We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, the staff could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort
Ranked #72 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were a family of 2 adults and 3 children. Stayed in a spacy apartment connected to this hotel, back in December 2007.
All over all, it was an ok stay, except for the following:
- the guest wc was not usable. It was smelly and moisted.
- it seemed like the pigeons were living right outside the ventilation shaft, caused a lot of birdshit nearby.
- the staff were nice, but they were troublelsome at our day of the departure, due to their urge to get to the tips: they phoned to the room at 8AM, 9AM to check if we have left. They didn't speek into the phone. At 0915AM, they guy showed up at the door and wanted to do an "inspection". The room sign "Do not disturbed" that I hang outside was removed. In the "inspection round", the guy found the envelope with the tips, and hestitantly put in the pocket, even we haven't left yet. What a rudeness! But I know they have to little salary, and wanted to have the hands on the tips first of everybody.
- Back home, I sent the manager and email. But of course it was no answer from them.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Solfaktor
3  Thank Nhasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExOffice, General Manager at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you very much for the time you spend to write your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort and the efforts you took to share your views with us.

For your kind information, your comments are of a great importance to us, only through it, we can aim to improve the level of services that our guests receive, and in today’s world this is essential.

I am sorry the hotel experience was not up to your satisfaction. Therefore I have discussed all your respective comments into details with our management team. Who I can assure you, has taken the necessary measures to ensure that those comments are rectified.

Please rest assured that we take such comments seriously and follow them through in every case. It is always our intention to create the best possible environment for our guests’ satisfaction whilst on vacation.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you once again at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort in the soonest future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Magdy Metwally
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,083)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,785 of 3,083 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Avoid this hotel and booking by Thomas Cook or you will just be wasting money. Please please do not book this hotel. If you do use Thomas Cook it then takes you another 5 months for them to acknowledge that there was an issue.

After paying extra for a pool view family room (we had our tweo grandchildren with us) we arrived to find that we had no room. It was re-sold to an extended stay. When we spoken to the Thomas Cook rep he just walked away saying that this happens all the time.

We were taken to another room and said that we could stay there until midnight!!!!!! when our room would be available. This was not good enough. My husband took the children to the pool (the whole purpose of booking and paying extra money for early flights, was that we would enjoy a swim on arrival). Whilst they were trying to enjoy a swom, I was taken to be shown what I can only describe as "unlettable accommodation". The hotel management expected us to accept one of these rooms. When I asked where the pool view was (which we had paid extra for) I was told I could leave the door open and see the pool through the end of the corridor! Had we arrived in Faulty Towers!!!!!!

After spending 2 hours looking at unaccepted rooms, we decided to have something to eat, giving the hotel, an hour to get the people our of our room.

Well, the restaurant was a joke. The food was totally unedible. Now was bear in mind that we have been to Egypt many times, at all different locations so we know what to expect at the price you pay. This was something else. Either the food was cooked and cold or it wasn't cooked at all. We thoughts things couldn't get any worse, but unfortunately the food got worse by the day. When speaking to the Thomas Cook rep - he admitted that all the complaints that he receives covers food.

We also found out at this stage that although it is supposed to be an all inclusive resort, you could only get wine with your main evening meal (if you could stomach the restaurant) otherwise it was beer or nothing.

We were eventually taken to our room at midnight, we unpacked and and said that we would try to put everything behind us and enjoy our holiday.

Unfortunately, every day something else happened. What with not being able to eat in the restaurant, to the main swimming pool tiles coming off and cutting our grandsons feet to the drunks around the pool, to the local children being able to use the pool as the local public toilets. Yes, thats right they even poohed in there, and when we informed the pool attendance he did nothing!!!!!!

When we arrived home we contacted Thomas Cook as we had reason to complain especially having to eat out most nights and find entertainment for the children (as the children's club was never open).

We were told that our complaint would be dealt with within the 28 days guidelines set out by ABTA. So we waited. Eventually we received a brush off letter and when we called them, they told us the file had been closed and we had to wait another 28 days for a reply. Well this has been going on now since September and only today 23rd February have we actually received a reply and some compensation. Although not what we wanted, we really have given up trying with Thomas Cook.

So please please please do not use this hotel and do not book via Thomas Cook. They only want your money and when you are at your resort they dont know how to handle a complaint or look after you, just when you are leaving and they want you to write a good report, as we were asked.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a pool view - this is a must or you will be miles away from the main hotel or even...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WhiteHorse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExOffice, General Manager at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you very much for the time you spend to write your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort and the efforts you took to share your views with us.

For your kind information, your comments are of a great importance to us, only through it, we can aim to improve the level of services that our guests receive, and in today’s world this is essential.

I am sorry the hotel experience was not up to your satisfaction. Therefore I have discussed all your respective comments into details with our management team. Who I can assure you, has taken the necessary measures to ensure that those comments are rectified.

Please rest assured that we take such comments seriously and follow them through in every case. It is always our intention to create the best possible environment for our guests’ satisfaction whilst on vacation.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you once again at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort in the soonest future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Magdy Metwally
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

every thing 1st class as usual, would not stay any were else, there is no better staff, every time i return nearly always same staff looking after us, good luck to all the staff at the Hilton. and a big thank you,
regards,
stan Madgin

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMaster6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExOffice, General Manager at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write this detailed piece of information, which gives an overview to our future guests and consequently help them choose our property.

It was really a pleasure having you with us and we are honoured to know that you are planning to give us the chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

It is the commitment from all the team to exert our utmost efforts to make your stays with us memorable and enjoyable.

Sincerely yours,

Magdy Metwally
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a fantastic 2 week stay at Hilton Dreams.
The staff (too many to mention) were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Our room was spacious and clean and overlooked one of the heated pools, we were in room 7112, and was not too far from the main reception, restaurant and bars. As stated in one other review, the management wander among the guests stopping for a chat and asking what could be improved upon and they are open to suggestions.
As a vegetarian i found the food options very limited, rice, pasta, pasta, rice. Breakfast was the best meal, eggs and omelettes made to order, meats, cheeses, salads, pasteries etc. Lunch was limited, rice, pasta, stew type dish, chicken, fish, vegs and salad bar, Dinner same as lunch but sometimes a roast meat was available. Dress code needs to be applied for the evening meal as some people were going for dinner in beach wear/track suits etc.Not the usual standard of a 5 star hotel! Wine was only served with a meal in the restaurant, not available from the bar area.
The beach is available through the sister hotel across the road, the beach is lovely but A/I is not available.
The grounds are very well kept and are a pleasure to walk through.
Overall this is a very, very nice hotel but not 5 star as we know it, but well worth a visit (or two)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank popcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExOffice, General Manager at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write this detailed piece of information, which gives an overview to our future guests and consequently help them choose our property.

It was really a pleasure having you with us and we are honoured to know that you are planning to give us the chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

It is the commitment from all the team to exert our utmost efforts to make your stays with us memorable and enjoyable.

Sincerely yours,

Magdy Metwally
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Sharm dreams During 12th - 19th February. We are a family of 4, 2 adults, 2 boys ( aged 6 and 2). I found the overall experience was very pleasant. On our arrival which was late at night the staff were very helpful, but our accommodation was not really suited for the 4 of us,. Although lovely and clean we needed something bigger with a separate bedroom rather than all of us in one room with double beds and a fold up bed,.i asked for an upgrade and they were happy to assist ( but there was a charge, not too expensive and i was happy to pay). Our next accommodation was a 2 bedroom ground floor villa with living and kitchen area and 3 bathrooms which was perfect for a family. ( room no 8043).
The rooms were clean and the person who is in charge of cleaning your rooms will introduce themselves to you and are always happy to assist. If you give them a tip they will go out of their way and decorate your rooms with flower petals and create great towel sculpters which the kids loved. The grounds of the hotel are kept spotless and again the staff are very friendly and happy to be of help. They have numerous pools dotted around the complex and of which 3 are heated pools which was perfect for the kids.

Almost all pools have a snack bar next to them, but the food on offer could be better.
The main reception and restaurant where they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner seems a little dated, could do with a makeover. My major dissapointment with the Hilton Sharm dreams was the food on offer, we were on a all inclusive basis and i was very surprised with the quality and variation on offer, the food was repetitive and bland. This was not 5 star standard ( 3 star at most). Maybe when the hotel is in full swing in the height of the holiday season then having the barbecue restauarnet on offer might give a little more quality and variety to the existing tired food on offer.

On the complex you will find a designated area which has 2 pool tables, i table tennis table and dart board etc. What is with these big 5 star rated hotels and the poor poor quality of the leisure facilities regarding the outside activities, the pool tables were torn and the balls were worn out, the table tennis bats were in poor condition and the lack of ping pong balls was frustrating. The dart baord was knackered and the actual darts were terrible. If you are offering guests activities like these then at least have decent facilities on offer. Massive let down.

In order to access the beach you have to leave the hotel and cross a major road and go into the Hilton's sister hotel the Hilton feyrouz in order to use the beach. The all inclusive does not include this hotel so any drinks have to be paid for.

The hotel is a short walk form Namma bay, which is worth a visit if you want the bars, shisha cafes and restaurants for a change of scenery.

I would recommend Soho Square which is right next to Savoy hotel which is an approx 10 min taxi ride from the hotel, its a lovely place with great restaurants, cafes, bars and the whole ambience is worth the visit. Always fix the price with the taxis drivers before you embark on your journey or use the hotel taxi service.

All in all a very pleasant holiday, great staff, great service, very nice grounds and pools, but the food on offer let it slip from being a 5 star.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilhami c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExOffice, General Manager at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you very much for the time you spend to write your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort and the efforts you took to share your views with us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.

Once again, I would like to thank you for the time spent to write to us and we really are looking forward to seeing and welcoming you back again to your second home.

Sincerely yours,

Magdy Metwally
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.6 km away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#62 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,140 reviews
1.3 km away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,227 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#16 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,417 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Sharm El Sheikh Fayrouz Resort
Hilton Sharm El Sheikh Fayrouz R...
#41 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,486 reviews
6.8 km away
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
#52 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort

Address: 210 Naama Bay | South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: ₹ 3,096 - ₹ 7,611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sharm Dreams Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sharm Dreams Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hilton Sharm El-Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing