We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed of Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 17 April 2012

having visited several ICH I was looking forward to this one. We tend to go to Egypt at least once a year and have stayed at the Hyatt,Marriott and SAS Radisson in Taba.

We went for the all inclusive option as usual in Egypt as we do not enjoy the discussions over the bar charges at the end of the week.

The food was at best mediocre in terms of selection, presentation and qaulity. It was clear that due to the Hotel being only a third full that staff had been laid off and the cooking team reduced. There was little organistaion either in the restaurant at breakfast or at dinner. Tables were not laid and unused knifes and forks from previous guests were used on our table and not changed for clean ones.
There seems to be a reluctants at Egyptian hotels to let grown ups have wine at dinner it comes in very small glasses and one is often left waiting for a glass which I am sure is rationed,although the qaulity is always questionable.

This hotle has a great beach and one of the few that allows guests to walk into the sea ,however the beds are in dire need of updating with the mattress,s split,dirty and worn out.The beach waitering staff were good and over worked due to staff cut backs.

Our room was okay not up to the usual ICH level and no where near a 5* level.

The Airport at Taba never fails to surprise me .A complete lack of thought and process on arrival. A plane holding 200+ people are made to Q for passport control due to ONE official checking passports. Another checks his ckeck and another and another ,you get the picture. I cannot believe that Thomsons - Longwoods etc have not told or asked the guys running this place that a first veiw of the country is an important one and this aint good.

We will go to Egypt again but beware 5* aint 5* and AI means you are continually asked to go Al a carte I guess this is for better food although this should not be the case !!!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: Ask for a sea veiw
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrinksmanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Drinksman,
thank you for expressing your view. It is a shame that we did not manage to convince you of our true capabilities of hospitality delivery. Our F&B and our Recreation team is taking your observations seriously and will be seeking immediate action to make a positive impression on all our guests now and in the future. Organisation is key in this quest which we will be very openly tackling. We hope to get this opportunity to show you what we are usually capable of and known for!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort team

PS: On a small side note, despite the challenging times in Egypt, none of our team members has forcefully been laid off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,225)
There are newer reviews for Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 708 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We returned from the Intercontinental in Taba nearly 2 weeks ago and have to say we were very impressed with the hotel and its wonderful staff. It is the first hotel we have returned to and are so pleased we did, in fact we had such a great stay i'm sure we will visit again soon. The hotel was just as we remembered, very clean, tidy from the public areas through to the well maintained gardens. The room was very clean and big and the shower was huge! Tea and coffee making facilities provided and kept well stocked. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The quality and choice of food was really good and couldn't be faulted, the Thai salads were lovely. If you want to relax and unwind in a beautiful location then this is the place to go. We would also like to mention Andrew the Thomson rep and thank him for his help whilst there and with his knowledge of other resorts. Finally a big thankyou to Chris and all of his staff for making our stay such a pleasurable one, we can't wait to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire_Steve_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Claire,
Dear Steve,
you are more than welcome! Your happiness is our biggest reward!
Looking forward seeing you again soon!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Do not be put off and do not stay away from Egypt especially Taba Heights. This secluded resort is completely unaffected by troubles elsewhere and whilst numbers are slightly down it is service as normal.

My wife and I have stayed at all the hotels in this resort over the past 9 years and the best advice I can give is to use the InterContinental. Which is good news really since it generally seems to cost slightly less than the others. All have good features but we just found the InterContinental tries that bit harder with food, service, upgrades and facilities. The view over the salt water lagoon from the Lagoon Bar is classic infinity pool stuff and, with the moon out over Saudi, - get the camera out. Although all-inclusive I recommend an evening meal at least once from this location - Sahid and his staff will make sure you glass never runs dry.

In fact all the managers and staff are worth a mention and take great pride in their hotel - it shows. It seems to be a matter of pride for them to recognise you and anticipate your order.

Now some factual stuff - rooms are large / huge and those on the sea-front are fabulous. Hotels which provide tea and coffee making facilities, as this one does, are always top of my list. Usual issues with minibar prices but no-one seemed to mind when I stashed my wine box of sauvignon blanc in the fridge (capacious things those golf bags). Well done Osama and Ibrahim for the excellent room service.

The main restaurant was our principal eatery and not once did we feel let down by the selection of foods. Ihab, one of our waiters we recognised from past visits, quietly looked after us and made sure nothing ran dry - good man - but all the waiters in the section we used were consistently on top of matters.

With a golf course across the road from us and Thomson only charging £15 extra for the clubs - take them. The course surrounds the hotel and in fact the 17th and 18th run down to the beach. The dry desert air gives your shots a bit of a boost and the greens are well maintained. Mentioning Thomson, I should also mention Andrew the rep who really did keep it crisp and concise releasing us to yet more cocktails and canapes from the management.

Now some personal thanks for the welcoming bottle of wine, the fresh fruit, the room upgrade to Sea Front, the complimentary spa treatment, the room extension past normal check out time. My - they really do treat returning guests well..

Room Tip: Rooms around the lagoon or facing the sea are quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Griff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Griff,
we are delighted of your comments and shall remain at your service in the same way on your hopefully to come future stays!
Looking forward having you back.
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed as a group of 6 (3 couples) and they managed to put our rooms close to each other which was ideal and what we had asked for, We stayed for 2 weeks over the Easter period.
The hotel is probably the best I have ever stayed in, an impressive building from the outside and inside which the staff clearly take pride in. There are various bars within the hotel, the Lagoon bar is nice on a night with a chilled and relaxed atmosphere, the Courtyard bar was nice at all times - both of these bars have some great views to look out onto (the Red Sea and Jordan) and the staff are friendly and efficient. We liked the splash bar which is beside the pool and provides waiter service to the pool, beach and lagoon. We found Ahmed from that bar and Sheriff also from that bar to be friendly and even brought our drinks without us asking when they got used to our order! Both very pleasant people who smiled and made us feel welcome. The other bar is the reef bar and although it provides some decent food at lunch with pizzas and sandwiches, I found it to be the only bar both day and night where consistently the staff were miserable (apart from Email when he was on there who was the exception).
Breakfast was excellent with some real variation on options for all. For 14 days I had eggs, but only twice did I have to ask Mahmood the egg chef for 2 poached eggs, after that EVERY morning I went back he had already spotted me and already put them on ready for me, I noticed he did this with a few people and was very impressive in terms of his memory but mainly his service.
We enjoyed the pool attendant who looked like Lewis Hamilton (apologies I cant remember hisname), always laughing and joking and being jolly with everyone around the pool.
Things to watch out for are 2 BBQ nights a week which are 185 Egypt pounds per person, however the following night as part of the normal all inclusive restaurant BBQ food as available.
Also check the contents of your mini bar in your room which is NOT part of all inclusive, we didn't touch a thing in the mini bar within the room and looking at the best before date on the chocolate in there nor had anyone else for quite some time! Putting that to one side it was disappointing that I was called back off the bus to reception as they said we had taken 2 bottles of Perrier water from the fridge which was NOT the case and after some confrontation they eventually allowed me to leave without paying for the drinks we DIDN'T have anyway.
I wasn't affected by this however we went as a group of 3 couples and the other 2 couples both commented that they were woken during the night at 2am or 3am to the sound of cleaning and polishing floors. It is a hard one to get right as it is great to see the hotel looking clean but if it is affecting peoples sleep the timing probably needs to be relooked at by the management.
A further thing to be aware of which is NO FAULT WHATSOEVER of the hotel is the offer of the day trip to Jerusalem, we booked with Thomsons and booked this trip as an extra whilst we were there, the tour guide took us for lunch to potentially the worse place possible, we weren't sure what was cleaner the toilets or the kitchen!! But it was clear the tour guide was getting a cut for taking us there with a chicken pitta costing the equivilent of £8 - PLEASE NOTE THOUGH AGAIN THIS WAS NO FAULT OF THE HOTEL but worth knowing if you book this addition through Thomson, however putting a bad chicken pitta to one side the trip was excellent!!
Overall to summarise the hotel is clean, friendly and secure. We would certainly stay there again and after walking through all of the hotels in Taba Heights this one stands out as being the best

Room Tip: staying on level 2 or 3 is good for access to the main reception and restaurant
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Dale,
thank you for your openess and your well balanced review! Your comments are well received and shared among the entire team and we shall be elminiating those in connection with your constructive feedback on the hick-ups and keep & enhance those putting a smile on your face.
Hope to see you all back soon!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just enjoyed another two week holiday at the Intercontinental in Taba Heights. As returning guests we were upgraded to a lovely room on the 3rd floor with a gorgeous view over the Red Sea to Jordan and Saudi Arabia. There was a platter of fresh fruit in the room PLUS a cake and card for my birthday!! How great was that!! We went on the VIP boat trip which was as good as we remembered from last year. The Sinai by Starlight was also a great excursion. Special thanks to all staff who were fantastic throughout, but really want to mention Ahmed who brought us drinks on the beach and at the pool - Fahim the tour guide on our excursions, Andrew the Thomson's Rep, Gilbert the Head Chef and Chris the General Manager. We met so many new friends and also some old friends from last year. What a brilliant holiday!! We hope to return again soon. Thanks again for a special holiday - Oh and the cocktails and canapes on our last night were just lovely xx

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Irene & Eve,
we are ever so happy that you had a fabulous stay with us on such a special time as your birthday! Of course we would be king this a little special :) Your praise has been shared with all those mentioned and naturally with the rest of the team who all work jointly on those experiences. Applause from happy guests is our biggest reward!
Your Team at the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
15.5 km away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
12.6 km away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
66 reviews
27.0 km away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
15.3 km away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1.2 km away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: ₹ 3,928 - ₹ 11,976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing