We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
484
58
14
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
484
58
14
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foot massage allan and terri rainbow reef dive shop fish dive staff fijian night outdoor shower dive sites kava ceremony soft corals octopus honeymoon bure pilot whales the reefs fijian culture off the beaten path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2022

In short: Paradise Taveuni is a fantastic place to visit to see the natural wonders of Fiji, eat delicious food, make friends and laugh with the very kind/attentive staff, and dive some of the most unique and beautiful reefs in the world. The resort was recently rebuilt, so the Oceanfront Bures you stay in are downright magical. Truly something for everyone: from the adventurer who wants to scuba dive with reef sharks and hike in jungles, to those looking for lazy days of fruity drinks, massages and relaxation in the pool (while watching insane sunsets over the ocean.) You won't be disappointed in Paradise. We never wanted to leave.

COVID: The owners and staff are very on-top of COVID safety-- the staff is fully vaccinated and guests are Rapid Antigen tested (per the Fijian Health Ministry's rules) after 48 hours of arrival. Everything is very clean and sanitized, and they even worked out our COVID tests for us at a local hospital (to meet US re-entry rules) on the way to the airport when we left. Rest assured, you can travel safe with this team :)

More detailed info: Paradise Taveuni was a wonderful surprise. We had planned a dive trip to celebrate our anniversary in Indonesia, but with Covid, the borders weren't yet open to US citizens. PADI recommended Paradise to us, and raved about their 5-star dive shop.

The owners Allan & Terri have created a picturesque paradise on the coast of The Garden Island. They get to know you, and help create exactly the vacation you are looking for. Allan went out of his way to make sure we were able to dive The White Wall at the perfect time, and we even got to dive with manta rays (our dream!) Terri was also able to work out a day trip to the natural rock waterslides for us one day.

The resort does a great job of creating a sense of community, We made friends with other guests and the staff. There were themed nights under the stars and a Fijian night with dancing and a Kava Ceremony. The Ceremony had us enjoying the the tradition of drinking Kava side-by-side with the local staff and even the local Chief (an honor!)

Our package included a 30 minute massage, which was wonderful and done alongside the ocean, to the sound of the waves. --insert relaxed sigh--

We also had 2-3 boat dives a day, which took us to the world-famous Rainbow Reef, a truly massive, colorful marvel of undersea life. We rented our gear from Paradise's dive shop-- it was all in good shape and the dive team were very helpful and knowledgeable.

Allan is a chef, so the food at Paradise is top-notch. Each day there is a selection of local fresh-caught seafood of the day, a variety curries, some Italian dishes, grilled meats, and of course lots of fresh tropical fruits and local Fijian fare. The resort is committed to operating in a sustainable manner that respects the land and it's resources, so you order your next meal ahead of time (you order your lunch at breakfast, and your dinner at lunch.) This keeps from wasting food on the island -- a huge problem many resorts are guilty of. We were thrilled to see Paradise's commitment to making only the freshest meals and not creating waste.

The drink menu is also top-notch (Try the Fiji Time!) They have a full bar, beer and wine, as well as tropical drinks made with local fruits.

And again, we can't stop raving about how kind and wonderful the staff was. The kindest people -- and they all knew our names from day one. So in kind, I wanted to mention their names as well. At the resort Flo, Becky, Navi, Nia, Liti, and Soni all went above and beyond-- we already miss them all! :)

The dive team was wonderfully helpful, knowledgeable, and hilarious. Big thanks to our captains Sean & Kim, as well as the rest of the dive team Salote, Sonny, Christine, & Oscar. And extra thanks to Daniel, our driver, who went down the natural waterslides with us, and even showed us where to avoid the sharper rocks! haha

Basically, don't hesitate. Go to Paradise. And... take me with you? haha

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank redheadednowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terri Gortan, Owner at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2022

WOW! We are so happy to receive this wonderful review, but more delighted that we made your Paradise Vacation one that you will always remember with fond memories. We hope to welcome you back to Paradise someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2020

Today is the first anniversary of our honeymoon.
We were there in July 2019 and it was fantastic, unforgettable.
Staff very very friendly and helpful.
A special place, quite and in a wonderful corner in Taveuni, near the magnificent Rainbow Reef.
We did our PADI open water certification and I must say that a better place to do it would have been difficult (or impossible) to find.
We both remember the stay there with great joy.
A wonderful place strongly recommended.
We miss that place, that team and that underwater world !
A big thank you and hug to the staff there for make our stay unforgettable.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ArisAgustoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terri Gortan, Owner at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Bula all the way to Switzerland and thanks for remembering your Paradise Taveuni stay with love an happiness. We are so glad that you have fond memories of your Paradise Honeymoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

This resort is for divers which I just received my certificate in October in Fiji, basically the dive team lousy they're busy doing their own thing thinking that nobody matters the beds mine was so uncomfortable it's like they had a huge person on one side there was such a slope the pillows the pillows are a joke the food everyday bread and EVERYTHING is garnished in basil ??? and not really great but the worst part is one of the staff members came into my room in the middle of the night naked and grab me in bed the manager has never commented on it and this is unacceptable don't go it's not worth it there's better resorts

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terri Gortan, Owner at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Bula Karen,
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Your comments are duly noted, however we were not advised about any of these issues during your stay.
We cannot fix problems that we are not aware of.
We greatly appreciate our Guests who talk to us when they are in Paradise about things they are unhappy with.
We are then able to change the way we do things when asked / requested.
Vinaka, Allan - Resort Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

First of all, I am a novice diver that hadn’t dove in 10+ years. We were invited on a trip with friends that dive and decided to go, and are we ever glad we did! I took a refresher with Christina and with her guidance was able to thoroughly enjoy my dives in some of the most beautiful reefs I’ve ever seen. Because of her I have never been more relaxed and enjoyed diving more, it’s an experience I will never forget. The dive operation is first rate, highly skilled boat captain (Mike) and guides and crew are top notch. George has done a great job with the dive shop, and it was great to see interns there learning the dive trade. On 3 tank dive days the beach for lunch is literally out of a postcard. The snorkelers in the group were happy as well exploring the shallow reefs. Even if you don’t dive, this resort is absolutely paradise.

The resort itself is beautiful, well maintained and has stunning views. Alan and his wife have rebuilt the resort after a devastating cyclone in 2016, and it is first class. All of the staff go out of their way to make your time there memorable. Flo, Ana, Tony, Soni are just a few of hard working individuals who make the resort area run smoothly. I know I’ve forgotten many people and I apologize for not naming them all. The food was always prepared and presented nicely, we never went away hungry. We hated to leave and the opportunity to experience Fiji on a small island, the people, their kindness was truly a once in a lifetime experience. Hope we can return to do this again!
Vinaka!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank X4497GSbruceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
paradisetaveuni, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Bula Vinaka Bruce,

Vina'a Va'alevu (Taveuni for Thank you) for your kind review.

The Paradise team and our director's are grateful and touched to know that you have enjoyed every bits and pieces of Paradise ,the view ,the staff, the people and the food
Couldn't agree more with you on the beautiful reefs as it is one of the top ten reef in the world and we a honored that you have experience it with our dive team and our brave dive instructor Christina as your guide.

We hope to welcoming you back soon.

Vina'a va'alevu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

We felt truly welcomed by Paradise’s kind, dedicated and accommodating staff. The room was perfect meeting our every need, especially the outdoor shower. The diving experience was Outstanding from the Rainbow reef, to the dive support team. We experienced a traditional Fijian lovo with Kava, music and dancing. Hope to return one day soon - in the meantime my memories will be in Paradise.
Vinaka

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HJJJsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
paradisetaveuni, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Bula vinaka Helen and Jeff,

Vinaka vakalevu for a very heart warming review.

It was indeed a pleasure having you here on the resort.
We the Paradise team and our directors a delighted to know that you have enjoyed our Bure's especially the outdoor shower which is one of the most popular feature's in our bure's, the diving at Rainbow reef with our Dive team and the experience of having a traditional Fijian cuisine followed by dancing and the cream of them all KAVA .

We hope to welcoming you back soon .

Vina'a va'alevu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews