We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Sharm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #69 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First trip to Sharm”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I booked an all inclusive 7day trip at the Grand Hotel in Sharm el Sheikh in March as my first trip to Egypt. I've also never done all inclusive before. The hotel is excellent, very well run, very clean very well kept grounds and pool areas. Many reviewers find fault but remember this 5 star in Egypt, on the edge of a dessert, a very poor area. ALL the staff were friendly and speak good english. No need to tip all the time they try hard to please. Everything in the hotel is well organised and I found them very efficient. The all inclusive is a very good deal. Yes its all local beers and spirits but its all perfectly acceptable. If you want John Smiths bitter and Gordons Gin don't leave the UK!
The best rooms are the junior suites as they overlook the sea, upper floor is best. The a la carte restaurants are ok-to- very good. Some of the inclusive dishes are superb. Fusion restaurant is best value. Don't buy anything in the hotel like postcards or beauty treatments or the hotel shops as they are expensive. The area outside the hotel is scruffy and shabby but with only a small amount of hassle from the locals you can walk to some shops and a bigger shopping centre 10 mins away. Snorkeling is great and trips to the dessert fun but very touristy. The only drawback I could see staying at the Grand Hotel is that is has no beach, just steps into the sea but that didn't bother me and with 8 lovely pools to sit around I didn't miss it. The pools look lovely but are colder than the sea! To sum up; Good rooms, good service, good food and very good value. Would I go back? yes for sure and I'd recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing break in the sun.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 13steve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,728
    1,126
    469
    214
    109
See reviews for
887
2,315
99
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I had a really great time at this hotel. food was generally good, particually the beach and the cliff and the staff were great and couldn't be more helpful. We had a nice room with a sea view. The coral reef is fantastic and it is a good snorkling spot.

The only negatives were ....well....some of the other guests weren't that friendly. They seemed to have 5 star fever and there wasn't much in the way of smiling or chatting. So if you want to meet people and you don't speak German it might not be the best place, but if yopu are happy to have a nice couples holiday I'ts a great place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GingergirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday with us on this site, and we are pleased to read that you had a ‘Nice Holiday’ taking into account our guests valuable feedback and constructive criticism, which helps us to identify areas to prioritize our focus on. We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

visited the grand hotel in sharm on recomendation from travel agent as he had been there.

we payed extra for a junior suite which ment we had a nice sitting area as well as the sleeping area.the view over the pool and sea was nice to wake up to.the hotel is spaced out over a large area with lots of steps .the all inclusive package is very good with lots of choice of eating places and food is good we used the sharm restaurant for brekfast and dinner good choice of food .we also booked the mumbai indian restaurant where you have to pay for drinks and there is only set menu in the all inclusive package but you can order and pay what you want the food was very good .the terrace bar is very good service they kept the drinks topped up you had to say when you have had enoughor they keep bringing them you..the choice of pools is good but did not use them as we prefer the beach .the only small complaint is there is no tea and coffe in the room without paying for it .otherwise a very good hotel and we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade to a junior suite bigger room witha good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve01Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed there for a week in September and we really enjoyed every bit of it. We are usually not the all-inclusive travellers but since we went diving on three of the days and since we visited the market in Sharm we didn't have an all-inclusive-overdose. Staff was very friendly, the whole area was clean, the reef was nice, the restaurants were good (we tried almost all of them but really liked the Indian) and we can totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Firstly, I have briefly read the terrible review section and i am utterly shocked. Let me make this clear. This hotel is FANTASTIC. We have just come home two days ago. We went for one week and ended up extending the trip for a further week as we were enjoying the trip so much.

The staff cannot do enough for you. We found them fantastic, well mannered and hard working. Drink service at the pool and in the bar on a night is 100%. Our favorite staff were: Sowby (pool boy), Tarek (grill bar), Nasser Mohamed (fusion). But they were all fantastic.

Food - brilliant, our favorite restaurant was fusion, the Indian was also one of our best. You have so much choice it's great.

Poor reviews: when I read these just a moment ago i was In disbelief, it really is a joke. If you read these you can actually tell what a bunch of moaning losers they actually are. These things they moan about it actually states on the spec when booking. But people still carry on Moaning about steps, walking up to reception twice and having no energy (have you heard yourselves?), having bad knees. "Well loose some weight you bunch of lard tanks"!!!! it's not the hotels fault you weigh so much

I have traveled all over the world and this holiday was one of my best and great value for money

We will be returning in October/November 2012 and can't wait

You must give it a try

Fiona & Ben

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.2 km away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#56 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,302 reviews
0.3 km away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#94 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
731 reviews
0.5 km away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#79 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#38 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,338 reviews
13.1 km away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#88 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,488 reviews
6.3 km away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#83 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,326 - ₹ 7,429
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing