We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Taveuni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Taveuni
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

What a fabulous find!

The staff at Paradise Taveuni looked after every aspect of our stay, from picking us up at the airport, greeting us upon arrival with coconut drinks and foot rubs, and arranging our tours. The personalized service made us feel so welcome, and we felt the staff did everything they could to ensure our stay was perfect. We had some mosquitoes in our bure, and upon mentioning it to Claire, one of the managers, she had a mosquito net set up in our room immediately.

The resort is beautiful and immaculate with amazing snorkelling and diving right in front. The dive staff were very patient and professional. As Leonie mentioned in her review, we appreciated being able to both dive and snorkel on the boat trips to Rainbow reef. The reefs were so colourful and we saw plenty of reef sharks while snorkelling in the straight. The flying fish were pretty cool too.

The food was fresh with a wide selection that varied daily. The live music provided by Sepo and friends created a lovely ambience while having dinner in the outdoor covered patio.

There are no stores near the resort so you may want to stop at the grocery store on your way from the airport to the resort to pick up a couple things to have in your room such as juice and beer. Alternative, these items are provided in the rooms at a slightly higher price.

The only thing we would change about the resort is getting rid of the rooster as he wakes up rather early.

After driving around the island, we were very pleased with our choice to stay at Paradise Taveuni. If we ever return to Taveni, we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaSem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    43
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
208
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at Paradise Taveuni for 9 nights recently. What a beautiful place. The resort was quiet for our stay and oh so relaxing. The welcome was sublime, the bure spacious, cool, wonderful outdoor shower, ocean views, immaculate garden, wonderful staff who could not do enought to help you. what we particularly liked was that one of us could dive and the other snorkel on the same trip. the diving and snorkelling was excellent, even straight off the shore. The food was fresh beautifully prepared. glasses of icy cold water were offered to guests regularly if they were outside relaxing. The massages were excellent. A number of trips are available to beautiful waterfalls as well as local villages. We will stay again. Another big plus was no television and limited computer access though this is available Still chilled from the holiday

Room Tip: ocean front bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leonie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have recently stayed in Paradise and it was lovely. The staff were excellent and very friendly, the service was very good and attentive. However the one thing that was not that good was the evening meals....... not inedible but not worth the price you pay. Lunches were lovely and breakfast was good and the garlic bread served with your evening meal was very nice.

The house reef was very good and Taveuni Dive who have a dive shack there are very good, kind and informative.

All in all it was a lovely couple of days in Paradise with the wife.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottinsuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We recently returned from a ten night stay at Paradise, which was originally planned to be just a week. The resort is ideally set near the Southern tip of the island apart from other resorts and the small towns and paved road closer to the airport. There's nowhere else to go nearby except the Vuna village where most of the staff live, but if your goal is simply to dive and relax why would you want to leave! From arrival we were pampered by the very friendly and well organized staff, who well outnumber the guests. The oceanfront burre was very comfortable, and we particularly loved the outdoor Balinese style shower, although we never could figure out how to get sufficient hot water flow to fill the jacuzzi tub (but didn't ever really feel we needed it as it was usually pretty warm out there, and the pool was very clean and scenic). The staff kept it very clean and brought new flowers, etc. every day to make it feel special. The local staff are very friendly and lovely people, and the owner/managers Terri and Alan are usually present and responsive. Their home schooled children are delightful, and usually near the pool with some friends. The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful, and we loved the complimentary garden tour by Seppo which included a lot of cultural information about their uses of the trees and plants and a look at the house vegetable garden.

They offer a large number of services and activities for the relatively small number of guests they can accomodate, and we particularly enjoyed the massages and special Fiji night activities (although were not very excited by the local menu for that evening compared to the usual fare). The food was very good and sufficient, even on the basic meal plan. They seem to overuse a few ingredients like the tasty tomato chutney (great but omnipresent). We weren't used to having to pay more for full lunches and dinners, but didn't feel we needed to.

We thought some of the 'extras' like internet service, drinks, etc. were a little pricey, but they were very good about making a stop at a store on the way from the airport where we got our own snacks, beer, and drink materials (which we recommend for the budget conscious).

The main reason to go there is for the diving, which generally was terrific. We much preferred the Rainbow Reef over the local Vuna roof, and they tended to alternate depending on weather, and charge extra for gas to Rainbow. We were able to experience the 'bloom' at the Great White Wall, and that day was our best dive day in several years. The rental equipment and boat were good, and we always felt safe on our dives (all drift). We're both experienced divers, and we were disappointed with the lack of enthusiasm, attentiveness, and communication skills of the local dive master who led most of our dives. However, they had recently hired a very capable So. African couple as new instructors who had just arrived , and I think the goal was to help train the local guys and improve the experience.

In terms of hints and suggestions, if you have time take the whole day island tour to see all of the sights (there aren't that many, but it's great to just get a sense of the place outside the resort bubble). Also, we had originally planned to take a couple of days for more land based activities like hiking and bird watching, but decided to pass and keep diving as it was just too hot and humid for us to want to spend that much time on the trails). Also, be sure to get your puddle jumper plane reservation from the big island early as the flights are a limiting factor and we had to spend 10 hours in Nadi on the way back waiting for our return flight to L.A. as the later flight from Taveuni was full before we reserved. The Nadi vegetable market was the most interesting sight we took in during the layover, but the town doesn't have that much to recommend.

Room Tip: The oceanfront burres are best. We didn't check out the new aircon rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Central, Fiji
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We went to Paradise as a family group, two families, 4 adults and 5 kids , we walked onto the property as resort guests and by the time we left 5 nights later, felt like we were saying good bye to good family friends.

While the majority of the resort properties on Taveuni are clustered around the airport , Paradise is a bit over an hours drive south and its that sense of being away from it all that made it special for us, our own little oasis.

The meals were terrific and made great use of fresh local ingredients - Alan's fresh bread beats most you will find in Fiji at the hot bread kitchens! There is a terrific array of activities to do, we highly recommend the full day island tour. Alan arranged also for one of our party to go surfing which was brilliant.

The rooms are traditional Fijian Bures but are spacious and comfortably fit a family of 4, kids love the hot tub for an evening bath. We really only slept in our rooms, most of the time spent in the public areas relaxing - even with a full house during our stay, there was plenty of room to be "on your own" on a sun lounge taking in the Vista and sea breeze while reading.

A real highlight was the amazing time the kids had playing in the pool , snorkelling on the house reef, doing the horse riding activity, tubing behind the dive boat and just playing in the resorts garden setting.

By the end of our stay, all the staff knew our names and we had gotten to know them. Terri and Alan's attention to detail also made the stay very memorable - our son had a birthday there and a cake was organised, a "birthday breakfast" complete with balloons and staff singing happy birthday ; even a special kids only outing to a local beach to collect shells and swim.

Our view - if your looking for a little family Paradise, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great , we were in a Bure to the rear "Orchid" and it was fine too. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
38338.9 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
12.7 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 10 in Taveuni Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
38338.7 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38339.3 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#1 of 2 in Matei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
24.3 km away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
38340.1 km away
Garden Island Resort
Garden Island Resort
#8 of 10 in Taveuni Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Taveuni

Property: Paradise Taveuni
Address: South Vuna Road | Waiyeko, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,392 - ₹ 33,490
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Taveuni 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Taveuni, situated on the southern tip of Taveuni, is Fiji's freshest new boutique Resort. Its unique Deep Water Frontage allows Guests to dive, snorkel and swim from the lava flow edge into pristine warm tropical waters any time. To experience the culture of mystical Fiji, spend time in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Paradise Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Taveuni Hotel Taveuni Island
Paradise Taveuni Island
Paradise Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing