We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Honduran oasis”
Review of Telamar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Telamar Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tela
PENNSYLVANIA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Honduran oasis”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We came here following a weeklong. Medical brigade. Hot showers
Beautiful sunsets
Dinner buffet was tasty and a great value
The pools are excellent

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennsylvaniaOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    195
    90
    43
    43
See reviews for
177
129
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I went on this trip with my best friend & my 14 years old daughter. We travelled with canjet, OK but not more than ok.
if you are looking for total change from your routine, if you like nature & art. this is the place for you. If you are looking for a party, shopping, modern attractions...you will be disapointed.
check-in at the airport... nice , you can go straight to your room when you get to the hotel.
HOTEL: the grounds are not to big , there is acess for weelchairs. all was super clean, well taken care of.
POOLS: are very nice, theres is a waterpark slide for young kids & one slide for adults. water was refreshing but not cold. theres is also a section with built-in bench & water buble jet.
ROOMS:We were in the newest section of the hotel, the rooms are very big. you could smell the humidity in the room...but it is to be expected in Central America. the air conditioning broke one evening, we called the front desk and about 30 minutes later everything was fixed.
During the week-end there is a lot of local tourist, the hotel was full. But during the week it was very quiet. only the québécois were left & mostly mature people of families. not a party place.
ANIMATION: the staff was great, they were friendly & motivational without being a nag. there was beachvolley ball twice a day. aerobics, waterpolo, dance lesson, they also provided for the nighthly shows & the disco by the beach. On our last evening we were offered a GARIFUNA show by local dancers, Garifuna is tradional culture in that part of the country, it was nice to see old & young members of the gourp dancing together.
FOOD: was surprisingly very good, there is not a huge choice, but everyday different recipes for fish, mest, rice, salads. The buffet offers healthy food choices & the snackbar will provide for the fastfood lover.
SERVICE: this is not a very touristic country: everyone speak spanish, few people speak either english or french. I practiced my spanish, If you don't speak a word of spanish, the employees there will always find a coworker who speaks either french or english to help you.
GUIDED TOURS:Telasur the company that offers day tours have french & english guide. They are very ponctual, very professional. they offer a variety of tours to satisfy many interest. We took the Copan ruinas tour & the Lancetilla garden tour, both with a french speaking guide. the botanical garden of LAncetilla is very nice. We took the half day tour. at the end of the tour you can buy wine, vinegar or jam made with the fruits from the garden. I bought some fruit wine 1 bottle for 10$.
Copan ruinas tour: We were offered the option to stay overnight in Copan for a additional fee. we had the choice of a 3 star or 5 star hotel.From Villas Telamar to the ruins is a 4 hour drive that takes you trough 5 different provinces. Our guide Amy loved her country & described it in details, she also answered all our questions regarding the education, religion, history. We had decided to stay overnight in Copan in the 3 star hotel, la Posada, the hotel was clean & altough there was midew in the bathroom, it did not smell funny. the site of the ruins is majestic, the guide explain very well. after we went back to copan for lunch. the part of the group that did not stay the night went back to tellamar around 2h30. the remainning group then went back to visit the museum of the ruins, this gave us a close-up look at mayans art. Back at Copan we ate supper at a local restaurant & the group choose a tour to do for the next day. We opted for Macaw Mountain a rescue center for birds & artisanal coffee plantation. We took a mototaxi to the mountain reserve outside of town, walk trough a beautiful park/garden alongside a nice cascading river. At the end of the guided tour, there was a patio where we could take picture with the birds....one of the parrots nibble on my t-shirt, the holes are a souvenir from this day. then lunch at a local restaurant a little time for sitghtseeing / souvenir shopping & back on the bus. One of the person on the tour was allergic & all the local restaurant were very careful to provide her with a safe meal.
SAfety: We felt very safe the entire time we were in Honduras. outside the hotel we always travel in pairs.
BEACH: oups! i almost forgot, beach is clean, sand is soft, water is warm...it is not turquoise water & white sands like Cuba, but once you walk in the water past the breaking waves , the water is very clear..you can see your feet.
My daughter is learning spanish & we are going back next year to Telamar, we wan to go for 2 weeks. there is so many things we did not get to see. Monkey's , corcodile farm, pineapple farm,Pico Bonito national park were you can swim in natural pools under waterfalls, Cayos cocinos , San Pedro Sula ( the 2nd biggest city in Honduras).
We will also be bringing school supplies for young kids. Education is free, but supplies & uniforms are bought by the parents.

Room Tip: rooms with beach view are quieter. 700 & up are good choices away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Frederique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

great rooms, nice pool, ok beach.

All inclusive package is bad and overly expensive. no mixed drinks or beer unitl after 4and then that shuts down around 10 or 11. food is mediocre. go hotel only and eat at local restaurants, that way you save money although the hotel's beach bar food is sort of reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were traveling with 23 people, the hotel knew we were coming. Even required a deposit, yet rooms not ready when arrived. Took was one and half hours to get to room. And not only that it took was and hour to pay bill after eating. The waiter did not want to give individual checks. The beach is not that great either. The bed was terrible. Stayed in better places that did not cost so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tela hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel part of Telamar and had a first floor room overlooking the pool area. It appeared to be the best beach hotel in Tela and possibly all of Honduras. If you have kids traveling with you it is a great place for them...huge pool area (wading to deeper) with a big water slide. They had a poolside bar and some evening entertainment around the pool. The reason I say it is a bit "Disneyish" is that everyone wears a wrist band, there are shops and different eating options (including all-inclusive) and access to the hotel area is restricted to guests only. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean with showers and bath tubs. The air conditioning needs some attention...it sounds like a 747 jet when it comes on! The food was good and bad. One day we had the best grilled shrimp we could imagine--big and succulent and the next night it was tiny little dried up shrimp. Also, do NOT order steak in Honduras...it was terrible all over the country! The breakfast buffet was very good...lots of options and great quality. The beach restaurant was your typical beach food...mostly deep fried stuff...not great. We found the staff to be very helpful. I left a swim suit and a couple other things by mistake and we called back and they saved them for us to come back and get a few days later. We enjoyed our stay at Telamar, but is is definitely not a place to get the real "flavor" of Honduras and the local people. The town of Tela is a much better place to find that type of experience.

Room Tip: If you like people watching, ask for a room poolside. But if you want a quieter experience ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tela hotels
8.8 km away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 km away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#4 of 15 in Tela
176 reviews
1.3 km away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Playa Bonita
Hotel Playa Bonita
#5 of 15 in Tela
68 reviews
1.2 km away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Tela
39 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telamar Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telamar Resort

Property: Telamar Resort
Address: Barrio Independencia, Tela Nueva, Tela AT2200, Honduras (Formerly Hotel Villas Telamar)
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,465 - ₹ 15,052
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Telamar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Telamar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telamar Hotel Tela
Villas Telamar
Hotel Telamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing