We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average budget hotel with some glitches”
Review of Golden Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Rose Hotel
Ranked #152 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had some contradictory feelings while we stayed in Golden Rose. We think it is easiest to start from the negative feedback.

When we arrived they informed us that we have to pay 100 USD extra even we had booking recipient which said that there shouldn’t be extra costs. This extra cost was Christmas and New Year’s Eve dinner which was mandatory to every customer. We paid it but we think it really shouldn’t be customer’s problem if hotel can’t keep their prices updated in online services.

They said that they accept credit cards and they even had Visa and MasterCard stickers in their front door. Well, they didn’t accept and that made even more extra costs for us because we had to withdraw the money from ATM. Almost every time we used Egyptian pounds they didn’t have proper change. Bigger amounts were in US dollars and if we paid using Egyptian pounds the exchange rate was poor - more extra costs.

They say they have mini-bar in room but it was empty. We never got free drinks they promised and it was not allowed to take any food or drinks to room from outside – they don’t tell this on web page. They stated that it is not allowed because they have everything we need. They didn’t. Actually the range of drinks and food was quite poor and expensive.

Promised Internet access in lobby was extremely slow and many times it didn’t work at all. It is OK for checking emails but that is pretty much it. We decided to take own prepaid SIM and it was faster than the connection in lobby. Sound insulation in room was poor. Most of the time it was quiet but there were some nights when people were yelling in lobby and staff didn’t do anything about it.

Like I said it wasn’t all negative. Rooms are huge and the price is one of the cheapest. Cleaning service worked and the staff was helpful and happy though some of them weren’t so customer-oriented – maybe because of the language barrier? Female travelers can expect to get special attention from male workers. Just ignore those slimy (but polite) gestures, they’ll leave you alone.

Breakfast was good enough: pancakes (!), eggs, yogurt, bread, coffee etc. They even made extra breakfast for us when we went to diving safari at 5 AM – and we didn’t ask for it. Christmas and New Years Eve dinner was very good and well organized.

The location is perfect. It is only 200-300 meters from the beach and Sheraton Road but it is still quiet. There are many good restaurants and travel agencies just few blocks away. Yard next to hotel is dirty and there are many construction yards around but we think that is the case with every hotel next to Sheraton.

All in all Golden Rose is decent little budget hotel if all you need is a place to sleep and rest. There are some annoying little glitches but if you can handle them the place is just fine. Just prepare yourself to pay some hidden surprise costs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

We arrived here at the end of a 2 week tour around Egypt and of all the similarly priced places we stayed in, this was by far the best. It's a family run hotel and has an almost homely feel about it. It's in a quiet street, tucked out of the way of traffic, but close enough to walk to restaurants and bars in the nearby marina.

The room we had was huge, the beds were comfy, clean and the showers were usually hot. The staff at this place are really down to earth, relaxed, friendly and helpful. It's a very short walk to the beach and there's also a lovely pool nearby that guests can use free of charge. An adequate buffet breakfast was served on the roof terrace that overlooks the sea.

We were staying here over New Year and so joined in with the hotel's entertainment. We were a bit sceptical initally about doing this, as we prefer to be independent and we were a bit annoyed that we hadn't been told in advance of the New Year charge. However, we decided to go with the flow of it and the evening was pretty well put together with dinner, dancing and entry to a beautiful club that opened out onto the beach. It ended up being a delightful and thoroughly memorable New Year's Eve.

If you're expecting 5 star frills, then you'll need to pay considerably more and go elsewhere. In short, this place is an absolutely great choice for budget travel and was a perfect little oasis for us to chill out in at the end of an action packed tour round the country.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheLeedsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The location was OK. Near sea/beach and near hurghada sea port and street markets. The sorrundings were shabby. Plenty of garbage in the street under our window. And building activities going on. (The picture is the absolute best view you get of the hotel).The room was fairly clean but on top of a cubbard we found a needle and an emty packet of condoms. Wonder when it had been cleaned there. We were bothered by mosquitos because the room was nearby trees/plants. The personell were friendly but we got wrong change from the lady at the desk once (90 EGP too litle), and this destroyed the impression very much. But all in all we had a quite pleasant stay, desent breakfast, and OK service. The rooms were large, if not very clean. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lotus143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Location is very good. Near to red sea and shopping, only 200m.

Staff is very helpfull and friendly, and they want that you can enjoy your time that you spend there. You can booked snorklingtrip at the hote, and it is very low cost and very nice.

There is good little breakfast and low cost buffet.

If you need ANY help, staff can help you. They speaks good english. You can also get very good friends of them.

Rooms are nice and quiet, no bugs!
We recommed this hotel. It is not like 5 a stars hotel, but still as bright as star because of staff, nice rooms and location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ciora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

As a destination we didn't actually like Hurghada very much. However if you do find yourself there then the Golden Rose is a perfectly good budget option. Clean rooms with air con, fridge and satellite TV. Price includes a buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaverman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.8 km away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#174 of 222 in Hurghada
816 reviews
4.7 km away
Empire Inn
Empire Inn
#191 of 222 in Hurghada
134 reviews
3.1 km away
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
#103 of 222 in Hurghada
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Luxor Hotel Hurghada
Luxor Hotel Hurghada
#131 of 222 in Hurghada
36 reviews
9 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,655 reviews
2.7 km away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rose Hotel

Address: Sheraton Road, Hurghada 61111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Price Range: ₹ 1,210 - ₹ 4,904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing