govt and private ferries from Port Blair to Have lock Island.The govt ferries are large vessels and economical.The private ones are well kept,the ride is of 2 hour 30 min fun time.The blue sea waters stun the person from the North.The ride is pretty smooth though the paper bags are at hand if you feel sea sick.The Cafe serves coffee and snacks The midway music is loud and foot tapping.Enjoy.The departure and arrival jetty are managed by the sea liner which needs to be better managed.

Thank 81anupamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

They Have 2 Ferry ,Green Ocean 1 & Green Ocean 2 They run between Port Blair , Havelock & Neil ..Green Ocean 1 is bigger then Green Ocean 2, . Green Ocean 1 has an open deck. both the ship has a small cafe in side the ship,,,

Thank amitdas1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Green ocean we had booked in deluxe. No airflow, AC. Horrible experience. Suffocation. To add, service staff of the vessel were walking back and forth and opening the main doors umpteen times letting gaseous air inside. fNB was good. Comfort zero points. And none bothered to provide a solution to the suffocation.

Thank Explore25644788317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Private ferry operator for Havelock, Neil and other islands. just OK and don't expect much other than you purpose of reaching the island

Thank Bala_Coimbatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We traveled in Green Ocean1 from Havelock to Port Blair. This vessel will allow you to enjoy the Sea at it's best through its open deck area.They play music and you can dance.This is slower than Makruzz and takes almost an hour extra time to cover the same distance. We traveled in Royal class and would recommend the same.The ferry was on-time and we really enjoyed.No refreshment is provided to passengers but they have a small cafe in open deck area where you can buy some snacks and cold drinks as per your choice.

The only thing which I hated was we saw some cockroaches inside the Royal class climbing our seats which was really irritating. The staffs were also a little lazy types.

Thank sumantrad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

My recent trip to Havelock Island in Green Ocean was fun and entertaining. The deck was buzzing with activity as people were busy taking photographs and shaking their legs to the tunes played on board. The air conditioned cabins were hygienically maintained and comfortable. We were lucky enough to have a turbulence free voyage. Canteen facility was available onboard and we were able to enjoy some good food. The best part about the journey was they adhered to the schedule and we were able to complete the sightseeing and return back to Port Blair on the same day.

Overall an enjoyable trip!!

Thank sumipratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled from Havelock to Portblair with Green Ocean 1. This has both closed AC deck and open deck to experience real sea travel.

Of the 3 classes (Economy, Luxury and Royal) available on green ocean 1, we traveled Luxury. The prices are different for each class but the open deck is for everyone. They play nice music while serving snacks which we can buy.
This experience is different from Makruzz due to open deck. We get to see the live sea while we are traveling giving a feeling of actually traveling.

The seats are not of the Makruzz level but comfortable level. They don't serve complimentary breakfast. We didn't observe anyone getting sea sickness due to cruise movement which was pleasant experience.

Best part is tickets are available for this and there is direct cruise from Havelock to Portblair, compared to other cruise which goes via Neil.

2  Thank PankajG900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apart from the govt owned ferry, there are only two well known ones- Makruzz and Green Ocean. Since I wanted to experience both, booked Makruzz for Port Blair to Havelock and Green Ocean for return journey.

Makruzz- extremely comfortable journey. It has a side wise oscillation which is actually nice. There's a decent pantry inside. A pleasure to ride. Only downside- we cannot walk on the deck to have an open view. We can enjoy as much as possible sitting inside and viewing through large transparent panes.

Green Ocean- TERRIBLE is the word- about 60% of the people on board were sitting with sickness bags within half hour of the journey. Usually I'm a person having a strong resistance to sickness, as i enjoy thrill/adventure rides a lot. But even I had a terrible churning in the stomach, which almost spoiled my journey- had to control using sugar candy and stuff.

The biggest problem is that Green ocean ferry has forward- backward motion which is so unpleasant.

Only advantage- You can go out on the deck and enjoy a good view, which is definitely not worth the sickness though.

1  Thank Dream824828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews