We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be going again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreams Vacation Resort
Ranked #131 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
elliefreya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Won't be going again.”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is the second time we visited this hotel, and were disappointed to find it has really gone down hill.

The food was just AWFUL, exactly the same meals every day, potatoes, rice, beef ragout and chicken pieces, with boring, unimaginative salad. Worryingly I spotted chicken produced on a monday, rejuvenated as "chicken something-else" the following thursday.

There were not enough sun beds round the pool, resulting in people putting out towels the night before and none left by 7.30am. Ridiculous when trying to relax on holiday.

The rooms aren't great, and in the heat we actually spent quiet a bit of time in ours. We had an upstairs room and the glass screen on the balcony was filthy. The toilet roll was not refilled when it ran out, despite requests, and on several occcassions we has no towels replenished. The standards just need to be a bit tighter.


The setting it truly beautiful, with stunning beach and access to the coral, which although a positive, isnt really something the hotel has a hand in as such.

The "kids club" advertised on Thompsons did not open once during our stay, and several other guests commented on this. The kids facilities were very poor, with the same broken trampoline as we saw last year, still there, unfixed.

The evening entertainment was also very poor, and very repetetive with " mr hotel" on one night. "mrs hotel" on another and " best couple" on another.Can't they think of anything else?

Basically, thats it for us, and I reckon you would be best placed paying to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliefreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    253
    136
    59
    62
See reviews for
241
349
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The venue was really nice and the pools were clean. The biggest problem was the ignorant Russians! We felt like 2nd class citicens as they seemed to be treated better than the British? The staff were pleasant & helpful but seemed to pander to the Eastern Europeans which caused an "atmosphere" The food was pretty much the same evry day & was not very nice! The restaurants that are not part of the all inclusive on the other hand, were excellent!!!!!! Dont be fooled by the "Sunday roast" though as its the Egyptian version and nothing like a propper ROAST. Their idea of pooring drinks leaves a lot to de desired aswell. They were rushed and never filled to the top, so you end up going back to the bar time & time again! Im not really a moaner & did have a smashing holiday with my wife & 3 boys, the country is beautiful and the weather is just amazing but there are little things that will do your head in when you go which you will see for yourself. I do recommend seeing it for yourself, but it will be a while before I go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saragreg723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and have just come back from here. Hotel itself was ok, the rooms could have done with a bit of TLC but the air-con was brilliant which in 40 dec heat was a god send and the guys who looked after our room did a great job. You do have to get up early 7am to get a sun bed as there does'nt seem to be anyone making sure that people obey the rules, Kids of all ages coming down the water slide in twos, three's, etc. The food however was something else, we have stayed in all inclusive hotels Mexico, Cuba. Dom Rep etc and all have been good, the food here is terrible. Beef or Chicken on the bone with rice and earthy tasting really old potatoes not cooked properly. There is no ice cream, very little fruit Grapes, water melon, thats it, the salad was going brown and there was little choice. We only eat in the hotel during the day, as once in the evening was enough, and it was the same as what you had during the day anyway. Eat out its really cheap, we went to an Italian restaurant at the entrance to the old market 3 course meal for the 2 of us came to £13. As other people have said there is no entertainment just a miserable old guy trying to sing.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel and tell them its a special occasion and ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Had read lots of reports on the hotel before I had left so was a little daunted when we arrived but have to say we had a fine time.

Myself and Mywife along with my 16 yr old son stayed in a room overlooking the "quieter" of the main pools and that suited us fine.

Although I did ask the wife to stop unpacking due to the close proximaty of the stage area but at 11.00 it finished so no real complaints on that score unless you wanted an early night.... we did not so could cope wit the extra noise.

Room was Ok although if honest was showing it's age and could probably do with an overhaul, but it was kept clean by the cleaner Bob and his mate who werealways smiling. A small tip daily and they kept the fridged well stocked with Water Sprite and Coke every day.

We spent most days by Pool 2 as we cme to call it as the main one was just to noisy for us and the constant music and noisy Russians seemed to have taken it over so we left it alone.

Sadly you do have to play the "Towel" game and we saw towels being put out at 8.00pm the night before my wife wont stand for that and pulled them off and plonked them on the cupboard under the slide.

Fair rules for everyone and at least wait till bloody Midnight!!!

Normally on a holiday you meet a couple of people who you seem to pal up with and get on with but have to say we met some wonderful people here, A Swill lady and her triplets and A family from Birmingham along with a wonderful lad called Joelwhose "how are you walking Vinnie" is still being said now were home.

Joel I hope you are well and made it home safe with your Mum and Libby

Food wise the Buffet was OK but nothing spectacular as long as you like Spuds and Veg you will be OK.

Something edible evry night and I am a fussy sod so read into that what you will but it is an area that they need to improve on.

You do get to eat at the Pagoda and the Grill bar for free as part of the deal, the Grill bar was OK but I do think a good vet would have been able to bring my Chicken back to life!!

The Pagoda is an italian themed place with a set menu personally i thought it was poor and very warm with not enough fans or air going through the place but the food was OK for others like my Good lady.

Drinks well all I will say is best to bring a bottle from Duty free I can normally stomach pretty poor Vodka but this was appalling, and found that Ouzo and Sprite was not too bad and helped send you off to merry lands

They do have a mexican and and Asian on sit which you have to pay for we ate at both the mexican was fantastic and resulted in belt busting bellies and a need to et the elasticated trousers out of the wardrobe.

The Asia was also good but the service left a lot to be desired although they did do a Birthday Cake for my son on the night.

Had one day of a troublesome belly but a swift visit to the on site clinic and 1 packet of Antinol did the trick (in fact 4 tablets was enough""")

There were anumber of people who needed "drips" but based on a lot of what i heard I think this was due to the clinic staff being very over zealous in saying they were needed but that will have tobe your choice when you are there.

Went to the Il Mercado down the road it is a good 25 min walk but worth it in the end some nice shops and a good number of restaurants like KFC/Pizz/McDonalds etc, Actually mcDonalds will deliver to the hotel for you and it is sometimes a nice lunchtime change

The beach is not actually a beach but just carved out of the rocks the lif is working and is so much better than walking up all the steps, some very good snorkelling off the jetties (there are 3) but once again can be very busy with the dreaded Russians

Only did one thing while there which was Scuba diving with Ocean College and I had a blast and loved every minute of it

So would I go again??.... Simple answer yes but maybe after a revamp and some improvement on the spirits

Hope this helps

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QALVINCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My family are just back from Dreams Vacation Resort and all i can say is most of all the gripes are true.The staff overall are very good but the constant harassement from the salesmen is enough for me never to go back to this hotel.The food,entertainment,drinks and rooms were all sub standard and no chance of a sun bed after 6.30am are just some of my gripes.Yes the russians were all thats been said and more but it was the salesmen that realy done my head in.I have been to lot's of 4 star hotels a/i around the world and for less money to and they all outshine DVR by a mile

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.3 km away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#47 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
440 reviews
1.1 km away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#133 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
414 reviews
1.0 km away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#95 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#106 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,309 reviews
1.2 km away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#75 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,112 reviews
1.4 km away
Labranda Tower Bay
Labranda Tower Bay
#29 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Vacation Resort

Property: Dreams Vacation Resort
Address: Um El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#118 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,190 - ₹ 5,412
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Vacation Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Dreams Vacation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing