We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
113
103
53
37
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
103
53
37
56
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015

The title says it all really.. It's below average, but it's very cheap.. Similar quality to an English 1-2* hotel. The room was poor with 'clean' towels not being clean towels on a daily basis. Dirty mugs and glasses that we had used the day previously were left in the room after cleaning every single day; we didn't mention it, we just took them back to the bar. Still, it's not what you expect when you return to a 'clean' room. The bathroom and shower was also a bit of a state with no hot water- only luke-warm at best. Pool often had no clean towels available, with the hotel's solution to be for us to turn up at 9am when they actually have some.. My solution would be to buy more towels, but what do I know? :) The food for all meals consisted of 5-6 of the big silver trays, so the choice was very limited, and especially considering one of these was always just plain rice. This was actually a good thing for me though considering the fact I wouldn't touch some of the other dishes. Dessert was always melon or orange, and some sort of cake slices with a syrup on top. The staff were all as friendly and helpful, and seemed to be doing their best in a hotel that needs a lot of love. Having to pay for WiFi in a hotel in 2015 is a bit silly, but I realise the infrastructure in Egypt is not the same as the UK and may cost them more. Saying that, a café 2 minutes away had unlimited free wifi when we pay 10 Egyptian Pounds (80p) for some shisha.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Hotel is fine for the low price we paid.
Unfortunately, there were instances of theft from rooms affecting us and other guests during our stay. Hotel management very defensive, indeed, hostile to any suggestion that housekeeping staff could be responsible.
JUST STAY AWAY!!!

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank zippoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Do NOT go here. This place should be knocked down. Quite possibly the worst hotel I've ever seen. There was mayhem in reception with the rep. Every sign guest was fighting to get moved to a different hotel. Two staff where fighting by reception. Unbelievable.

A picture of the shower in the rooms is attached.

Then place is stinking dirty

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank PaulWal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

So I booked a last minute trip arrived yesterday, the hotel itself is very small and not in a good location. First room was full of cockroaches, wires hanging out of walls, dirty bathroom, stained sheets and generally depressing room worst of all unsafe as balcony was broken door was unlocked and couldn't be shut, I moved rooms and the same thing balcony door didn't close dirty room cockroaches. The hotel did try to help they send a handyman who put a screw through the door to try and secure it. I couldn't bare staying one night there. The hotel are helpful but they can't do much as the hotel is in such disrepair. Their is no free wifi. £25 for a dongle from a rep, 7gb of data. Their was talk that guests had stomach upset at Ocean resort something I can't comment on as didn't eat their, this place is one star at best. I cannot fault the hotel staff but the premises is awful.

I booked la perla through a local rep £3 extra per night and what a palace in comparison, this hotel is next door to Iberotel il mercato a great location close to airport and shops. I love Iberotel but was on a budget highly recommend trying to book this hotel only on travelrepublic and move hotels.. la Perla has recently had an upgrade rooms are clean modern and the facilities clean, two pools and if you re discrete you can go next door and use the pool at Iberotel. Free wifi in reception, if you book a room close to the reception you will get wifi in your room, small pool there is also wifi, the larger pool is mostly Russians and Egyptians, but they are fine if it gets too noisy the small pool is deserted. Don't read the negative reviews of la perla as they were before the refurb. Breakfast is perfect nothing to complain about, as in all of Egypt if you like you coffee bring your instant Starbucks sachets etc as their Egyptian coffee is very weak and tastes awful. No kettle in room, but fridge, flat screen. There are shops and McDonald's (if that's your thing) Starbucks in Iberotel complex also supermarket and shops in walking distance. Water you need to buy and isn't provided unless you are all inclusive. I went bed and breakfast as the food becomes repetitive and drinks are cheap if you wish to upgrade to all inclusive at la perla speak to the manager and he will do you a deal.

Room Tip: 210 has access to wifi and close to pools.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kirsty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

Third time back to my second home, love this hotel! The hotel is small and friendly and perfect if your travelling on your own. The hotel is clean and rooms are nice had some very interesting towel art :-) your in a perfect location the beach, narma bay, shops and restaurants are only a short taxi ride. All the staff are amazing and can't do enough to make sure you have a great holiday. Can't wait to come back in September :-)

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
4  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews