We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Blue Ocean View....Loveliness all Around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is my fourth stay at the splendid Taveuni Island Resort. Each time I feel well rested, renewed, and rejuvenated after leaving this tropical island resort and always wishing I could have stayed longer! I always feel at home and welcomed at this resort. Everyone is truly friendly and always helpful in so many ways. That means alot! It is great to be able to have everything taken care of; food, local transportation, and travel advice. Truly this a sanctuary amid the Fijian Islands. I certainly recommend anyone coming here, it accommodates anyone and everyone. Come, enjoy yourself, and leave happy. I am sure you will want to return soon!

Highlights: Great People, Wonderful Food, Excellent Service, Beautiful Lodging. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sittiveni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

We visited the Taveuni Island Resort in Oct 2011 not exactly certain what we would find. What we found was amazing beauty, superlative accommodation, terrific food, and most of all, wonderful friends.

The resort as beautiful as the island itself – immaculate, stunning, peaceful. The accommodations were outstanding, the food fantastic, the service attentive. We were treated royally with smiles and laughs, truly open generousness.

We had planned to get married during our trip, and so Do took time the day after our arrival to find out what we had in mind. 15 minutes later, planning was completed: Beach, sunset, barefoot, hairdressing, photography, Fijian warriors, music, champagne, and a performance of traditional dances masterfully presented by the kind, beautiful people of the nearby village. Do and her magical troupe took care of it all. All we had to do was show up. And, it was unforgettable.

We spent the remainder of our time in peace and quiet, enjoying time away from the hectic pace of Silicon Valley. The view from our bure was amazing, watching the sun set each night as it slowly disappeared into the crystal blue sea. A coconut fallen from a nearby tree became our ‘Wilson’, joining us on our private island getaway. A pod of dolphins made their way by, frolicking in the clear, warm waters. We made friends with the house geckos and the frogs that come out at night. Magical in every way….

It is 5-star indeed. That said, be aware Taveuni is a remote Pacific island. If you’re expecting 5 stars NY style, you’re in the wrong mindset. Given that everything must arrive by boat or plane, nothing comes easily. Yet, despite the inherent difficulties, the experience far surpasses anything I’ve experienced in island travel. They are eager to please and all the while make it seem easy…

And even above all that, it was a privilege and honor to get to know Do and Ric, who’ve been members of the island for decades. Indeed, they were the first diving operation in Fiji, discovering and pioneering some of the best diving in the world. Today, the resort is more about newlyweds and relaxation than diving (although the diving is still incredible), and through it all Ric and Do, Matt, Lorna, Ben, Raymond and the rest of the cast (whose names escape me at this very moment) are some of the most friendly, warm people one could ever hope to meet.

All we can say is *Thank You* and go if you can!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TropP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If only there was a Taveuni Island Resort in all of the places that we travel! Lovely large and well appointed (bures) villas. The rooms were spotless with discrete service several times a day - always fresh towels. The bathroom included an open air shower and had local Fijian personal care products which were very nice. The views of the ocean from the non waterfront villas were not compromised due to the landscaping and positioning of the villas. Lots of room between the villas giving privacy and the feeling that you have your own lawn and garden. The grounds and gardens are colourful, immaculate and landscaped to give each bure total privacy. The staff are exceptional and address you by your name. The atmosphere is one of being part of an extended family. Do and Rick, the owners, and their sons, take a great deal of pride and attention to detail and that is also reflected in the staff. The food was excellent - a nice variety, very healthy, fresh and a delicious blend of local and standard fare. We understand that the family also has a farm nearby where they source most of the ingredients. Special meals and entertainment were arranged for Christmas and New Years and a local band played music on many nights. Because this is a small resort there was the opportunity to socialize and develop friendships with the other guests who were from various parts of the world. Or if you wished to have a meal in your bure that was also possible. There are many things to do (snorkeling off the beach, kayaking) and others part of an excursion. The pool is a good size for swimming or for lounging. The resort referred us to Taveuni Ocean Sports for diving (see separate review) which was excellent and arranged for excursions to the Tavoro Falls and Bouma Park. The spa is intimate with a great variety of treatments using local products. There is a great gift shop with quality handicrafts and other items. Relaxation and getting away from it all was easy to do and we only wish we could have stayed longer. Of course, returning for another visit will be a very easy decision to make.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Where do i begin?

The resorts sits atop of a cliff overlooking the beautiful fijian ocean. As soon as you enter the resort you have the owner welcome you with a band which sings you a welcome song and a cocktake waiting for you inside.

The food is absolutely amazing and fresh. All the fruit and vegetables are brought from there own farm and are all 100% grown organically.

The service is the best i have ever received at a hotel/resort. During breakfast, lunch and dinner your glass of water will never hit the bottom they fill it up so quickly and promptly. Whatever you want whenever you want they will do it for you with no questions asked and always with a smile.

What i loved most about the resort is that the owners are locals themselves. For nye the owner got the local children to perform Taveuni songs and dances for us which was fantastic.

When me and my fiance went snorkeling the the guide who is also a worker at the resort was fantastic. He took us both him and showed us everything and even got our camera and started taking photos of all the fish which were beyond our reach. Btw i have snorkeled the great barrier reef in Queensland and Taveuni has 5x as much fish than there, again amazing.

There is a band that plays music in the background during every night and one night us and 2 other couples sat down with them and were drinking kava all night. Something which you will not get at a massive resort.

If you are going to Fiji there is no better place to stay than here. Taveuni is such a beautiful island with plenty to do (must do the Lavena waterfall AMAZING). The island is still not well known which makes it a great place to witness what Fijian life is all about also.

Room Tip: All rooms are far apart from each other which is good. Its just up to you if you want a ocean view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank costaki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I had the unfortunate incident of being stranded on Taveuni for two nights on 18th and 19th December 2011 due to flight mechanical problems and inclemental weather. However I had the fortunate opportunity of being accommodated at the beautiful Taveuni Island Resort & Spa, courtesy of the local airline. I am originally from the village of Somosomo but have lived in Sydney for quite some years now. I have flown over the Resort and driven on the road alongside it but would have never had the opportunity of actually staying there. Having done so now I would gladly recommend it to anyone. The management and staff were absolutely courteous and beautiful in their own assuming ways. The food was glorious in its simplicity, presentation and freshness. The villas were huge and I felt lost in it! It was an experience worth repeating and worth recommending.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrancesMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taveuni Island
1.1 km away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
0.1 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
40 reviews
0.5 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38355.9 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
74 reviews
15.2 km away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
266 reviews
12.3 km away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taveuni Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taveuni Island Resort & Spa

Address: Matei | Taveuni, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taveuni Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range: ₹ 33,294 - ₹ 1,21,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taveuni Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning resort is a perfect destination for those seeking a luxurious, romantic, adventurous location. This jewel of the Pacific accommodates just 14 privileged couples in large, private, beautifully appointed bures, each enjoying unsurpassed panoramic views. This is a verdant paradise for nature lovers and lovers of nature, home to dense rain forests, 100's of waterfalls & rivers, white sand beaches, world class fishing and diving and wonderful cultural experiences. Enjoy our friendly staff, organic foods and homemade pasta's & gourmet island cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Taveuni Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taveuni Island Resort And Spa
Taveuni Island Hotel Taveuni Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing