We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, but poor catering for english!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Garden Resort
Ranked #108 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great staff, but poor catering for english!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Took my husband, his parents and my stepson for a weeks break during the february half term 2012, To be honest I got what i expected for a four star resort in Egypt! the rooms were very clean and large however my stepson (who was nearly 9) was put on a chez longe instead of an bed (bearing in mind we paid full price for him)!
The majoritory of holiday makers in the resort were Russian and German who were very rude to staff and anyone who got in there way! The food was very much catered for them, I am a realist and know the food isnt going to be typical british but they should at least stock the childrens section with less exotic foods?! We also got diorrhoea for the last few days, my husband was bed bound for a day!
The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you and did make our trip, we were advised by friends to take a pocket full of pound coins to tip with, this was a great tip as the staff are not well paid and they did appreciate anything you gave them!
All in all an ok hotel with clean rooms and good value for money, but bear in mind you will be in an minority!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarehoward11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    456
    188
    90
    88
See reviews for
479
497
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just bac from the island gardens... havin stayed at the island view last year there was expectations i had of this sister hotel.. the rooms as others describe are dated and need upgrading which i believe is takin place this year.. the food was gud some a little unusual but if your looking for english food stay at home.. animation team were great full of joy even when there was hardly anyone by the pool, laura in the kids club was a ray of sunshine always makin u smile chris shadow & mina all made you feel very welcome.. special thanks goes out to our friend from last year by the pool Osama ..each mornin towels were on our beds ready.. where else wud that happen? all in all a fantastic holiday had hopefully will be bac next year

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongo3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have just returned from Sunrise Island Garden last week. I was with a family group of mixed ages and we were also at the same hotel last year. Unfortunately I think this will be my last visit to this hotel as in the past year it has deteriorated somewhat.

The staff are on the whole very helpful and polite, but the standard of food in the restaurant has really gone down. Every night it seemed to be the same meal, maybe with a little something different added to it and called by a different name, but usually tasted the same. The Italian restaurant isn't much better, but the bbq was good. The rooms could do with a lick of paint too. The animation team work very hard and are a friendly group of people. I think they could do better if they had more equipment to do it with.

There is not alot to do in the area of this hotel, especially if the weather is not good and unfortunately one of our weeks, the weather was rather cold, dull and windy.

I had a nice break, but it was more to do with the people I was with and not our accommodation. Thomas Cook should re grade this hotel as it certainly isn't a 4 star hotel. British people were certainly in the minority as it was mostly filled with Russians and the idea of queueing for anything and even smiling or saying 'excuse me' or 'sorry' doesn't appear to cross their mind.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan22-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandgardenssh, Guest Relations Manager at Island Garden Resort, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Susan,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, your comments are very much appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you found the staff at the hotel to be helpful and polite and that you enjoyed your meal at the BBQ A La Carte restaurant. Please also rest assured that we have passed on your kind comments regarding the hard work of the Animation Team to the Head of Animation, Shadow and his team of Animators.

We are however saddened to learn that you may not be staying with us again in the future. With reference your comments regarding the lack of food variety in the main restaurant, the main restaurant tries to provide an international menu for all of our Guests, and one of the ways in which we do this is to offer themed nights in the main restaurant offering a variation to the standard menu. In addition to this the hotel also has an Italian A La Carte restaurant and a BBQ Grill restaurant. Guests are offered one free visit to each restaurant per week as part of their all inclusive package, offering further variety of menus for our Guests.

We note your comments regarding the accommodation and that the rooms could do with a lick of paint. Please be advised the hotel has a renovation programme schedule for later this year and we hope that should you decide to visit us again you will find all rooms will have been refreshed and updated.

We are sorry to hear that the weather was not as expected during your stay. A lot of our activities and facilities are weather dependent however the hotel does offer a range of activities for periods of inclement weather. There is a Health Club at the hotel offering various treatments at affordable prices. The Gym at the Health Club is free for Guests. The Health Club is open from 0900 to 1900 hrs daily. Also available are Tennis courts (free of charge, but rackets must be hired for a small fee), Football, Table Tennis, Darts, Billiards Table also for a small fee and Beach Volleyball at our sister hotel Island View. There is a free shuttle bus from Island Garden to Island View for our Guests use, which runs every 15 mins. There is also a shuttle bus into Naama Bay from the hotel also for our Guests use. Evening entertainment is also available at the hotel and this is normally held outside but will be moved to inside of hotel during periods of inclement weather.

We do hope that you change your mind and decide to come and stay with us at Sunrise Island Garden again. Please do get in contact with us should you book again and we will try to accommodate any requests that you may have for your next stay with us.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you home to Sunrise Island Garden in the near future.

Best regards,
Angi
Guest Service Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Both me and my friend two young girls travelled to sharm, and onlyarrived back in england yesterday. The hotel was lovely, when we got into the reception i was like wow. The pool was beautiful to look at night, but when I woke up in the morning it was even better. The pool was always clean and the slides were always looked after when they were open. The staff were excellent and very very friendly. The animiation team do the hotel really proud and I had an excellent time with them. I joined in all the dances and the activities. There is a big range of activities on offer from darts and table tennis to water aerobics. The whole fun in the games was the forefits if you didnt win. You had to belly dance, Do a michael jackson dance but if you had your bikini/swim stuff on you would be dipped in the cold pool. this is all part of the fun and its all about having a laugh. I will definately miss the animiation time especially Miss Dasha and Miss Laura :D love you guys xxx
The food was rank tbh... Who has mash potato for breakfast and soup?
I just stuck to the omelettes and egg station along with cereals and I was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

LOVED my stay! staff are great and really helpful - do anything for you! rooms kept clean with everything fresh everyday, times wise whatever is convenient for you. Friendly and entertaining animators to keep the kids busy and give the adults a laugh too. good facilities for activities and great locations, walk away from beach and soho square! room overlooked the pool and pool bar, nice hotspot for sun - even from balcony. Overall a fabulous stay, really enjoyed it and will be going back next year!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.8 km away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#99 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.6 km away
Concorde El Salam Hotel
Concorde El Salam Hotel
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
0.7 km away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#39 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#65 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
1.8 km away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#104 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 km away
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
#52 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Garden Resort

Property: Island Garden Resort
Address: | Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#97 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,534 - ₹ 7,134
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable, relaxing "All-Inclusive" 4 star (country category) Resort with a centered pool lagoon is divided to various 2 floor buildings with tasteful decorated rooms offer you a relaxed atmosphere for a family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Island Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Island Garden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Sunrise Island Garden
Sunrise Island Garden Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing