We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
480
58
14
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
480
58
14
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews allan and terri dive shop rainbow reef fish dive staff fijian night outdoor shower dive sites kava ceremony soft corals octopus honeymoon bure the reefs off the beaten path new friends great dive took great care
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

I can't recommend Paradise more. We were there for the diving and every dive was fantastic and surpassed expectations(just Google rainbow reef or the white wall). The dive team was helpful and professional- and it was great to see so many women working in it. But there is much more than diving, off the water our bure was spacious and the outside showers and bath were so relaxing. The staff really make this resort work, nothing is too much trouble and everyone was so friendly. There were a number of families and non divers there at the same time who were also having a good time. The resort just seemed to seamlessly give everyone space and cater for all. We will be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank katrinam491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisetaveuni, Owner at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Bula Katrina,
Thanks so much for your great comments and all of us in Paradise are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you liked your Bure and the outdoor shower is definitely one of our most popular features in our rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Vinaka, Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

Let me start by saying I blame myself. I purchased this holiday at a charity auction, so that is my bad. It was however sold as a 4 star resort. It is at best 2 star (I'll get back to this).

We were booked in for 8 nights. We lasted one night, and checked out. We were lucky to get a flight back to the big island and checked into the Intercontinental, which is a truly amazing resort.

If you are mad keen divers and just want a dive site and a place to sleep, it's probably good enough. It's a dive camp. The food is terrible. You have to order lunch at breakfast, and dinner at lunch. That is just plain odd and raises a few questions for me.

The cabins are dank. There is literally no cupboard, just a steel rod in the bathroom. The aircon dripped on the bed all night. There is no telephone in the room. Not even milk in the fridge. There was a jar of biscuits in the fridge only that had been there I guess for 2 years.

Nothing like having a dog plonk its face in your lap whilst eating. The towels and sheets (all brown) are old and awful. Reception is an old table placed in an odd room with a small Tike bar that looks like it was built in the 50's.

There was one nice staff member, otherwise the restort is sans the beautiful Fiji spirit we expected.

The owner tried to charge me an extra night I had booked. I pointed out we were sold a 4 star resort and this was not what was delivered. I was sternly told it was in fact 4 star and asked why i thought it wasn't. Well, see the above. In the last 12 months i have stayed at the Fairmont Whistler, The Soho Grand New York, The Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills and the Hyatt Regency Tokyo. I only list these hotels to satisfy any enquiry as to my ability to rate 4 star accomodation. These are all genuine 4-5 star hotels. The Intercontinental Fiji is a genuine 4 star resort.

The owner did do the right thing and not charge me the last night booked. However i have now paid for 2 holidays. Again, my bad for purchasing at an auction. I should know better, but i am cross about it all. Again, if diving is your thing, probably doable. If just a family looking to relax, not on a bet.

Now i see the owner likes to respond to posts. I would encourage her to look at the hotels i mention above, and then honestly answer if she thinks it is still 4 stars.

I neglected to mention the transfer vehicles for the 1 hour rough ride from the airport don't have working seat belts.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisetaveuni, Owner at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Bula & sorry that you did not enjoy the few hours you stayed here for.

I highly recommend checking the websites of places before you arrive. This may have given you some insight into what is on offer.

Thanks for the advice to look at the 5 star places that you stay at for more than 1 night, however we have no plans to change our Paradise as we, and our many Return Guests, seem to think it's pretty special just the way it is.

Vinaka, Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

We travelled in a group of four to Taveuni. We would highly recommend Paradise Taveuni to anyone travelling to Taveuni.
The staff are all very friendly, no request was too big to small for them to assist with, they were very accommodating. The dive team have a great deal of knowledge and expertise and we enjoyed our day out to Rainbow reef and village visit to Kioa island. We did a day trip to the waterfalls and natural rock waterslide with a group and had a great day out.The food at Paradise is delicious and accommodation and setting makes you feel like your a million miles away from reality, it’s so relaxing which is exactly what you want on vacay. Siteri and the team also give the best massages!

Thank you to Allan and the team who went beyond to ensure that we enjoyed your stay on Taveuni!

We would highly recommend and will definitely make a return trip to Paradise Taveuni

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank valamiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisetaveuni, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Bula Vina'a Valami,

Thank you very much for your heart warming review.

It was indeed a pleasure meeting with the two of you ,Ana and Sarah.

Can't wait to see you again.

Vinaka vakalevu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

After spending countless hours researching on the internet for a location in Fiji to get married and honeymoon at we decided on Paradise Taveuni. After arriving at the resort it only took a minute or two to realise we had struck gold. Paradise Taveuni is everything that we had hoped for and much much more.
The grounds of the resort are immaculate, the food is absolutely delicious and the bures are beautiful but what makes this place perfect is the fantastic staff. Everyone from the grounds people to the management are 100% warm and friendly. Everywhere you go you are greeted with a warm "Bula" and a huge smile.
A nice touch is where you can choose the location to have your lunch or dinner eg on the Jetty, by the pool, in the wedding Bure etc so this makes it an ideal romantic getaway location for couples.
The resort also has a Fijian night which is a must to experience. Food is cooked on the Lovo and the night includes dance and singing performances from the local villagers and you get to participate in a kava ceremony.
The restaurant has a board that lists all the activities for the day so you can plan your day or just laze around the grounds in one of the hammocks or on a sunbed by the pool.
Some of the daily activities include half or full day tours to the local waterfalls, rainforests and villages, coconut lessons, basket weaving, learn to speak Fijian and wood carving.
The resort has its own dive shop which takes daily diving trips to some of the local dive spots and all resort guests have unlimited use of snorkling gear which you can use right off the resort waterfront. The water is crystal clear and a there is amazing fish and coral life right at the waters edge.
If you are looking for that perfect wedding location then this is it. The staff took care of every detail for us and turned the wedding location we chose into a magical and romantic spot using flowers and fauna from around the resort gardens.
The wedding package we chose included 2 local flower girls, 4 Fijian warriors and Fijian serenaders who helped to make our special day perfect.
We fell in love with Paradise and all the staff and can not wait to return soon.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank f1webber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisetaveuni, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

A Big Bula Vinaka from Paradise,

Thank you very much for your heartwarming review.

We and all the Paradise team were so excited and honored to be part of your big day and your Honeymoon .

We hope to see you again soon for your first Anniversary..

Vinaka Vakalevu .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020

This was our second visit to this amazing resort and to begin with it's a real credit to Allan and Terri plus the whole team to rebuild the resort to such a high standard after cyclone Winston devastated it in 2016! The diving, food, accommodation, service etc were all par excellence and the New Years party was quite amazing! Our sincere thanks to the whole team for making our 11 night stay a truly memorable and thoroughly enjoyable one. Vinaka Vakalevu! Warren and Vea.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisetaveuni, Public Relations Manager at Paradise Taveuni, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Bula Vinaka Warren and Vea,

Vinaka Vakalevu for your warm review.

We and all of the Paradise Team were so excited to have you with us for the second time.
We are happy to know that you loved and enjoyed the accommodation, food, diving and our services
and a so touched that we made your 11 night stay a memorable one too. Thanks for joining us at our BIG NEW YEARS EVE Party.

Looking forward to seeing the both of you soon.

Vinaka Vakalevu!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews