We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotels not bad food is dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Ranked #91 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

i stayed here for 2 weeks in may and would not return. it is unfinished and the food is terrible. i eat out with my family every day as i couldnt stomach it. the rooms were good and the cleaner gave us extra water cos i bribed him. pools were ok but not heated.not worth it if you ask me and would only be a 3 star anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 925 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

I would love to tell you all of the problems with this hotel but you but you would never have time to read the whole review!

The Good: The pools are great, but the Aqua Park only operates from 10am to 12:30 and then 3pm to 5pm.

The Bad: The staff are very unhelpful and can be positively unpleasant. They can be fine if you tip them, but tipping should be a reward for good service not what you have to do to receive a service that’s bribery! We didn’t tip our waiter one evening at the start of the night so he refused to serve us after our first round of drinks (the first round of drinks were not what we ordered, this is common).

The room: not to bad, you get your bed made most days if the cleaner can be bothered (3 days our wasn’t done for over our 2 week visit, when I asked the cleaner why he hadn’t cleaned he said I had told him not to clean that day!!) and you’ve tipped (sorry bribed) him but don’t expect things like toilet paper to be replenished or the correct number of towels or clean bedding.

The entertainment: there’s a show every night, like at most all-inclusive hotels. The standard of the entertainment is not great and you can’t even get a drink while you sit there bored. The terrace bar has music until 10pm, the same music every night but at least you can chat with other holiday makes. At midnight the lights go out at the terrace bar so you have to sit in the dark. The whole place just feels like you are an inconvenience and the quicker you leave the better for the staff.

The food: I have been in the Army for 23 years and have eaten some very bad food over the years whilst on exercise and operations, but nothing as bad as here!!! My whole family and everyone we spoke too were sick at some stage over their stay. I can’t put into words how bad it is.

I will never visit the hotel again and I would encourage you to speak to you travel agent and get your hotel changed if you are booked in here. I have lots of examples of how bad this hotel is but just read other reviews because everyone has experienced the same bad service it’s not just me being fussy!!
bar

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baz8779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have just got back from our 5 star all inculsive holiday to egypt in the regency plaza what a laugh 5 star no way got to hotel late in the evening at first all looked good until we checked in staff at check in looked at me as if i was the devil friendly my back side just didnt want to talk just told 1 off his staff to take us to our room the guy went to open the door key card didnt work told us to wait outside our room it was hot and he would sort it 15 mins later he came back and said lock does'nt work with card here is a key. Went in room was clean staff pointed out how to use aircon and safe
safe was locked could'nt open it then he said here is the mini bar i opened it all that was in it was 2 bottles of water there was 4 of us i said where is the fully stocked mini bar he said you have to phone down and pay to get it filled WHAT THIS IS A 5 STAR AND YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR MINI BAR ?? last year in turkey we didnt have to do that anyway tipped the guy he went then our bags turned up tipped again.Then next morning go down to breakfast we are all straving walked into there buffet what a load of rubbish wanted to say something else but trip advisor wont let me . food was awful cutlery was dirty and so was the glass'es they gave us orange juice in a dirty glass seeing that i said can we just have a bottle of water they said no we dont give you bottles of water only in you room 2 a day i said there is 4 of us and its very very hot sorry only from machines i said what with dirty glass's what a joke again last year in turkey we could have as much bottled water as we wanted ?? so after our breakfast that we never had out to the pool can't knock the pool and surroundings they were great so was the beach the sea was great so hot with fish everywhere but what i can knock is the pool bars the drinks were warm most of the time and in the Aqua park bar my son and my little girl went to get a drink he is 12 she is 7 was told no you can't have one i went mad what do you mean you cant have one i went and had ago spoke to 1 of ther managers by the way they have 5 managers to one bar again what a joke anyway was told that as he could not understand them so no drink they speak and are english you fool after that fun was had.
3rd day of our hols went to our room after a full day of swimming and stuff to find our room cleaned but they only left 1 towel no hand towels all our glass's gone and 1 bottle of water there is 4 of us again what a joke i go down and complain all i get is sorry 1 hour later we get towels and 4 bottles of water and we got this for the rest of our stay so that was sorted.
next day lets go for a walk outside one side of the road nice green grass the other side rubbish dumped everywhere on the side with grass lots of dogs and puppys they werent a problem friendly but 2 days later we go for a walk again to the supermarket to get some food to eat as we cant eat in the buffet for breakfast and lunch to find that all the dogs dead on the grass but not the puppys not nice for my kids to see and they were there just roting away the smell was sicking enough said.
then on our last day we went to the pool for our last few hours to come back to find that my wife had money taken from her purse not alot but thats not the point wait to our last day then steel from us on top of all the tipping as well. told them when checking out they could'nt be botherd and as soon as we checked out at 1pm not leaving the hotel until 3.30 they cut our bands off so we could not get any more drinks and if we could bear it food thats just not right.
i could go on and on but i wont we went for a 5 star holiday and ended up paying a extra £400 on food as the food was just rubbish this hotel was a joke we read reviews on this hotel but there was more good then bad but we thought hey cant be as bad as people said but it was so save your money and find somewhere else trust me it was bad. NEVER NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank errol24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We opted for this hotel for two reasons: desirabel budget & eye pleasing picturesque surroundings. We’ve got mixed impressions: something was better than expected, something - worse. In brief: the hotel is good for a short break for teetotal vegetarian young people who spend most of the time on excursions or diving and do not forget earplugs.

Virtues:

1. One of the cheapest 5* hotels in ShElSh (so sing small).
2. Green well-groomed beautiful large territory.
3. Sandy shallow sea entrance. No need in coral shoes.
4. Personnel: room cleaning ok, quick check in, mini club girls do their best in the present conditions.
5. Room: spacious tidy Sea Front room, decent furniture, tea making facilities is a plus.
6. Aquapark is nice.
7. Drinking water is available in the coolers.
8. Own taxi service in the lobby.
9. Supermarket (Metro) is 4 minutes by car as well as Bacchus (alcholol).
10. Souvenir shop at the hotel, adequate prices and, what’s even more important, adequate salesman.

Apart from the hotel:

1. Weather (beginning of May): not too hot, dry & windy.
2. Promenade along the beach.
3. Alternative playground on the beach close to F building.

The most significant shortcomings:

1. Food is 2**-3***: unappetizingly cooked dishes, hard meat, poor choice for kids. For a grown-up teetotal vegetarian it’s ok. As well as for those who want to lose weight (what happened to me actually).
Try and replace the main restaurant with a la carte restaurants as many times as you can (there are 3 or 4, including free with advanced booking). Quick fast food is available at lunch time in the beach bar (and nice personnel there).
2. Poor-quality drinks - bad for stomach (beer is like water, wine is like vinegar). Water is the only healthy option. Or buy drinks in bottles. For kids: bring your own trusted drinks in kids bottles to the restaurant).
3. Not possible to sleep with an open balcony because of mosquitoes, and with closed balcony – because of the rattling conditioner (time to use earplugs).

Apart from the hotel: you have to take care of bottled water for your toothbrushing and fruit washing as Egyptian tap water is not good for it.

Have a safe rest :)

Room Tip: Sea Front Room has a nice view, and there're tea&coffee facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaBA_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Well, unlike lots of negative reviews published here, even though I had read them before, I had a great time there and would definitely stay there again! THE HOTEL itself is huge, spacious, with a beautiful garden full of palms, flowers, bushes, bridges and ponds, it feels like a small heavenly town. THE POOLS are awesome with the AQUA PARK containing cool slides being a good option for kids. THE ROOMS are spacious, comfy, with a large terrace, big beds, a TV, fridge, kettle, tea/coffee/bottled water delivered to your room every day and the cleaners being very friendly. THE SEA: is just opposite the buildings, lots of sunbeds, silence&peace, and beautiful sea creatures waiting for you inside. SNORKELLING/DIVING: you can go to the first pier as well; however, the second one on the left where you pay 5$ for entry will give you an extremely beautiful coral reef with its inhabitants! (they will let kids go free) THE FOOD is just OK- it’s not perfect for the Europeans and I agree that’s it’s probably the only drawback, but claiming that some people were hungry there sounds like a joke… :) There is so much food to choose from, even if you’re fussy [e.g. BREAKFAST: bread, rolls, cheese, butter, cornflakes, boiled eggs, omelette, pancakes, waffles… LUNCH&DINNER: chicken, fish, beef, turkey, potatoes, rice, pasta, vegetables, fruit, delicious soup, cake, biscuits…]-that’s the main restaurant. If you are willing to pay for the drinks, however (10 EGP for Coke, Fanta, Sprite, 30EGP alcoholic cocktails), you may have pre-booked dinner in one of the four other restaurants plus A NEW PIZZERIA which opened just a week ago! The Chinese and Italian ones serve delicious food and so does the Pizzeria (MIND that at the pizzeria the soft drinks are INCLUDED!) All in all, if you go to one of them once at least plus a few trips outside the hotel, this means you will not be bored with having similar cuisine every day! ;)THE GYM&SPA: the gym is…a bit ancient regarding the equipment, but at least if you want you can go and train there every day.THE AMENITIES: on the premises there’s an exchange office, an ATM, a pharmacy and a few other shops which is very convenient. THE BARS serve drinks all day long with one of them open 24hours. THE DOCTOR (Emad, a fantastic, friendly and professional guy!) will help you if anything goes wrong. THE ALCOHOL: I tried their Egyptian p e t r o l which they call ‘alcohol’, but after a few days gave up. Some guys are immune to its impact on your digestive system; some will get diarrhoea, which was my case. Remember, you WILL NOT buy a bottle of civilized European bottle of alcohol anywhere but in the Duty Free Shop either at the airport or in Naama Bay and I strongly advise you TO DO SO! (legally you have 48 hours after arriving) However, you may safely drink their beer which is served from bottled beer in some bars. THE ICE at this hotel is safe and, unlike what other people say, is made from bottled clean water. STOMACH PROBLEMS: Antinal is available for about 25 EGP. OTHER GUESTS: there were some rude Russians who would not move their bottoms and block the bar, but not so many. I met people from Italy, England, Germany, Poland…and everyone was nice and polite. TIPS: unless you really are short of money, please tip the cleaners as they earn as little as about 150$/month and work really hard in high temperatures… ; that’s nothing but cruel exploitation by the hotel owners in Egypt! THE CENTRE: it’s just a 10-minute walk to the ‘first centre’ where you will find lots of shops and clubs (even McDonald’s, KFC, Burger King with FREE WI-FI!) and METRO-a supermarket with fixed prices. ENTERTAINMENT: the animation team working for you almost all day long: stretching, yoga, dancing, dance shows, Mini Disco for kids, MiniClub serving ice cream and singers playing&singing every evening! NAAMA BAY: free shuttle bus to be pre-booked and will take you there at 1p.m and bring you back at 4 p.m. (in other hours – 5$ return). ALFA STAR residents and tour guides: nice, witty and friendly! MY ADVICE: a trip to Mount Moses is a must! I also recommend a desert safari combined with camel ride and a visit to Dahab.
I tried and glanced at the other hotels on the coast and I would definitely choose this one if I was ever in that area again! :D (if you have any questions, feel free to ask!). Enjoy your stay! ;)

Room Tip: Rooms 1634&1635 were mine-perfect choice! Rooms around Aqua Park are said to be more modern, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christiano_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency_Club, General Manager at Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2015

Dear Value Guest,
Thank you for being or guest in Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa -Sharm El Sheikh
as well posting your comment , We are happy to know that you enjoyed your vacation and we are waiting you for next time as you will be our repeating guest with VIP treatment , we would like to assure you that we will create true memorable experience, looking forward to welcome you over and over again

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
10.6 km away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#66 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,305 reviews
1.4 km away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,076 reviews
0.5 km away
Sea Beach Aqua Park Resort Managed by Blue Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Sharm El Sheikh Resort
2.0 km away
Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort
3.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort

Address: on the beach of Nabq Bay | Peace Road, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#86 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: ₹ 3,126 - ₹ 7,880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of the Sinai Peninsula, a step into a whole new world of the most exquisite rare combination of Kite surfing fun activities , turquoise blue water, crimson mountains and desert landscapes of inspiring beauty, considered one of the best water spots and Kite surfing spots worldwide. Regency Plaza Resort, a superb Local 5 star deluxe hotel majestically and directly located on the beautiful, coral beach of Nabq Bay. the hotel is built on an area covering over 167.000 SQM. Regency Plaza Resort is located within 10 minutes from Sharm El-Sheikh international airport and 25 minutes from the famous Neama Bay city centerRegency is running a 24 hours all inclusive system with free access to a la carte restaurant ; with a Aqua Fun area fully equipped with five adult Aqua Slides with Heated Swimming pool during winter and Kids Aqua heated aqua zone equipped with different mini aqua slides for kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Plaza Aqua Park And Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Regency Hotel Nabq
Regency Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Plaza Sharm El Sheikh Regency
Regency Plaza Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing