We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Over rated Restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Lighthouse Restaurant

New Lighthouse Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Port Blair
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kolkata
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Over rated Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We visited this Restaurant after seeing the rating in tripadvisor. It was so disappointing. First of all, seating arrangement is inadequate. then, bar is in the upstairs and that too, only beer is served. It is highly understaffed and the people taking orders do not have time to listen to what you are ordering.
Items served are mostly half cooked. We waited for a long time but still did not get the quality food.
Question remained unanswered was "what is so special about this Restaurant?"

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SPMukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    60
    58
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Why the bias towards Indians?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Why would Indian travelers have to grapple with biases against foreign travelers. Places that still subscribe to the thought that they should offer seats first to foreigners, not talk properly to Indians, are really going to be doomed one day!! Being in the travel industry, I can vouch that the Indians are going to bring business in the future and a change in sensibilities is already on the way! Atleast fellow Indians should not be biased! Its shameful...

I had to wait for 20 mins to seat my parents, while a group of foreigners was seated before us, even though we came way earlier. Reason? The table free was ok to seat 5 ( them) and not 3 ( us).. Not true cos the table getting free after that could fit 5 too..
Poor service, distracted waiters, decent food... we cudn't leave out of lack of option!
Find this kind of behavior so distasteful!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Supsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“tourist central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

nice set-up, decent food but nothing good enough to write home about, and better service when it's slow. there only appeared to be one waiter for the entire restaurant, so if you go, get there early.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank slp-travel-bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Treat your staff to some manners classes...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Food is good but not at the cost at the cost of the staff being rude and not answering you back and showing attitude....

Ordered food was waiting for some time while the waiter who took our orders was busy chatting away, Waived him down was signaled by his hand to wait for some more time (This is when - I was eating here for the second time). After some more time again waived him down to order some drinks and this time around he came to me and told me that it is mentioned on the menu that the food will take time and without having courtesy to know why I was calling him walked away...

Would have been better if I would have been in the position to show some attitude but it was neither the company I was in & neither my mood was allowing me to do so..

I think it is all with too much hype as if you go through the reviews the reviews given are by one time reviewers which can be from the restaurant people themselves only..

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank k83_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average restaurant !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

You can chose from varieties of tiger prawn, crab , lobster etc and some of them may be live as well. You may order and ask the waiter to cook according to your taste. This is the good part.
However, the seating arrangement is like a road side dhaba and full of flies. The place is not very clean. Prefer mineral water always.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank livewithdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 

Been to New Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing