We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing .. Won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2014

We arrived (Sunday 7th) about 5pm and headed to the pool and bar for a drink and relax after our flight. There was a group of young people being loud and playing loud music at the swim up bar. It completely spoilt the atmosphere. Hardly the "superior level of luxury" as advertised.
I had to wonder what is the point of having "the largest infinity pool on the island" and then allowing a few drunken and selfish guests to spoil it for others.
Turned me right off the hotel for permitting this to happen.
We went back to our room and when we realised some of these people were in the room next door we went and asked to change rooms and explained why. We had to pay about 5000 francs for the "up sell".... But at least we had a quiet room.
The duck and ravioli meal at the restaurant was great; the fish platter very average.
Thankfully we only had one night here on route to Moorea. We definitely won't stay here again

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank annieandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent c, Directeur General Adjoint at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Ia Orana from sunny Tahiti,

We'd like to thank you for choosing the Manava Suite Resort for your vacations in Tahiti as well as for taking the time to give us your feedback .

We are most sorry to read that you had a problem on property with the noises made by other guests . We do have a security guard on property as well as a Pool boy who normally manage those type of situations .
Most of all we are most sorry that you had to pay an upsell in order to be moved to the other building ( even though it was a different category) ,as this request was due to the problem encountered with your next door neigbhor .

As a commercial gesture we will be more than pleased to refund you directly on your credit card the amount of this Upsell .

Please accept our sincere apologies for this matter .

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 464 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2014

As a first time visitor to Tahiti I wasn't sure what to expect, as I bought a packaged deal thru Pleasant Holidays. I was however pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The suite was very comfortable, a living area, kitchen, bedroom , bathroom and separate toilet and was very large and updated. The view is amazing, you can see Moorea and a beautiful sunset at night. The infinity pool is beautiful and looks out on the ocean. The only downside was not enough lounge chairs by the pool. The street outside is very busy ,however the rooms are very quiet. I found the hotel staff to be pleasant and accomodating. Wi Fi only in the lobby so be careful with your data use, which can be quite expensive. There is a shuttle that you can take for a fee to downtown Papeete but the return shuttle doesn't run until 4:30 pm so you may want to catch a cab back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank funkynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We booked a standard room for a night each end of a 7 day Tahitian cruise. The standard rooms were comfortable and spotless. Yes, the room adjacent the main road was subject to road noise while the garden-facing room on the return night was quiet and peaceful. As a pre-emptive strike, bring ear plugs. These rooms were reasonably priced in an expensive destination. The location of the standard rooms adjacent to the reception was ideal for late check-in (midnight) and our 3.30am checkout. The resort does not offer all the bells and whistles of the big name hotels but reception met all our needs with booking taxis, luggage storage and wake up calls etc. They also made the effort to facilitate early check-in. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as we bought our own coffee, breakfast bars etc from home. The coffee and tea provided in the room was basic. The resort is isolated and, without a hire car, transport costs would be exorbitant. Taxi fares to and from the hotel, airport and wharf varied between 2300 and 2800 XPF ($25-$30) depending on the time of day, number of pieces of luggage etc. Be prepared for the 300 XPF daily or accommodation tax (taxe de sejour) to be paid on departure even if the accommodation has been prepaid. Tahiti is a country of taxes. In the short time that we were at the hotel we enjoyed relaxing around the infinity pool.

Room Tip: Choose a garden-facing room away from the main road just outside the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank eandg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were traveling on a Pleasant Holidays package to Tahiti. The hotel and pool were very nice. The staff was rude and not friendly at all, even at the pool bar. Never attempted to help us with anything, we felt like we were bothering them. They have Wi-Fi in the lobby only, TV channels in French only. Maid service was excellent.

Nothing really close by, we went into Papeete a few times for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Donna92831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurent c, Assistant General Manager at Manava Suite Resort Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Ia Orana from sunny Tahiti ,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback . We are a bit surprised by your comments on our staff as this is not the type of comments that we usually get . Be sure that we took your comments very seriously and we will review that with our department managers and entire staff . We have also passed your positive comments to our House keeping staff .

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Manava suite is very nice, we have been there twice in the same month but in two different kind of room. We spent our first stay of one night in a standard room with garden view, very functional and clean. We spent the second stay of one night in an ocean view room, which compare to the previous one was just a little bit smaller, but with a great view! During our stay we used the gym, which is clean and new. There is free wi-fi in the main hall and free internet connection in the rooms. The pool was really nice with a great view, but we mostly enjoyed diving from the deck on the sea! The personal at the hotel were very friendly and always helpful. Papeete is just 30/40 minutes far. Don't miss the breakfast....soooo good!!!

Room Tip: choose the room with the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnAustralianno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punaauia
24.3 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
11.1 km away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
154 reviews
32.6 km away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
27.7 km away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
14.7 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Address: PK 10 5 Cote Mer, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Price Range: ₹ 12,309 - ₹ 24,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian decor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing