We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I first came across the Intercontintental in Taba Heights, when we were looking for a week of sunshine in Dec 2010. We returned in April 2012 and cannot rate this hotel too highly. It is the most recent and the most impressive of the 4 hotels along the Taba Heights secure stretch of beach. Taba airport is tiny and basic, but 45 minutes away and you are in heaven.The all inclusive rate is just that and there are no extras of any sort, including drinks all day and with meals. Trips to Jerusalem and Petra are available, but make for very long days and are quite expensive. There is an 18 hole golf course adjacent and the Waterworld diving school about 1/4 mile walk away. If you want luxury and relaxation at an amazingly low price, you simply couldn't do better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Hi Peter,
happy to receive such praise! Do not make it so long till you return next time!
Best regards from the entire team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 712 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

I leave in London and last Christmas was looking for a relaxing and pleasant holiday in the Sun. I stayed at the Intercontinental hotel in Taba which was simply great. I spent most of my time on the beach of the Hotel or playing golf, which is just across the road from the hotel.
I was pleasantly surprised by the warmth of the staff, always happy to help.
I really recommend the Thai restaurant which, even though it is part of the hotel, it is located in the town centre and it only takes a few minutes using the courtesy shuttle bus from the hotel. There is regular service that will bring you back and forth from the town centre to the hotel.
If you are into snorkelling, you will be very happy as there are regular appearances of sea turtles near the hotel's beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London2SunSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Sun Seekers,
fabulous to see that you had a great stay! Thank you for the recommendation for our little gem the "BirdNest". Thai Master Chef Nok will be delighted to have such great feedback for his work!
Looking forward to your return.
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was my first visit at the hotel, but what a holiday to remember!
All the people I've met, are extremely nice!
I had my best holiday ever!
See you soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Mathieu,
Great Feedback! Wait for your next stay and we will try to make this again "your best holiday ever"!
Regards from all of the Crew at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Reviews were very positive and we we not disappointed.

Very unusual layout. A real maze. Took us days to get it right!

Food very good, lots of choice, good service.We did suffer with Egyptian tummies from day 3 though. (It went on for 10 days) We can only think that it was the salads. Are they washed in bottled water?Such a shame to think that if we returned we would have to eat less salad or no salad at all. Yes it was hot, and a shock to our systems but we drank lots of bottled water, no option as the pool guy was so efficient.We were a group of 9 and only 4 got the upset. So comparing what what we ate we have come to this conclusion.(teenagers were far more conservative eating pasta and pancakes ! )
We didn't let this ruin the holiday and we still had a great time.

Our air conditioning wasn't working on arrival but we moved rooms whilst it was mended.There was no fuss.Unfortunately there was also a major water pipe leak but we were kept informed and it really couldn't be helped.These things happen and it was all in the first 24hours.
Probably our only main negative would be the beds.It appears that the mattresses are all so hard. In a previous review they were referred to as "sumptuous" but I can only think that was the size. You toss all the time to get comfortable. I would be willing to pay more for a softer bed !!
The rooms are huge and the bathrooms too. Huge walk in showers with toiletries topped up daily. Our cleaner was very thorough and was awarded accordingly at the end of the week.

(The dining room could do with some new covers on the chairs. Some were quite grubby and also the rug requires attention.Oh my, i'm feeling a bit critical here but its positive criticism for the hotel.)

For a huge hotel there is only one restaurant although you could get pizza and hot-dogs at one of the side bars.Along with tea, cake and ice-cream in the afternoon. This was still all inclusive.

The gardens are kept immaculately. They work hard in the heat and it was quite impressive. Loved the herb garden too. ( This was hidden away by the children's pool )

So yes I can see we could well return although we usually like to try some where different.Going be hard to match this hotel. Thanks to all at the InterContinental........

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farmersgotawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Hi Meadenguys,
thank you very much for your review! We are naturally delighted you generally enjoyed your time with us! We will certainly share your positive comments among the team! Happy guests are our delight! Great we could fix the A/C problem for you. We were having a serious Diesel shortage in Egypt which lead to some spare-parts being delayed. Please accept our apologies!
We are using bottled water to prepare our food and engaged the outside services of an independent Hygiene Institute in addition to our own Hygiene and Health Manager... We believe that you can not be too careful with this and as a result have also won the Hygiene Award for Egypt for the hotel. As you said, sometimes the weather, the change of diet or the sea water can be reasons, however we are glad to read that overall your vacation has been
Hope to see you back!
With best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Te

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our second visit here, as before the views, the hotel, the staff and service, the scenery, the weather, the sea water and fish were as before excellent with no complaints ---BUT---------- The food was dreadful, bland, repetative and worse of all dangerously underheated. Cooked meat and fish were ketp in metal containers which were opened constantly by guests (as is expected) but some were heated bu parafin.wax tubs ubder the containers to keep the food hot (THEY DID NOT!!!) beware of cooked meat, fish anything with sauces, even the pasta meat sauce was not cooked for long enough. The worse was chicken kept in this type of container (see photo). My wife had to visit the Medical Clinic twice for sickness and diorreah and had to take tablets each day for 6 days. I was struck down for the first time, even after visiting Tunisia 6 times). Potential visitors beware and take medication with you. Anyone reading this who also suffered, please contact me on egryn.ellis@gmail.com (April 17 - 24). We comlained to the Hotel Asst Manager, another manager doing a walkabout survey and the Thomson Rep (all gave varied excuses, I was unhappy that I never once saw the temperatures in the containers monitred and was concerned regarding birds being allowed to flay around the restaurant areas.

I work for Lawyers who specialise in holidays illnesses abroad claims - I am considering making a claim for this spoilt week - anyone else? please feel free to email me - [--]

I was thinking about going agaion next year but will monitor reviews here to see if things improve

Room Tip: High rooms facing the pool and sea are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Dafudd,
let us take this opportunity to respond to your review.

We are naturally delighted that you have enjoyed the hotel and its team in general. As your ratings in all areas concerned suggest we scored 6 out of 6 for Sleep Quality, Location, Rooms and Service and a good 5 out of 6 for Cleanliness. Thank you very much for this!

Your overall rating and headline however suggests a totally different picture and as understood this is in regards to our Food & Beverage offering, in specific in relation to the upset stomach you had reported the day before your departure when enquiring about the pick-up time. No visits to the Clinic or Health Center have been recorded as we are in very close relation to them in order to be able to offer special treatment to those guests who suffer from allergies, sunstroke, sunburn, special dietary requirements etc. and have to stay in their room, require different diets in their food or are in need of anything other than the norm to have a great vacation with us. We will - as you can see from previous reviews - do our utmost to make it happen!

Apart from an independent 3rd party institution (we were awarded the Hygiene Award for Egypt) we are employing a Health, Safety and Hygiene Manager to not only measure temperatures, but also to take food samples and send them for analysis. This of course is done in the most inconspicuous way as we are trading as a 5* property and not a canteen.
The "container" you are describing is a so called Chafing Dish, used worldwide to keep food at temperature and protecting it for hygiene reasons against any other objects. The "parafin.wax" tubs are called sternos and are filled with a special gel to avoid any kind of smell, smoke or increased fire hazard in the restaurant. They are considered as or even more effective as there electric counterparts.

Being an openly designed resort property there is the occasional bird which is getting lost inside the hotel. This is however not ignored, accepted or encouraged. We are daily checking for lost birds and those birds who try to build their nest. As you might have noticed in your observations, we are also asking our valued guests, who unfortunately often decide to feed those birds on the terraces, not to do so as this is attracting even more birds and possibly other rodents.

It is a bit of an odd way to generate business for your legal practice and we are certain that our guests can well distinguish their future actions. Please feel free to contact the resort directly for any further concerns you might have at info.ictaba@ihg.com. We will however also respond directly to your IHG questionnaire we have received.

Overall we are certainly hoping that this isolated experience will not lead to putting you off the resort or IHG all together. We are a beautiful resort with a lot to offer and shall continue to try to improve every single day. This is why feedback is indeed so important to us.
With best regards,
the InterContinental Taba Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
15.5 km away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
12.6 km away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
27 km away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1.2 km away
Sofitel Taba Heights
0.6 km away
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#2 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Spa Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: ₹ 2,255 - ₹ 3,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing