We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Active and bright”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The best thing - is animation.
Joga, aqua-aerobics, aerobics, salsa, basketball and so on.
Nice beach, nice open restorant, nice food.
Definetely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your kind and positive comments-we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality-Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 629 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here during the 1st 2 weeks of April this year. The hotel was excellent, the rooms were cleaned daily with bedding and towels changed daily, the grounds and other facilities were well maintained. The swimming pools were both very clean, the staff were outstanding and we would like to thank Mike (general manager, Mahmood and Hossan (poolside staff), Mohamed (resturant staff) who were all exceptional, Mike appeaered to be on duty all hours and was available to discuss any problems and to say hello and to make sure we were ok. The food in general was very good and a decent meal could be had both in the general resturant and in the Al a carte resturants (the Italian was especially good and a visit is recommended). Having read some of the previous reviews we were worried about the Russian guests, but if you want a giggle and a conversation topic just sit back and watch some of them and the way they behave, having said that there were some nice and pleasant Russians there as well. Recommended trips are camel riding and the Quad safari are good as my wifw will testify.
Over all we would recommend this hotel to any one and thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable, the only downside we can moan about is that we had to come home

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your very kind and positive review following your stay at Tia Heights. It was a pleasure to welcome you here and hope you will return to us again in the future. I will certainly pass your kind words on to Mahmoud, Hassan in the pool area and Mohamed in the Restaurant- we are proud to have them as part of our team, as they like many of our other colleagues do an excellent job year round! I am delighted you enjoyed the Italian Restaurant- its one of my personal favourites especially the Seafood Pizza which is every bit as good as any you would buy in Italy!

Once again, sincere thanks to you for taking the time to write about your vacation.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality-Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My 13 year old son and I had a wonderful stay at this charming hotel. We stayed for 11 nights and wished we could have stayed a lot longer!
Tia Heights is an international hotel and caters for all nationalities. The food was very good and every evening we both ate a tasty meal. Breakfast is a sumptious banquet with so much to choose from, a tip would be to try the omelettes as they are delicious.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the service is excellent.
Our Dune room was very large and comfortable with a stunning view. Clean bedding and towels every day and the beds were very comfy.
The pool area is fantastic and all the staff there were very helpful and everyday Mahmood would lay the towels on our sun beds for us! The pool is huge, and very refreshing after the Egyptian sun.
We would both recommend going to the Aqua Park as this is great fun and very well maintained. There are a lot of life guards there keeping an eye at all times yet are still good fun and helpful.
On our first day quite a few sales reps around the pool approached us to ask if we would be interested in their trips/spa etc. A polite no and they leave you alone, however, if you do choose to buy one of their offers you are guanteed a fantastic day. The spa is just wonderful and so nice to be spoilt.
We can both highly recommend the Quad Bike safari in the desert, it was so exhilirating and exciting and we saw the sunset which was beautiful.
'Mr Michael' the general manager, is an absolute star! He always seems to be on duty yet always has time to speak to everyone. He offers support and help where ever this is needed and all in all he is an assest to Tia Heights.
I would like to give special thanks to 'Mr Michael', Mahmood and Mohamed from the safari desk for helping to make our holiday so special as all three gentlemen went out of their ways to offer us such kindness.
Looking forward to our next trip to this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Hello Lucy - sincere thanks for your kind and positive review. We are delighted you both had a fabulous holiday at Tia Heights, We appreciate what you have written and I will pass your positive feedback on to the staff concerned.

I hope it will not be too long before your return again but in the meantime, send you our kind and sincere regards.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality-Maitre Hotellier (Chaine Des Rotisseurs)
General Manager
Tia Heights Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Been to Soma Bay last year and was keen to return to the area as had a fantastic time last year. However, on arrival i was open minded as always, but was disappointed that the rooms (dune) were quite a treck from the beach and main activity area. they are close to the main lobby, which is pretty average , restaurant, one bar, few pool tables upstairs, and a couple of shops. I saw that they are also the cheapest rooms $10 a night.

The entertainment as in all of egypt is i feel not aimed towards English, but to be fair we are the minority anyway so i dont mind that.Kids starts about 8pm and is finished by 8-15.....then adults starts about 10pm but never saw that as too late for my young children.

Food is as i was told by the manager " International Food on a budget". Which is very much Carb loaded, rice , pasta, veg,chicken,beef and fish.

Chips are available from 4 pm till 6pm. There is only one restaurant as all the others are not inclusive. Swimming pools were lovely ( which i feel is why it maybe 5 * i feel 3*) altho did have a few encounters with a russian by the kids pool due to him being very drunk.

Staff will do anything for you which i love, most always smile and seem happy .

Aqua park over road but again will cost you $20 a day adult $10 a day kids.Try and make sure it is part of ur package when booking as all the russians seem to get the blue band for it but we were given yellow ones.
Hotel ran out of money on more than one occassion so dont bother with travellers cheques.

Staff in kids club were by far the BEST there although they are being moved on so the hotel can bring in there own entertainers which is a shame.

Would i return .....i never return to the same place twice due to the fact i feel there is to much to see in the world but im afraid i would probably give this place a wide berth.

It appears depending on the time of year you stay depends on the quality of facilities and condements available for example the beginning of my stay bottles of heinz tomato ketchup were available mid holiday they are swapped for sachets of watery sauce whch was tasteless and cheap, also hot chocolate from the kenco machines is depending on wether they feel like allowing you to have it that day or not.

Drinks are not self serve and you are limited in the restaurant to how much chicken you can eat as the chef like to dictate which piece of meat you will eat rather then what takes your fancy

The restaurant is like a market noisey and rushed and sometimes feels likes you havent finished your drink and there clearing away your cups and plates and expecting you to move on eating is more a necessity here rather then a pleasure

Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh linen and towels no kettle or plug but if you ask you get here is the key !!

At the pools by the beach, the staff are friendly guys who will always find you a bed and help you get settled however dont forget everything you need as the dune roms are situated so far away if you forget your camera you will be gone a minimum of 20 minutes retrievining it, although the walk back is through beautifully kept gardens can become tiresome on the calf muscles as the terrain is rough and has stairs

Special mention to Olga from the kids mini club who just has a fantastic way with all the kids but sadly her contract ends in may and will be moving on but if you see her in the interim your kids will love her as ours did

all in all you pay for what you get..nothing special just an opportunity to see the sun. in surroundings that are pleasant but nothing with the wow factor, you could pretty much be anywhere in the world as you do not get the feel you are in egypt from this hotel. not somewhere i would recommend to friends and family but just an ok holiday for your typical english family. Think it lacked in variation food wise and lacked in entertainment but if all you want to do is sunbathe eat some ok food and drink you will be fine just dont set your expectations to high, the saying is true you pay for what you get !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Naturally we are sad to receive a negative review such as this reviewer has posted. Thankfully, they are few and far between, but I can re-assure anyone reading this review/response that I personally take great pains to analyse what has been written in reviews and endeavour to respond on a point by point basis where possible and of course remedy any problems in house.

On this particular review, I cannot agre with several of the points raised and therefore, I think it fairer to respond to the guest direct rather than on this site! As you can see by looking at other recent reviews, we have received several highly positive reviews from guests who stayed at the same time as this gentleman and they certainly paint a very different picture of their stay at Tia Heights!

Therefore, If anyone reading this review or my response has any concerns or queries regarding a future stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me at m.booker@tiaheights.com

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Member of the Institute of Hospitality - Maitre Hotellier -Chaine Des Rotisseurs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It was my first stay with Tia Heights and the enjoyable one. Spent a fortnight there in April-May 2011. Everything was splendid (we had a room in the main building), the staff very friendly, though some waiters were a little bit annoying, but this is a general problem in Egypt. Yes, a lot "was geared for Russians", and I appreciate very much the efforts of the staff and of the management to meet the needs of the guests and to please everyone. As for the comments on "unfriendly and not smiling Russians" ... I'd like to ask some arrogant guests: "Have you ever thought that only some of them speak fluent English and feel ill at ease and shy because they are unable to reply? Can you speak at least some Russian? if not, why do you expect all nationalities to speak English?" Back to the merits of Tia Heights, there’s no other hotel in Makadi having such a big and fantastic garden. I really enjoyed the splendid territory and the beach, though sometimes we were annoyed by strong petrol smell and even the petrol film on the water surface, coming from numerous boats of the neighbor hotels. It would be great if those boats were kept at a certain distance from the beach. The restaurant is very good, but I would suggest to change (upgrade) the tablecloth and the napkins to correspond to the very high standards of the hotel in general (especially in the terrace). Thank you very much for the wonderful stay, and I do believe the hotel can claim the highest rating among the other hotels of Makadi.

Room Tip: the rooms in the main building and in Dunes are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaLazareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael1953, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review.It is nice to see a review from one of our Russian guests!

Y ou are quite right, I think the shyness of some Russian guests and their inability to speak English fluently, could be a factor in people thinking they are unfriendly, but as I said in several posts previously, there are both friendly and not so friendly from many different countries, so we have to be fair and honest about this! You are quite right also that only a minority of other nationalities speak Russian and this could account for some mis-understandings too.

As for the smell of petrol you mentioned, I can confirm that this does not often happen, as we monitor the boats who tie up at the marina. Occasionally, an odd craft might discharge oil (hence the smell and some oil residue floating) but this is by accident and is quickly dealt with by our environment protection and safety teams, as we place great emphasis on marine life protection and care of our surroundings.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope one day,you will return again and stay with us at Tia Heights.

Sincerely

Michael D Booker
Maitre Hotellier-(Chaine Des Rotisseurs)- Member of the Institute of Hospitality
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
2.3 km away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
0.5 km away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.5 km away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
3.7 km away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#22 of 30 in Makadi Bay
947 reviews
3.1 km away
Serenity Fun City
Serenity Fun City
#11 of 30 in Makadi Bay
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Heights Makadi Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi Bay

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 84515, Egypt (Formerly Le Meridien Makadi Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#23 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: ₹ 2,146 - ₹ 8,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tia Heights Makadi Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 1468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts an international standard Aqua Park, a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing