We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halomy Hotel”
Review of Halomy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halomy Hotel
Ranked #155 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Halomy Hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in the Halomy in October last year for 2 weeks. The only good thing i can say about the hotel is that our room had a great view over naama bay and speaking to a guest who had been to this hotel several times said the room we were staying in was one of the best in the hotel, and so i had no complaints about the room to be honest, it was clean and comfy for what we needed. Now the Bad... The food served in the main restaraunt is horrible, we refused to eat in there after the first 2 days. The majority of the dishes look like rice floating about in brown sewage water and the meat was always under cooked. The pool area is scruffy, all the green carpet around the pool is torn and ripped up so people were tripping over it all the time which is an accident waiting to happen. The pool has loads of cracked of missing tiles at the bottom, my partner sliced her foot open on one as did a few others while we were there. The beach towels were virtually thread bare and stained. Some of the staff were friendly and kind, there was a young guy called mohammed that worked in the poolside bar that would do anything for you but other than him the rest were annoying and made the women feel uncomfortable as all they did was gorp and not even try and hide it. The onsite 'hairdresser' was offering to get me hashish (cannabis) and lastly if you want to go down to naama bay for food and shopping every day like we did if you dont like the food in the hotel then theres about 140 steep steps down the cliff to get there, and in 40/50c heat your ready for dying by the time you get to the top. For the money you pay for this place, pay the extra £50 and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MancTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    156
    102
    77
    79
See reviews for
100
210
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week as it was cheap and centrally located in Naama Bay. To get to the centre of things, you just have to walk through the grounds and down a long steep set of steps. Views over the bay are fantastic. Unfortunately this is the only fantastic thing about the Halomy. The hotel is incredibly run down; rooms are shabby, although not dirty. Food is vile. Hotel staff can be very rude and basically take every opportunity to make extra money out of you. Customer service is pretty non existent. Despite its location, I would not pay to stay here again. There are nicer hotels in and around Naama Bay. Halomy needs to step up its game!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

stayed here on my own whilst visiting friends in Sharm for 12 nights, I didn't eat at the hotel, so couldn't comment, but as a base to shower, shelter from the sun and sleep, it was ideal. Right in Naama Bay (up some steps, so great views) but away from the main drags. If you are planning to lie on the beach for your holiday, I would suggest elsewhere, as it is on the cliff, so lots of stairs down to a rickety jetty, not a sandy beach. You can, however, for very little money, use the beach at Viva sharm for example. My only complaint was the lack of proper coffee, but it's only 5 minutes away from the main streets where you are spoilt for espresso choice, as there are many italians based in Sharm. Something I found very charming was the pile of english novels in reception, left by other visitors that you can use. If you are expecting an all inclusive beach holiday, this may disappoint, but if you are looking for somewhere cheap, clean and central, I don't think you can do better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Before we went to Sharm we read the reviews of the hotel on here, and I was a bit apprehensive to stay at Halomy to say the least! However, it's not all bad! One thing you have to remember is that it was one of the first hotels ever built in the resort - over 20 years ago. It's location is fantastic - the views of Naama Bay and out to see are amazing! Although, I must admit, it looks like it's never had any renovation whatsoever since it was built, so I can see where people are coming from in their reviews.

Don't expect 5* accomodation if you stay here - it is in no way shape or form going to compete with a lot of the other hotels available in the area. Yes, it is a little worse for wear and rough around the edges, but the staff are friendly, attentive and make you so welcome you almost ignore your surroundings. The whole place does need a lot of work, but the groundsmen are there every day keeping it clean and tidy for the residents and the staff do their best to make you feel at ease. The pool, however amazingly clean was absolutely freezing when we went, so we opted for the deck chairs and ventrued down to the private beach when we wanted a swim.

The food is a bit hit and miss, but in comparison to a lot of other hotels is very reasonably priced. I agree with others - if we had gone all-in I doubt I would have wanted to eat there everyday, but there's a good enough choice for everyone. And be honest - with the price you pay to stay here is it really that much of a big deal to go out for a meal?!

The only thing I hated when I first did it was the climb up all the steps coming back from town - there are over 100 from the main road through Naama Bay up to the hotel so it is definitely not suitable for disabled persons. Although by the end of our stay I felt quite healthy having to do that a few times a day!

Yes it's slightly shabby, but on the flip side it has a certain chic and charm about it. It's a good base and in the evenings you can barely hear the nightlife, so for us it was great when we wanted a lie in!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room - you overlook Naama Bay and are away from the main concourse of the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llamaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We spent 9 nights here at the beginning of March - an enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

Yes, hotel location is its best asset - impressive view over the harbour. The hotel is run down, but it still has a lot of character and ample grounds - ideal for those who don't like those hotels where sunbeds are so close and entertainment provided 24/7. Staff here were friendly but not obtrusive.

We booked half-board, intending to eat out, if necessary, however the food provided was perfectly adequate - the breakfasts were very good - something there for everyone, my husband enjoyed the Egyptian Foul (beans) and I my freshly made omlettes. There was always a chicken dish in the evening and another meat or fish dish - plus a couple of vegetable dishes - potato in various forms, rice in various colours and a good selection of salad. No tummy upsets, which I think is pretty good for Egypt.

The rooms are basic, but were cleaned every day. Our shower and toilet were old and stained, but worked fine.

The sound of music played by a bar in the harbour goes on until about 4.00 am - definitely recommend ear plugs if your'e light sleepers, but we got used to it and actually slept very well during our stay - beds very comfortable.

The steps down to the harbour were not as hazardous as we had expected - there are benches provided on the way for anyone needing a breather - not necessary in March, but may well be in the summer months.

Another positive was the sandy ledge, where you can access the sea for snorkelling - much more relaxing than fighting for a space on the main beach - also a bar where you could purchase drinks and snacks.

When you take into account the cost of this holiday - there aren't many places you can go in March with perfect weather in this price range - we consider this a good value holiday and would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILL157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 km away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#159 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
143 reviews
0.4 km away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#17 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,208 reviews
1.3 km away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#85 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,237 reviews
0.8 km away
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
#74 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
437 reviews
1.0 km away
Kahramana Hotel
Kahramana Hotel
#144 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halomy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halomy Hotel

Property: Halomy Hotel
Address: Halomy Street Naama Bay | Overlooking Nama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#89 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:3 star — Halomy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the cliff top of Naama Bay, Halomy Hotel offers panoramic views of the Tiran Island. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, a diving centre and a buffet restaurant. The air-conditioned rooms feature a spacious seating area with a satellite TV and a minibar. Some rooms have a balcony or a terrace overlooking the Red Sea. A hairdryer is fitted in the bathroom. The buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy cocktails that are served at the Beach Bar. Oriental Café serves shisha as well. Guests have a variety of activities to do on site such as table tennis and volley ball. Rejuvenating massages are also available. Sounds and light show can be enjoyed at the evening. The old market is a 10-minute drive from Halomy Hotel. Sharm El Sheikh International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Free private parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halomy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halomy Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing