We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A laid back holiday, sun, sea and good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We flew from Manchester to Taba. The passport control at the airport was poor but, this was completely negated by the excellent check-in service at the hotel. We were in our rooms very quickly and our luggage was delivered by friendly staff promptly. The room was excellent and we had a balcony overlooking the quiet pool. The view at night was very good: The pool; the sea and two different countries visible on the horizon. The location was superb and the choice for relaxing was excellent: The quiet pool; the beach (the quietest is on the left hand side looking out of the hotel); the sea pool or that for the children. The sun remained with us until it disappeared behind the mountains at about 1700hrs. We were somewhat worried about past reviews that mentioned upset tummies. I do not believe that this was down to the food but possibly too long in the sun!!!! Use the shade and drink water. A nice coral lays off the beach and the only downside is that one needs some sort of shoe to walk over the stones that lay between the sand and the sand in the sea leading to the coral. The food was good and there was ample to eat during all mealtimes. There is a separate restruant for those without children and this is a bonus. We were asked to provide feedback and to report if any individual member of staff deserved praise. The difficulty with this was that ALL of the staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. The gym/spa facilities were also very good and probably the best I have had in Egypt (now been 10 times), so there is no need to ruin your training schedule. There is even a running route by the beach! The question is: would we go again.....the answer is....most definitely YES.
It is a shame that Thomsons only run flights for people North of Watford during the winter months. If you wish to travel during the summer you have to fly from Gatwick. Is this a case of Thomsons creating the North South divide?
My thanks to all at the Sofitel for making my Wife and I together with our friends so welcome.

Room Tip: Block 3 for peace and quiet. Ground floor for closeness to quiet pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunworshiper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,102 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We just got home today so while things are still fresh I thought I'd better put my two pennyworth in. While the Sofitel is classed as a 5* hotel I think on a personal note I could only give it a 4* maybe 4.5* at a push. Our party consisted of wife,daughter and myself,we arrived at hotel in about two hours from landing which I thought was very good,Taba airport not as bad has some people have found and check-in at hotel was painless found room in block 3 easy, room 3321 view from room was nice with mountains to the right of us and sea to the front all very nice. Our daughter is 29 and this was a birthday treat for her,but when we got to room we found she had to sleep on a settee style bed,not very good considering there was plenty of space to put a single bed in its place,we still had another settee to sit on. The room itself was large and clean,with a good size bathroom,we never had any problems with water for showers during our weeks stay. The grounds around the hotel are 5* without a doubt, and there are always gardeners working to keep up the good standard. The dining options are what let this hotel down in my opinion, while we never went hungry we also never came out after a meal and said that that was a very good meal. The meats where generally over cooked and dry, and salads pretty much the same for lunch and dinner, after a week we felt the menu was very repetitive. With other A.I. Holidays many allow you to eat in there la a carte once during your stay this might be something Sofitel could look into. Has said on here many times the staff are very good and a credit to the hotel. So in closing would I go back, I think not, but I can understand why many do.

Room Tip: Block 3 is quite and only a 5 minute walk to beech and main part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable fortnight at this hotel. The hotel is a very comfortable hotel and the bedroom we had was clean, comfortable and had great sea views. Staff were helpful, although the first week we were there, there did seem to be some confusion by some staff. The second week these issues had been resolved.
The food was very good but when on holiday for two weeks can be a bit repetative. However, there is opportunity to go to other restaurants but with an additional cost. The main dining room did get crowded at times and this combined with some people's desire to push and shove others out of the way could be a bit annoying. Therefore suggest that try to eat at times when it is not so busy or to eat in the Mediterran Restaurant.
There are plenty of sun beds around the pool and also on the beach. The salt water pool was lovely but be warned it is rather cold but persevere and you will enjoy it!
We visited the spa a couple of times and found this to be very good. There is of course an additional charge for this. This was mainly a relaxing beach/pool holiday for us and this is what we had. I would recommend the Sofitel although as some reviewers have said, this is not a US five star but it is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizzielou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Sofitel. Check in was fast and efficient and we were immediately directed to the restaurant as it was about to close. The food that was left at that time of night was poor and we were nervous about what would follow but we had no need to worry. In fact, it seemed to get better by the day and I am an extremely fussy vegetarian eater! Mohammed, the bar manager was super helpful in organising a special dish for me for the "Island Dinner" evening which I appreciated even though it was far from haute cuisine. Egyptian night stood out for us as the best spread of food - delicious! We also ate in the Asiatique Restaurant and found this great fun and very good value. Recommend. Our experience was that the main buffet restaurant was either quiet or ticking over (around 7/7.30pm). We queued for omelettes in the morning or pasta in the evenings but only a few minutes. Whilst it's fair to say there were some "unhealthy" choices as one reviewer pointed out, these were generally poolside during the day and in the main restaurant there were far more healthy choices - plenty of veggies and salads and a good selection of fruit (based on what I heard was provided at other hotels!)

Our kids (11 and 7) loved the pool. A little too cold for us but there was plenty of activity - aqua gym daily which was well attended, scuba trials and Belly Dancing by the pool. The staff in the pool area are continuously tidying around, removing cups, plates, attending to stray beds and repairing umbrellas where needed. Very lovely grounds to wander around. We didn't experience any problem getting beds by the pool.

The hotel has a nice gym and a great running track along the front of the resort - the climate is perfect for running early morning or late afternoon. No mossies or bugs!! Hooray!

We booked a Family Suite which turned out to be a good move; you get two rooms next to each other which are then connected at the terrace end by a lounge area. The rooms look out to the sea. The proximity to the pool/lobby/restaurant was great and it was very quiet so we slept well every night. Beds very comfy. The rooms need a little attention, if I'm being super critical......curtain hooks hanging off and grouting messy around the bath but couldn't fault the cleanliness. Top notch. Fridges are useful - you get two small bottles of water per room each day but this was plenty given there are coolers placed around the grounds which you can use to refill your bottles if you want to. Air conditioning is very efficient and we had to turn it off/down. We had a couple of small problems with the room but these were attended to immediately on reporting them to reception. We extended both our rooms for $75 for a late check out.

We changed money at the hotel back for a few Egyptian pounds, purely for use in the shop. Otherwise we used US dollars or UK pounds for tips and to settle our extras. The staff work exceptionally hard and we were impressed with their attentiveness throughout our stay, remembering names, our drinks preferences in the restaurant etc.

Saw lots of fish from the pier - we didn't snorkel as it was a little cool in the water but plenty of people were. The water is super clear so it's possible to paddle and still see lots. Take water shoes as it is a little stony.

The highlight was the trip to Petra. We took a private tour arranged via our Longwood Rep who was superb. It didn't cost that much more than the group tour and gave us the flexibility to come back early if the kids were finding it too much. We got picked up at 5.30am and were back by 6.30 pm. The border crossing into Israel was tiresome, taking almost 2 hours, but it was so worth it. The walk across into Jordan is an experience and then the drive to Petra is very straightforward. Don't miss this trip. Take good walking shoes, fleeces (it was cool in the shade) and hats/suncream and water. There are horses/camels/horse and carts available if you can't manage the walk but our kids managed it easily, although it's a good 3 hours of walking and that's just a fraction of the whole site. Stunning!

All in all a lovely week. We've stayed in some very nice hotels around the world and although is not of a US/European 5 star standard, you'd have to be very harsh to find a problem, particularly when the staff are going all out to ensure you have a good time and all your needs are catered for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Telgip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have just returned after a seven day holiday at the sofitel in taba heights and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel was excellent. From the time we arrived until the time we left all the staff, led by Mohamed Hammady, the manager, were extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious and very clean and very well maintained by mohamed the housekeeping supervisor and his staff. Get a sea view, its excellent, you look across the red sea to Saudi and Jordan. Plenty of sunbeds available, without having to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve them. The beach has sunbeds and windbreakers (it did get a bit windy at times). The restaurants were large and the waiters and bar staff were very efficient and friendly. The food was very good with a variety of choices. On one occassion I enquired about a certain food not on the menu; the head chef prepared it and brought to our table! I cant think of many hotels that would be that accommodating. Nothing to do outside the hotel apart from excursions and a very small area with about a dozen local shops reached by shuttle bus. Views are very spectacular, mountains one side red sea the other. If you are looking for a quiet beach holiday, excellent food, accomodation and facilities with very friendly and helpful staff, this hotel is a must. Would totally reccomend the sofitel, taba heights. Thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: get a sea view on the top floor, its worth it. we stayed in room 2470
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdcdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
14.3 km away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
28.2 km away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
13.8 km away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
14.1 km away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1.7 km away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: ₹ 2,255 - ₹ 5,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing