We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
6
34
18
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
34
18
11
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Great food, service good. Friendly helpful staff is lovely setting. The pool is great for all year round use and there is plenty to do locally,

The chalets are bungalow types with airco, limited speed internet but a kitchen with fridge and kettle. Also a BBQ area,

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank pip12uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION973, Directeur général at Mercure Kourou Ariatel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear customer,
we are glad you appreciate your stay in our hotel and we thank you for sharing your comments about this stay.

Marie LE HIR
General MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Hotel staff is accommodating and pleasant. The main complaint I have is the lack of clothes washing facilities. As a hotel that caters to a strong business clientele, they should have better clothes washing facilities. There is only one washer and dryer that is shared with the house keeping staff, frequently having maintenance issues and cannot be used. The business customers spend weeks, sometimes months here working at the space center and need better washing facilities as there is not always an abundance of off time to go into town to a laundromat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARION973, Directeur général at Mercure Kourou Ariatel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Good evening,
We thank you for giving us a feed back of your stay in our hotel. It will help us improve our
service to the customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We were very happy with the rooms in this hotel. Amenities were plentiful and a microwave and refrigerator are included along with a relaxing front porch. we had 2 tv's and a cute kitchenette in our room.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wombat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

This is where civilization meets the jungle. It is not New York City. This hotel was very clean, well kept and had excellent dining. The local insect population shows up at night and is gassed daily by the hotel staff, if you depart early in the morning you will be stepping on plenty of critters on the way out. This is the way of life in this part of the world. It is an awesome place really. It has been some time since I visited but it remains a special place to me.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the rooms close to the lake, the hotel consists of small single story buildings divided into quads. There are a handful of rooms that basically open onto the lake. I can't remember the exact numbers - I think they were in the "170s" range ...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank johnc_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Likable wait staff in the bar and restaurant can't make up for the deficiencies here. Among the frustrations are unpredictable power supply due to strikes (which may last "hours, days, who knows?"), door left unlocked by housekeeping, missing shower door, lack of accessible power outlets, no phone in the room and dated and worn furniture. At least in our case the power came back on in an hour which was a relief since the only window with a screen couldn't be opened.
Staff, despite difficulties with understanding English, does try hard and overall, the place is clean. While there surely must be better places to stay in Kourou, a night or two here would not be the worst thing that could ever happen to you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffmcline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews