We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, Pleasant Stay, Good View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Blair
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Megapode Camping Resort
Gandhinagar, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Pleasant Stay, Good View”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I was very apprehensive starting from choosing this hotel till i reached there. However its very nicely located and had a different feeling due to its dome shape rooms. The staff is very good and helping.

Even the email enquiries and booking was quite good and supportive. Thanks to the team of megapode who had extended their support to make my stay better. The only thing which one need to think before booking is Plan your itinerary properly. Since the resort is located at Corvy's beach; its far from city and thus u need to plan your transport properly. There is no rickshaws available and thus u need to either book their travel services or take one or 2 auto fellows no. who will come for your pickup.

Overall if you wish to explore the sea and stay in different type of resort from normal hotel then this is the best place. I loved it and would recommended the same if you wish to go ahead.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NihitJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My wife and I checked in to Megapode Camping resort on the first day of our honeymoon and I can say that we did the right thing. The large igloo-like room was air-conditioned with spacious area as bedroom and a small portion as sitting room. Both areas had TVs (good for those who cant part from their TVs). The room offered clear view of the sea and if you take a 1 min walk downwards, you can go to a comfortable seating area in the open offering awesome view of horizon. Room service was prompt and people serving you are extremely polite and helpful. Food was amazing (a bit on spicier side, though). They work hard to keep the resort clean, green and littered with beautiful flowers. We actually felt welcomed and at home at Megapode Camping resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We have gone Port Blair in Dec, which is the peak season of this beautiful place. Thats why we booked the resort 2 months before our trip by contacting the concerned person in the resort directly as mentioned in its website. They have said me to transfer the advance in their AXIS bank account to confirm the booking. At first it seems awkward dat u r transfering the amount to an unkown account but it is safe here.

Megapode is a govt. resort n best place to stay in Port Blair. Its charges are also nominal ie. 2000/- per day.
Rooms are in dome shape cottage type, Fully AC. Tent houses are also available but we preferred domes.
The best part of resort is it is situated in front of sea and the garden is very beautiful full of different colors flowers.
Architecture of all rooms are such that in what so ever dome or tent u r staying, u will get the sea view from window of your room n the entire sea view just one step outside from door of your room.
Moreover, they have placed chair in the open in front of every dome, so that u can relax there n enjoy the greenery of garden plus sea view with coconut trees side by and the pleasant weather.
Mornings n evenings are marvelous by staying there.
As far as meals are concerned, they keep limited items and always take your order n make fresh things. We were satisfied with the food as we were getting our favorite north Indian dishes there.

We are glad dat we have selected this resort to stay in Port Blair. It increases the fun of trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This government-run resort is located on the sea-side,next to science-centre(on the way to corbyn's cove beach) approx 5 kms out of town.Resort campus is vast and nicely maintained.As it is a camping resort,its operational period is from November to April(to avoid hazards due to the rains).Presently it houses 4 A.C. domes(concrete wall),4 A.C. tents & 5 non A.C. tents.The tents operate only from Nov-April(depending on weather conditions) but the 4 domes are open for the guests, throughout the year.We had bookd 2 A.C. domes online(aniidco.nic.in)for 5 nights(Rs/- 2000 per night EP).The domes are spacious,clean,nicely furnished with 1 double bed,luggage rack,sofa set,dinning table,colour t.v.,intercom facility etc.The attached bathroom has 24 hrs hot water supply,telephone shower,western latrine & wash-basine.
The restaurant is small but the food was very good in taste(though the items were limited).They also provide room service.
Nothing to worry about power-cut while staying at this resort,they have noiseless generator.
The staffs were much friendly and always smiling.The resort also arranges sight-seeing trip,pick up-dropping from airport on request.They picked us from the airport on arrival(chargeable).
2 more A.C. domes and 1 big A.C. restaurant are currently under construction.

  • Liked — The staffs were very very friendly and helpful.The helped us to prepare the food for our 1 yr child(all the 5 days). The resort campus is picture-perfect. Food was very good in taste and hygenic.
  • Disliked — Nothing..
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Subhajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.0 km away
Hotel Megapode Nest
Hotel Megapode Nest
#3 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 km away
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
Symphony Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Havelock Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 km away
SeaShell, Havelock
SeaShell, Havelock
#3 of 12 in Havelock Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 km away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 km away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megapode Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megapode Camping Resort

Property: Megapode Camping Resort
Address: Goodwill Estate, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Port Blair
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,330 - ₹ 5,364
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Megapode Camping Resort Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing