We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #201 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 24 December 2015

the hotel is old and very basic as for the rooms they are tired at best, i have stayed here many times in the past but would not stay here again, saying that the staff can not do enough to help you and are working to the best they can with what they have got. the owners need to spend money on this hotel.

Room Tip: try by the large pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Went here for 7 days - all inclusive. Had to buy water and wine was extra as well. The rooms were absolutely filthy. We were kicked out the dinning room to make way for Egyptians who were served a better selection of food. Ours was take it or leave it with no choice and the same crap every day. We couldn't get coffee at breakfast, the chef smoked in the kitchen when making food. Always getting asked how much I earned. We locked ourselves out of the room once and they were very prompt to come and let us back in with the master key - a screw driver. If you wanted to have a drink after 10 you had to pay extra - 10 euros per person to keep the bar open. The last couple of days I felt quite safe as a police convention was taking place and they were staying at the 'hotel' however they had to migrate the sun beds from the pool to the rooms so that they had somewhere to sleep. Would never ever go back to this hotel unless it was to witness it getting demolished, that I would pay to see.
A filthy squalid dump that I would not let a animal stay in.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pauldolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

The bad part first, the rooms really are as tired as other reviewers have said. All the staff seem to know this but the owners appears not to be taking any notice, however they have renovated 1 room 151 and if they did this to all the rooms then this would become my hotel of choice!.
The good parts, the food although limited choice was very good and the chef's were prepared to make something for you if you had any special requests.
The staff, what can one say, they were the friendliest, most helpful hotel staff I have ever met, it is a shame that their hands are tied by the poor rooms!.
Having 2 pools for this size of hotel was great.
All inclusive 10.00 to 22.00 was odd but soon got used to it.

Room Tip: Rooms 501 to 510 are supposed to be the best and 151 has been fully renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

I visited this hotel in October with my dad on a 10 night all inclusive basis. We
checked in late evening only to discover the holiday company hadn't informed the hotel of our stay. But to the staffs credit they showed us to our room and took the issue
up with the holiday provider.
We really didn't have high expectations for the hotel based on the price we paid but we were truly shocked with the state of our room. We can cope with basic but this place was filthy the bathroom was disgusting, we later discovered the staff aren't provided with cleaning cloths to clean just a bucket some detergent and a towel to clean the floors! Staff work tirelessly with what they are given and will do anything to try and help. The towel art daily was one of the few highlights of our stay. We never once in 10 days had hot water from our shower and at times it was a trickle at best.
This hotel has a lot of Egyptian holiday makers and food seemed to be based towards them. Food was our biggest issue breakfast consisted of what looked like mashed potato or eggs, you could also ask for toast. Lunch and dinner was the same either rice, pasta, liver, chicken wings and legs or sometimes beef...which I'm not convinced was beef! Everything was luke warm. We spent a lot of money eating and drinking else where, which is disappointing when you book an all inclusive holiday.
Entertainment was poor and anything that was arranged you had to pay extra for, I've never experienced this on an all inclusive holiday before.
The staff at the hotel do their very best to do anything for you but you can't mask the run down state of the place. Daily I witnessed the scum line of the pool being cleaned with a brush and the pool water which we were swimming in!!!
All inclusive drinks finish at 10pm and there's not much atmosphere in there so after 10pm we would head to the English bar next door or the jive bar a few doors down where there was a more lively atmosphere.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area with not much to do. If you have children this isn't the place to go especially this hotel as there would be nothing suitable for them to eat and no children's entertainment.
Another issue I found was round the pool where I was made to feel uncomfortable by the Egyptian holiday makers who were constantly taking photos of the English ladies bathing!
The only saving grace of this holiday was the wonderful friends we made who were also staying at the hotel without the laughs we created ourselves our holiday would have been dismal.
Big shout out to desha at the bar, Rooney, Sam and Ahmed who tried their very best to make our holiday but until management step up and make changes we would never stay at ocean club again!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Peachesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Wouldnt even give it one star Do not stay here filfthy dirty horrible place dont be fooled by the good reviews on here. Food vile just about managed breakfast that was a struggle. I ate once at lunchtime and been ill since.this place should be shut down the only good thing i can say are the staff were very helpful.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.2 km away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#176 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
1.2 km away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#12 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
534 reviews
0.8 km away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#79 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#46 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,532 reviews
4.1 km away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#112 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,437 reviews
4.9 km away
Noria Resort
Noria Resort
#90 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: Maglis El Madina Street | Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh PO 312, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#143 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: ₹ 648 - ₹ 1,944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Hotel offers an exceptionally good value accommodation in a relaxed & cozy atmosphere and is ideal for single travelers, couples & families due to its friendly staff & quality of service. Thanks to all of our guests who have contributed to its popularity by returning year after year.This courtyard style hotel consists of 80 comfortable air conditioned guest rooms, some of which are adjoining, and provides a high standard of accommodation. Each room has its own private bathroom & shower, mini-bar, safe box and satellite TV. Relax around the 2 large swimming pools (one of which is heated) and sundecks during your day, and catch up on the day’s activities with friends around the social pool bar or head up to the Phoenix rooftop bar in the evening and enjoy a drink under the stars, or watch your favorite sport in the air-conditioned indoor area of the bar. The hotel features four outlets cleverly created to accommodate your every need, Phoenix roof top bar offering A La Carte menu and beverages during evening time, Pool Bar offering snacks and beverages during day time, Mongolian BBQ with its unique dining experience and the Reef Restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Hotel also has on site a mini SPA and a dive centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ocean Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing