We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat your staff to some manners classes...”

New Lighthouse Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Port Blair
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Treat your staff to some manners classes...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Food is good but not at the cost at the cost of the staff being rude and not answering you back and showing attitude....

Ordered food was waiting for some time while the waiter who took our orders was busy chatting away, Waived him down was signaled by his hand to wait for some more time (This is when - I was eating here for the second time). After some more time again waived him down to order some drinks and this time around he came to me and told me that it is mentioned on the menu that the food will take time and without having courtesy to know why I was calling him walked away...

Would have been better if I would have been in the position to show some attitude but it was neither the company I was in & neither my mood was allowing me to do so..

I think it is all with too much hype as if you go through the reviews the reviews given are by one time reviewers which can be from the restaurant people themselves only..

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank k83_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    67
    65
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average restaurant !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

You can chose from varieties of tiger prawn, crab , lobster etc and some of them may be live as well. You may order and ask the waiter to cook according to your taste. This is the good part.
However, the seating arrangement is like a road side dhaba and full of flies. The place is not very clean. Prefer mineral water always.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank livewithdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

this is just an average restaurant food variety is good the service quality is also ok ambience is not that gerat....food though is tasty overall rating wouldbe average...not a very costly restaurant...not a must visit food joint

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank ray_subir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food is OK, service is very poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We were three gone for lunch and we planned to go to Viper island by ferries which leave from nearby jetty.
Hotel personnel had made us wait 15 min to take the order, and further 1hr to bring it. Every one there was annoyed, it is a quite small restaurant and this much delay is not acceptable with poor response from the staff. It took 10 min for the staff to swipe a card and return it.

Food was good. We did not try any sea food, which will definetly take more than a hour to serve.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ram77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is the best non veg hotel i ever had dinner in. The price is so low yet the quality and the quanity of the food is unbelivable. I strongly recommend it to any one who visits port blair.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhanu_Prakash_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 

Been to New Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing