We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #200 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 29 July 2015

This hotel is not fit to keep chickens in never mind people avoid this place at all costs our friends son stayed here and we visited him it was filthy no duvet covers bare wires hanging out the wall in the bathroom , and the rep! The least said about this arrogant obnoxious man the better

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015

The title says it all really.. It's below average, but it's very cheap.. Similar quality to an English 1-2* hotel. The room was poor with 'clean' towels not being clean towels on a daily basis. Dirty mugs and glasses that we had used the day previously were left in the room after cleaning every single day; we didn't mention it, we just took them back to the bar. Still, it's not what you expect when you return to a 'clean' room. The bathroom and shower was also a bit of a state with no hot water- only luke-warm at best. Pool often had no clean towels available, with the hotel's solution to be for us to turn up at 9am when they actually have some.. My solution would be to buy more towels, but what do I know? :) The food for all meals consisted of 5-6 of the big silver trays, so the choice was very limited, and especially considering one of these was always just plain rice. This was actually a good thing for me though considering the fact I wouldn't touch some of the other dishes. Dessert was always melon or orange, and some sort of cake slices with a syrup on top. The staff were all as friendly and helpful, and seemed to be doing their best in a hotel that needs a lot of love. Having to pay for WiFi in a hotel in 2015 is a bit silly, but I realise the infrastructure in Egypt is not the same as the UK and may cost them more. Saying that, a café 2 minutes away had unlimited free wifi when we pay 10 Egyptian Pounds (80p) for some shisha.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Hotel is fine for the low price we paid.
Unfortunately, there were instances of theft from rooms affecting us and other guests during our stay. Hotel management very defensive, indeed, hostile to any suggestion that housekeeping staff could be responsible.
JUST STAY AWAY!!!

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank zippoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Do NOT go here. This place should be knocked down. Quite possibly the worst hotel I've ever seen. There was mayhem in reception with the rep. Every sign guest was fighting to get moved to a different hotel. Two staff where fighting by reception. Unbelievable.

A picture of the shower in the rooms is attached.

Then place is stinking dirty

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank PaulWal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

So I booked a last minute trip arrived yesterday, the hotel itself is very small and not in a good location. First room was full of cockroaches, wires hanging out of walls, dirty bathroom, stained sheets and generally depressing room worst of all unsafe as balcony was broken door was unlocked and couldn't be shut, I moved rooms and the same thing balcony door didn't close dirty room cockroaches. The hotel did try to help they send a handyman who put a screw through the door to try and secure it. I couldn't bare staying one night there. The hotel are helpful but they can't do much as the hotel is in such disrepair. Their is no free wifi. £25 for a dongle from a rep, 7gb of data. Their was talk that guests had stomach upset at Ocean resort something I can't comment on as didn't eat their, this place is one star at best. I cannot fault the hotel staff but the premises is awful.


I booked la perla through a local rep £3 extra per night and what a palace in comparison, this hotel is next door to Iberotel il mercato a great location close to airport and shops. I love Iberotel but was on a budget highly recommend trying to book this hotel only on travelrepublic and move hotels.. la Perla has recently had an upgrade rooms are clean modern and the facilities clean, two pools and if you re discrete you can go next door and use the pool at Iberotel. Free wifi in reception, if you book a room close to the reception you will get wifi in your room, small pool there is also wifi, the larger pool is mostly Russians and Egyptians, but they are fine if it gets too noisy the small pool is deserted. Don't read the negative reviews of la perla as they were before the refurb. Breakfast is perfect nothing to complain about, as in all of Egypt if you like you coffee bring your instant Starbucks sachets etc as their Egyptian coffee is very weak and tastes awful. No kettle in room, but fridge, flat screen. There are shops and McDonald's (if that's your thing) Starbucks in Iberotel complex also supermarket and shops in walking distance. Water you need to buy and isn't provided unless you are all inclusive. I went bed and breakfast as the food becomes repetitive and drinks are cheap if you wish to upgrade to all inclusive at la perla speak to the manager and he will do you a deal.

Room Tip: 210 has access to wifi and close to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kirsty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.2 km away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#177 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
1.2 km away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#11 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
530 reviews
0.8 km away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#78 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#47 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,530 reviews
4.1 km away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#112 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,433 reviews
4.9 km away
Noria Resort
Noria Resort
#88 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: Maglis El Madina Street | Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh PO 312, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#143 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: ₹ 641 - ₹ 1,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Hotel offers an exceptionally good value accommodation in a relaxed & cozy atmosphere and is ideal for single travelers, couples & families due to its friendly staff & quality of service. Thanks to all of our guests who have contributed to its popularity by returning year after year.This courtyard style hotel consists of 80 comfortable air conditioned guest rooms, some of which are adjoining, and provides a high standard of accommodation. Each room has its own private bathroom & shower, mini-bar, safe box and satellite TV. Relax around the 2 large swimming pools (one of which is heated) and sundecks during your day, and catch up on the day’s activities with friends around the social pool bar or head up to the Phoenix rooftop bar in the evening and enjoy a drink under the stars, or watch your favorite sport in the air-conditioned indoor area of the bar. The hotel features four outlets cleverly created to accommodate your every need, Phoenix roof top bar offering A La Carte menu and beverages during evening time, Pool Bar offering snacks and beverages during day time, Mongolian BBQ with its unique dining experience and the Reef Restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Hotel also has on site a mini SPA and a dive centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ocean Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing