We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pat H Wendy D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Ranked #78 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pat H Wendy D”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Had a fantastic time again at Sonesta was our 5th time.We were made so welcome by all the staff its as if we never leave and this is genuine. We have never had any problems love the food and find the all inclusive so good.
We tried the Casablanca and was really satisfied well worth a visit you have to give 24 hours notice.
We usually eat at the Dome its a lot quieter than the Citadel, but move over to the Citadel where the Shows are on at night. Saad and co, really work hard to look after you.
Went to the Ali Baba cafe this is worth a visit too.
We were really fed up with the constant annoyance of the staff from the Beauty salon they were coming round all the time it was worse this time and they wouldnt leave you alone, i am a beauty therapist and was really not impressed with the way they operated.
We booked a trip with the guys at the beach sinai by night, wasn't very impressed! We went on a mini bus and were waiting around for ages while they made pick ups and transfers onto another bus we hoped to do more of the stargazing that was the point of the trip but it only lasted 5 minutes . On the way back we passed the airport 3 times so we felt we should have booked through our tour rep instead so please beware we felt it was not worth the money,and was not organised well also the guide wanted £20 for a dvd when we said no dropped the price to £10 so we still didnt buy he was not happy.
Hope to return late May.

Room Tip: Higher floor over by Cactus pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,481
    851
    372
    135
    105
See reviews for
703
1,357
72
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have just returned from a 7 day all inclusive stay at this resort and have to say that I was very disappointed and will not return. Prior to this my friend and I were on a seven day Red Nile Cruise which was fabulous and most definitely enjoyable. On booking our holiday we were told that the Sonesta Beach was a 5* resort. With this in mind we were expecting the 5* complex as promised so was bitterly disappointed on arriving at our destination. It most definitely is not anywhere near a 5* -it's the Egyptian version of Butlins with bingo, kids clubs,quizzes and karaoke. There was limited evening entertainment - girls dancng and a guy playing the saxophone. We did discover that the adjacent Sonesta Royale Hotel was in fact the one we had seen on-line and was being advertised as our designated hotel - which is 5*. Although the Royale is a better class of accomodation all meals and activities were taken at the Sonesta Beach so the only difference was you had nicer surroundings in the Royale the rest of the package was the same so for me there wasn't anything different to be gained by sleeping in the Royale..
Neither my friend or I enjoyed our meals. The food was always cold, I had a large stick in one of my meals and then next day a substantial piece of sharp stone in my food. There were very long waits for drinks to be served. We had to go looking for cups,cutlery and plates and sometimes ended up setting our own table. Dirty dishes remained on tables for long periods of time and the staff seemed overworked and preoccupied. The longest wait for a bottle of water was 45mins.
On the plus side the grounds were beautiful. Very well kept and cared for. The swiming pool area was always clean and I found the guys on duty round the Cactus Pool always very friendly and most helpful. Yes there were hoards of people trying to sell their goods but thats the name of the game in Egypt and they do have to make a living so I didn't have any problem with their persistence. Bedrooms were basic but always kept nice and clean and nothing was too much trouble for the guy who cleaned it.
On chatting to people around the resort I found their experiences and feelings about Sonesta Beach to be along the same lines as my friend and I so I am a little unsure how this place gets it's 5* status. I didn't speak to one single person who said wow this is fabulous...???????? I won't be going back there - very disappointed.

Room Tip: Our groundfloor room was near the Cactus Pool and was nicely placed for peace and quiet. It was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaycee122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We (young at heart couple early 40’s) visited the Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino for a week’s all inclusive holiday in early March. The hotel sits on a strip of beach hotels on a coastal road about a 10 - 15 minute taxi ride from the airport.
We arrived at the Sonesta early evening and had a trouble free check in. Security appeared to be quite tight, and there was a Security guard posted at the entrance to the hotel. We had organised an upgrade, and this simply got us a bigger room and a plate of 4 apples, so really not worth the money. We were given towel cards, and these are treated like the crown jewels so whatever you do, don’t lose them!
The rooms are very basic, simply furnished, and a little tired in places….not 5* as one may know it. Our bathroom had some complimentary toiletries which were of a good standard and replenished daily. We also had bathrobes and a hairdryer in our bathroom – one of those old ones that sit on the wall. If blow drying is your thing, take your own. Our flat screen TV worked without a hitch and had some excellent channels. This is handy as it’s pretty much dark at 5pm, so watching a movie back at the room is a nice way to fill some time before dinner.
The plug sockets take standard European adaptors.
The resort itself is vast, with 6 or so pools, several bars and restaurants. Brits hang out at the cactus pool which is next to the better of the all inclusive restaurants and also has a book stand where you can swap English newspapers, books and magazines. The grounds are immaculate and are being maintained around the clock. The whole place was spotlessly clean, and generally the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The beach is, as other reviewers have alluded to, packed out like sardines. You can find a quieter spot if you go to the upper levels to the left of the main beach. The snorkelling is fabulous! The sand pretty much stops at the water’s edge, and then you are at the mercy of the rocks and reef so snorkelling shoes are a must. You can buy them in resort for about £10 sterling, or haggle up at the main shops and pick up a pair for about £6 depending on your skill and patience!
We found the food to be of a good standard – I’m not a fussy eater, but my partner is and even he said he enjoyed it. Three restaurants are open for all inclusive lunch and dinner. One of which – Casablanca – you have to book 24 hours in advance at reception for dinner. You could be on pretty much any kind of diet and find a good meal. Something for everyone. Lovely salads and soups, grilled meats and pasta dishes. An omelette station at breakfast as well as the usual stuff. We were told that the ice was safe and made from spring water, and neither of us suffered any ill effects.
Where the Sonesta lets itself down, is its reluctance to be real an all inclusive resort. This was my first visit to Egypt, so maybe all hotels there operate this way? But the Sonesta made being ‘all inclusive’ very difficult. So many rules for this and that. Certain bars/restaurants are open at certain times, some are pay bars and some are all inclusive. Some serve drinks but not food all inclusive. You are only allowed to drink wine when eating lunch or dinner, so that makes it hard if you are a wine drinker (white/rose and red all pretty drinkable). At breakfast one morning we were delighted when two glasses of freshly squeezed orange juice were presented at our table. Fifteen minutes later we were presented with a bill for £7 sterling. It’s really sneaky stuff, and not very conducive to happy campersl!
There is also the added annoyance of the constant hard sell. Therapy’s, beauty treatments, trips etc. This is by the hotel’s own staff, not outsiders!! On day one they can tell the fresh meat a mile off and really give it the hard sell. They have their sales banter perfected to a fine art and you will often hear them call themselves ‘Dave the Rave’ or ‘Diamond Geezer’ to get you laughing and on-side. These guys walk around the hotel grounds, pools and beach all day long pestering you to buy something and have very thick skins!
One thing to note, is that if you don’t intend to go on trips or excursions, you can save yourself the visa tax at the airport – which I think is about £15.
The evening entertainment is pretty poor and sporadic. Outside of the hotel, the 15 minute walk along the beach promenade takes you passed other hotels and bars/restaurants to the main town. There are lots of shops bars and restaurants. McDonalds, Pizza Hut, KFC, Hard Rock Cafe are all there too. We liked the Camel Bar – on several levels, two roof top bars and one bar showing all of the latest UK football matches. Most bars were showing the premiership matches including Brit bar The Tavern. The shops mostly sell souvenirs and fake designer goods, none of which are priced and you must haggle. Prepare to be harassed.
Check out time is midday, and you can extend your room until 6pm for an extra £25 sterling or so. We asked for a courtesy room and were given half an hour for both of us to shower and get ready. Our courtesy room flooded, and we were still pestered to leave the room after half an hour despite the room having to be drained and cleaned.
All things considered we wouldn’t go back to the Sonesta, but we did have a nice holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanforbsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear vanforbsie

Thank you for this very detailed review , it is always a pleasure to see guests commenting with full details , we will take into consideration your negative comments and let me say that for the all inclusive formula , you can find a letter when you check in mentioning what are the restaurants included and excluded from the all inclusive in order to avoid confusing our guests , again sorry for any inconvenience you faced and hope to give us one more chance to host you at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We returned from our holiday 2 weeks ago, I had a fall on the first night of the holiday which resulted in me being admitted to south sinai hospital, I stayed there for 4 days after a operation to my leg, I spent my birthday there, We soon made up for the lost time and although I couldnt walk far or go swimming or even have alcohol, the staff at Sonesta were fantastic, I must mention Islam, Fayez, Emad, Saad, Rashid, Ibrihim, Sawort, and many more that were so helpful, This was our 5th visit, it hasnt put me off and we will be returning later for our honeymoon, This is paradise on earth, I wouldnt want to go anywhere else. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food is excellent, and the staff were brilliant, I cant thank them enough, we are looking forward to our next visit, well done Sonesta for ticking all the box's.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillysomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear GillyWarwickshire

We are so sorry for your accident , we hope you feel much better now, we are so proud of our staff contributed in making your vacation unforgettable , waiting to host you again for your honeymoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Arriving at reception at 2am, greeted with a drink and a smile, to be told we were being given a large room at the quieter cactus pool in the preferred area was a great start. It's a 10 min walk almost from reception but we were in the farthest block from reception. Lovely pools, 3 with bars with plenty of choice of drinks and cocktails available in the all inclusive. Meals are buffet style and have plenty choice, with 2 restaurants, 1 near reception and 1 at the back of resort near the cactus pool area. The beach was smallish and fairly crammed with large fixed umbrellas making it fairly hard to stay in the sun at times. Plenty of loungers away from the front of the beach though and up on the raised rocky bit at the side. Staff on beach and in the hotel are all friendly, they all smile at you, please at least return the favour and they will look after you like royalty. Naama bay is amazing, just be careful of the guys who want u to go with them to their new store to just give u a business card as once you're there, they will try and make u buy stuff, and I have heard of some who will block the door out till you spend your money. I've always been ok but am strong willed. I always smile and just say no thank you and they have always been nothing but polite back. Go and have a ball. We've been to Egypt 5 times now, and would I go back to sonesta again........most certainly yes'!!! That's the best recommendation I can give it. Go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvin500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.6 km away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#116 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,365 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#83 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
600 reviews
0.5 km away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#16 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#80 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
392 reviews
0.5 km away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#55 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,089 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#33 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Property: Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,943 - ₹ 7,255
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino Sharm El Sheikh, stretching across the sands of Naama Bay, overlooks the Red Sea and South Sinai desert and mountains. The resort's traditional Arabic domes and archways form a village-style ambiance. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, and seven swimming pools for relaxing laps in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing