We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Taveuni
Nearby Hotels
US$ 1,097
US$ 951
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taveuni Dive Resort(Taveuni Island)
US$ 314
US$ 261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garden Island Resort(Taveuni Island)(Great Value!)
US$ 210
US$ 169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat(Waiyevo)(Great Value!)
US$ 246
US$ 90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taveuni Palms Resort(Matei)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
396
52
14
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
396
52
14
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfiji nightfoot massageallan and terrirainbow reefdive shopfishindian nightdive staffoutdoor showercourse dinnerdive boatbasket weavinglives up to its namekava ceremonynanny servicesoft coralspilot whales
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have recently returned from my 4th trip trip to Paradise.
I guess you could say I love the place - it offers my husband and I to have a holiday together, whilst we both get to enjoy ourselves in our own way, he can dive every day and take advantage of the many activites that are on offer and I can sit by the pool sipping on cocktails...
Visualise if you will - the weather is lovely - sunny and hot, the setting unbeatable - secluded and quiet with rolling lawns and palm trees aplenty and there I am luxuriating in the fabulous infinity pool complete with cocktail of course - this is an image that will be forever imprinted in my mind as my " go to - happy place".
Upon our arrival we were given a welcome Fijian lei, chilled fresh coconut juice and a foot rub...how lovely!
The service and food is 5 star and I especially love that they utilise and support the local villagers by not only offering employment, but purchasing the locally grown organic produce that is utilised throughout the meals on offer, there is plenty of choice from within the menus and they include cuisines from around the world - Japanese, Indian, Thai, European,Australian etc...
The staff are always so friendly and welcoming, Al and Terri (the owners) have trained a team that can provide 5 star service along with their huge Fijian smiles.
While my husband enjoyed the scuba diving and delights of the reef with the awesome assistance of the dive team - I enjoyed the many services of the beauty spa including a facial / Fijian sugar body scrub / pedi - mani and of course the the massages were outstanding!
We also went on the day trip to the Bouma falls, were we swam and jumped off the ledge into the sparkling clean and breathtakingly cool waterfall *sigh*.................
I cant belive that I'm home again and back to work already, as always the holiday went too quick...now to start saving for next year again :)

Room Tip: All rooms are Fijian style bures complete with day beds, outside showers and Jacuzzi's, the resort now has 3 airconditioned bures with 3 more to come soon, however all rooms have overhead fans and I slept really well just with the fan and no aircon, all rooms are just a few steps from the sea edge :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is such a great resort, don't let the drive from the airport freak you out. Its an unsealed road most of the way from the airport to the south of the island where the resort lies. You will get to see how the locals live in the villages, and you will see were the coconut plantations end and the jungle begins.

The resort grounds are un-believable, like they are out of a picture. Exotic flowers everywhere. They are immaculately groomed by 7 gardeners. There were many places for you to lay in the sun or shade and you could move the sun lounges as you pleased.

There is only a small amount of rooms (9 bures and a few rooms if i recall correctly), so there is lots of space and all the staff get to know you on a personal level. I have never before experienced such friendly staff. We received a farewell song and even some hugs on departure.

There is some great activities to do. We did a whole lot of snorkeling and I even did a diving course! There is no beech but trust me, you wont miss it. Instead there is coral and colourful fish literally as soon as you get in the water. The tour guides were very friendly and informative.

During our stay the Wifi was down, but it added another level of disconnection from the real world so we didn't mind. There was 1 network cable near the office in the main building which you could use to get online, but you still had to pay.

The food was always cooked fresh, and most of the ingredients were grown on site. The menu ranged from pizza and burgers to curries and steaks. Every day the menus change and there was always something delicious to eat. We had a meal plan so everyday we got breakfast, 1 course lunch and 2 course dinner, with the option of paying for additional courses. I ordered the lobster one night and it only cost me $35AUD for a giant lobster. We never went hungry and in fact probably ate way too much. The alcohol was very reasonably priced, with the premium "vonu" beer costing around $4AUD, and the cocktails costing around $9AUD. They even had some nice wines, but they were not as affordable.The tap water was drinkable but it was a little hit and miss. Some days it was taken from a giant volcano crater on the island and it was very nice, other days it was take water which had been filtered and chlorinated, which was not so nice, but we didnt get sick or anything. The one negative was the coffee, no espresso available unfortunately.

The bure was fantastic and spacious. It was a first for us and we loved it. The roof was weaved palm leaves and was quite cool. There was a couple of ceiling fans and most of the windows had slats with fly screen so the breeze could come through. It was a little hot some nights so it was hard to sleep, but we had no plans in the morning so just slept in. There was an enclosed bathroom which was very nice and clean, and there was a second shower and spa outdoors which was enclosed by a rock wall with ferns growing off it. It a was very refreshing way to shower.

During our stay there were some kids for the first few days and the few last days, but they didnt spoil the resort for us. The owners are very approachable and will help with any bookings or activities. Towards the end of our stay the owners invited their friends and family to the resort so we felt a little second class, but the staff still made sure we were looked after. It was abit harder to do things at this time because the huge group would take up all the seats around the pool or all the seats in the main building. The owners were a bit busy socializing and we felt like we would intrude if we asked to get an activity booked. But we didnt mind much, we just relaxed in the shade or jumped into the ocean for a swim.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for the ocean front bure. You will get fantastic views of the garden over looking the ocean to the horizon.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank random_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

What a fabulous find!

The staff at Paradise Taveuni looked after every aspect of our stay, from picking us up at the airport, greeting us upon arrival with coconut drinks and foot rubs, and arranging our tours. The personalized service made us feel so welcome, and we felt the staff did everything they could to ensure our stay was perfect. We had some mosquitoes in our bure, and upon mentioning it to Claire, one of the managers, she had a mosquito net set up in our room immediately.

The resort is beautiful and immaculate with amazing snorkelling and diving right in front. The dive staff were very patient and professional. As Leonie mentioned in her review, we appreciated being able to both dive and snorkel on the boat trips to Rainbow reef. The reefs were so colourful and we saw plenty of reef sharks while snorkelling in the straight. The flying fish were pretty cool too.

The food was fresh with a wide selection that varied daily. The live music provided by Sepo and friends created a lovely ambience while having dinner in the outdoor covered patio.

There are no stores near the resort so you may want to stop at the grocery store on your way from the airport to the resort to pick up a couple things to have in your room such as juice and beer. Alternative, these items are provided in the rooms at a slightly higher price.

The only thing we would change about the resort is getting rid of the rooster as he wakes up rather early.

After driving around the island, we were very pleased with our choice to stay at Paradise Taveuni. If we ever return to Taveni, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaSem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at Paradise Taveuni for 9 nights recently. What a beautiful place. The resort was quiet for our stay and oh so relaxing. The welcome was sublime, the bure spacious, cool, wonderful outdoor shower, ocean views, immaculate garden, wonderful staff who could not do enought to help you. what we particularly liked was that one of us could dive and the other snorkel on the same trip. the diving and snorkelling was excellent, even straight off the shore. The food was fresh beautifully prepared. glasses of icy cold water were offered to guests regularly if they were outside relaxing. The massages were excellent. A number of trips are available to beautiful waterfalls as well as local villages. We will stay again. Another big plus was no television and limited computer access though this is available Still chilled from the holiday

Room Tip: ocean front bure
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leonie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have recently stayed in Paradise and it was lovely. The staff were excellent and very friendly, the service was very good and attentive. However the one thing that was not that good was the evening meals....... not inedible but not worth the price you pay. Lunches were lovely and breakfast was good and the garlic bread served with your evening meal was very nice.

The house reef was very good and Taveuni Dive who have a dive shack there are very good, kind and informative.

All in all it was a lovely couple of days in Paradise with the wife.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottinsuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews