We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Helnan Nuweiba Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 33
US$ 32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 52
US$ 35
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Nakhil Inn(Nuweiba)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
23
21
7
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
21
7
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbungalow styleset menuroom servicefishyour feetricerelaxationcairobeachseamountainsparadise
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were there in july 2010 and it was beautiful. Unfortunately there were only 10-12 guests becuase of the uproars in Cairo... For us it was great, we had the pool for ourselves, but seeing 20 employees runing up and down only for us was a little bit embarassing! Part of the resort was already renovated and our room was really modern, clean and the stuff more than nice! The location is breathtaking and one can also get easily to Israel or Jordan (Petra)!
We enjoyed it very much and we also recommend it for those who want to take a break from the daily stress!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AliDaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Just stayed at the Helnan Nuweiba Bay Resort and it was fairly good. It really depends on your expectations; it doesn't match upscale beach resorts of Hawaii or Mexico, but is fine for a mid-range sort of place. The beach is fairly nice, the coral offshore is good for snorkeling, and there are good restaurants a couple hundred meters away if you don't want to pay for the fairly expensive buffet meals at the resort. The bar on the beach does serve reasonable pizzas ($4) if you just want to stay on site. The pool is attractive but not heated, and was much too cold for a dip when we were there in January. I wouldn't recommend staying at Helnan too long unless you want lots of quiet time.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mebiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We booked a stay at the Helnan Nuweiba for 5 nights. The hotel is rated as a 4 start hotel, but it is hard to understand why. The staff seemed to be valiantly making an effort, but the entire infrastructure is very run down. There are "ghost" remains of previous attractions: an abandoned and blocked up "disco" on the beach, the remains of what looked like a beach bar, a wharf for boats with some dangerously loose floor boards and a rusty railing, sidewalks with missing or broken tiles throughout the complex, gardens very straggly, threadbare towels at the pool, etc. The agent neglected to inform us (or maybe did not know) that while we were there, major renovations were being done on many of the rooms, some of them just bordering our room, including breaking down walls, re-roofing, and so on. In fact. we had the dubious pleasure of being woken from a mid afternoon nap by an an alarming noise when a huge wheelbarrow full of new roof tiles tipped as it got caught on one of the many loose tile in the sidewalk, and with a huge crash hundreds of tiles were broken...
The rooms themselves were satisfactory, although the toilet had a small and steady leak and the shower had very little water pressure. The mattresses were a bit hard but bearable. We had clean sheets and the rooms were cleaned each day.The airconditioning was good. There are TVs in the room , but we didn't come for that.The rooms were equipped with mini refridgerators which was very welcome.
The food was fair, but repetitive. Breakfast was the better meal, with fresh bread and a chef on hand to make eggs or blintzes to order.Coffee was terrible as was the synthetic juice. Every evening the dinner options were the same. Sometimes we got served leftovers from the evening the next day for breakfast.
It was possible to order light meals from the bar near the beach, which were quite tasty: pizza, chicken/tuna sandwiches, fresh juices etc. It was also possible to order local Arab coffee which was great.
The hotel is walking distance from the "town" and a number of stores, however I would not advise it - there are mounds of trash, goat turds, etc. lining the streets. We just made a brief trip to stock up on water & drinks (4 egyptian pounds per bottle as opposed to 10 at the hotel)
A better option is to take an inexpensive Bedouin taxi, and eat at one of the many beach side restaurants in nearby Tarabin (5-10 minutes drive). We enjoyed a tasy and inexpesniove meal of fresh fish, fresh tehina, pita, salad, etc. at the Mondial restaurant right on the water.
The pool was very nice - small but clean, and we had it to oursekves most of the time. Also a nice kiddy pool that was enjoyed by our 4 year old.
Our teenagers also enjoyed some of the other facilities such as tennis, pinpong, pool, gym, altho each of these invloved an additional fee.
The service in general was quite good, although be forewarned that in case of emergency the hotel is not to be depended on. We were witness to two cases while we were there of guests that were injured (one man cut his foot open deepely on the corals in the sea, and in another case a small child hurt himself in the pool and needed stiches) In each case the people in the hotel lobby were indifferent and offered no help at all - the parents of the child rushed him to the hospital in Eilat, Israel, whereas in the second case, I was able to help the man who had been cut using the first aid kit I had brought with me. The hotel did not even have iodine or a bandaid.
The hotel brags that they have a nice reef for snorkeling however the water seemed to be full of debris (plastic bags, etc.)and quite choppy, also a huge group of lionfish that frequent the water near the shore intimidated us from going in. The beach itself was lovely and sandy, with wonderful crab life. The staff made an effort to rake the beach each morning.
Night life was not very exciting - there was a DJ who played the same CD with hits from the 80's every night, no one seemd to get "into it" except our daughter.
In general, things were very quiet and relaxing and we had time to finish several books. We saw some incredible sunrises and sunsets.
The price was very cheap - so despite the drawbacks, we did enjoy ourselves.
My advice woould be to come equipped with low expectations, a well stocked first aid kit, and a pile of reading matter.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_ima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were here for 3 nights as part of an Exodus Tours family holiday ( Sinai Adventure ) .
The hotel is now called Helnan Nuweiba Bay Resort and bares little resemblance to the reviews listed here .
It appears rather more as a hotel which is virtually closed and abandoned . There is a skeleton crew of staff . Rooms are in a poor state of repair . The beach bar , watersports centre and disco lie derelict and shut up. There is in fact no bar, only a fridge on the terrace containing soft drinks and beer . No evening entertainment .
Food was made as a buffet for the 20 or so residents . Not very hot or appetising but no-one in our group was ill .
On the plus side, we had all the beach and pool chairs to ourselves . Very quiet . It was fine for us on a low budget backpacking type trip but lower expectations are certainly required.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Nice and lovely resort.

i was staying in nuweiba village resort last month march 2008.
The resort is one of the most lovely places i have ever visited.
We been a group of 25 rooms and we had a nice and quick check in by professional staff.
The management in the resort are always happy and ready to do any any special arrangements to the guests.
The food is lovely and tasty, also a large variety of drinks we had there.
I recommend this resort for any one looks for nice vacation in a quiet place, and also enjoy the international musics by their DJ and animation team.
The rooms are very nice and large.
To easy book there you can send e-mail to:-
res@nuweibavillageresort.com

Divers Group.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank LovelyGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews