We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break after Nile Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing break after Nile Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

After 4 hour limo transfer across Sahara from Nile to Hurghada, We went to reception & were told to go have dinner, then had to wait in reception ''to be called'' to be allocated room!! Well...what a surprise....in the restaurant....soooooo many people milling about, chlidren every where...after the fine dining on the Alahambra (Nile Cruise) this took us back and at first I thought ''what have we let ourselves into''.....actually...we mellowed into the surroundings after a few days, got into the routine and found it was not so bad after all.
Room was ok, of good size, a bit tired but adequate. Glad we took extra hangers. safe & fridge in room very handy.
Hotel was lovely, staff, in the main, very friendly, pool bar staff had an attitude!!
I had one problem..... liking a glass of Red wine occasionally, only to be served something that resembled rasberry juice!! definitely watered down,,,and often not available..all gone!! I raised this with our rep, who reported it to reception..within minutes both the assistant manager & the catering manager came over, apologised most profusely, promised to rectifiy the problem, such that we had a bottle of wine & fruit in our room and we never had a problem at any of the bars again. In fact both managers took time to enquire on several occasions if all was ok. sorry..rant over...
The resort is very close to beach, set in lovely, well kept grounds. We spent several evenings dining in the Al la carte restaurants, much nicer, especially the Asian, by far the best, as it was our 35th wedding anniversary, we were spoilt, even had a cake and they sung happy birthday to us :D
Part of the AI package was a Scuba diving lesson in the pool, we have had this option before but never bothered to take it up, this time we did, it went so well we booked to diving the very next day. Arrived at 8.30am got scuba gear, walked to boat and off we went. Arrived at coral reef and got ready. It was absolutely amazing..we have snorkelled at Sharm before but this was a very different experience, all recorded on dvd too, which we have bought. Will definitely be diving again.
We occasionally walked across from the hotel to the shopping mall, out of hotel to main road, went right a bit further up and round the back of shops opposite.One evening, we bartered with hotel taxi man and got taxi to marina which was a plesant evening out.
Wonderful holiday, one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leslSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Your opinion is very important for us as gives us opportunity to improve ourselves. We are very happy that you choose SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa for celebration your wedding anniversary and we do hope it will become good tradition to come to us to celebrate it regular. You and your family is always welcome in our resort and all our team is ready to make your next stay memorable for years.

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,095
    443
    149
    73
    43
See reviews for
1,439
679
92
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Fantastic hotel and the staff are amazing. How everyone can be in such good spirits everyday is also amazing considering how hard they work. Egyptians really are the loveliest people.
The food was ok in the main restaurant although a bit of a cattle market with so many people in there but I would recommend booking the 4 available restaurants on site as they are much quieter and the food is better.( and you can book them as much as you want) My favourite was the Mexican although we didn't get to try the Asian as we thought that would be Indian food but it was actually Chinese. The Oriental is more Mediterranean. Again the staff are so welcoming in all the restaurants.

I do have to say that there were 4 of us in our party and we all got upset stomachs on varying degrees. This prevented us from doing any excursions as at least one of us had to be within running distance of a loo!!! ( The day we left I noticed hand sanitizers had been put outside the main restaurant so I guess it wasn't just us!)

The beach really is on your doorstep and it is great and plenty of sunbeds for everyone so you will always find one and a member of staff is about to help you move them if you need too, the sea is warmer than the pools.

Also there are 2 brilliant artist on site who do the most incredible portraits for only £20. I had a photo on my phone of our dog and we were so pleased with it,the likeness from such a poor photo I provided, just proves how talented they are. So if you have a good photo of a loved one , take it and get a portrait done, you will not be disappointed.

If I had to be really picky, the only thing I think could be improved on is the hairdryer, so take your own. Also the beds are as hard as rocks!

I would definitely go back, so please book and enjoy a fantastic holiday. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jillee1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. It's really very important for us to know that you spent you holidays nice.
Kindly be informed that we have regular hygiene checks by Crystal company which are always with high scores. We want that all our guests feel comfortable and safe in our resort that's why it's very important issue for us.
As you noticed we have sanitizers at the entrances of the Main restaurant.
Thank you very much for your good comments about our services. The Heads of the following departments will be informed.
You and your family is always welcome in SUNRISE Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa as it's your second home in Egypt.

With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

alll in all an excellent holiday. friendly staff lovely rooms and food agreeable but care needed as to what to eat. Unless you have as one of our party did, your own chef ! Could not of been made more welcome though. Pool facilities all 4 of them are superb as is the italian restaurant on site.The asian and oriental restuarants provide a standard fayre and by far the italian was the better of the 3. The victoria bar was where i spent most of my evenings and there are ample beach bars in the day. The pizza freshly made at lunchtime was also very good.
The excursions were well managed. I would recommend this resort whole heartedly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobPerry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel ,we are very pleased that you enjoyed your vacation in our resort and that our staff exceeded your service expectation .
we hope to see you again soon in sunrise select garden beach.


With best regrades
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

ON LANDING:
The Visa now costs £13:00 and the tips we gave were in the form of a £1:00 coin.
THE HOTEL:
As you would expect from an 'Egyptian 5 star' Very clean hotel with welcoming staff. At the moment there are alot of power cuts possibly due to the main power lines being replaced. The sockets in the rooms are German style two pin. The beds are hard but if you like a softer bed you can ask for a 'Topper' for the mattress. The hair drier is adequate (if you are not partial to salon treatments) But, there is a big yellow thing outside. Some of the rooms don't have a bath plug so a universal plug would be advisable. TV there are two English movie channels if you have really had enough for the day. The DRESS CODE for the meals seemed to be anything goes so long as it's not your swimming costume.
THE INTERNET:
This is best at the 'SENZO MALL' ( this is where McDonalds is) Wifi there is free and there is a supermarket there and the prices are really reasonable. To get here it is a 5 min taxi ride for a cost of 50le (£5:00) this is booked in the lobby area, the driver will drop you off and, at a pre arranged time will pick you up at the point of 'drop off'. WE GAVE THE DRIVER AN EXTRA 10le
for a double cheese burger value meal it was 35le (about 3:50) plus 10% tax.
THE STAFF:
On the main reception desk there is "Mohamed Ashour" he is thr Guru and seems to be 'The Fixer' Very friendly Very approachable with a 'can do' attitude for the British. 'Moustafa' is the T.C Rep again Very polite and will sort out any issues on your behalf.
THE BEACH:
Ask for a red flag so as not to be disturbed although, we were only bothered 3 times and a polite "no thanks" was enough to send the vendours on. There are Jelly fish lots of them but these are harmless (AND DEAD) At the end of the pier you can snorkel and there are two resident puffer fish to be seen 'Woohoo'
THE TRIP:
We did the 'MAHMYA' trip this is a nice day out, after the 'Bun Fight' with the Eastern Europeans after ALL the Melon, the food was really nice. We had done this trip 2 years before and there were loads of fish to be seen then this time however they were very few and far between. On the island this time they have what I wiuld call 'Electric surf boards' these have a window in them so you can see the fish through these have a cost of 75le for 20 mins (no one used them, the water here is really clear) and... No fish!
AND FINALLY:
BECOME AN EASTERN EUROPEAN. Don't say "please or thankyou" barge in front of EVERYONE and generally be loud and Obnoxious, From the Security Officer, all the staff love us British!!
THANKS FOR READING....WE'LL BE BACK NEXT YEAR!

Room Tip: 8821 was our room block 3 is right in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to share your comment about your stay in Sunrise Garden Beach and we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your vacation and our friendly staff helped to make your stay memorable one . We hope to see you again soon.


With Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

we stayed at sunrise garden beach from 15 june till 20 june and we love this hotel .it is the fourth time for us me , my wife and my daughter 4 years old to be in this fantastic resort it is really one of the best resorts in hurghada it makes you trust anything from sunrise group .the food was very good the hotel always very very clean .the room always clean . the animation team working hard and you find them anywhere .if you will have room in the second floor with pool view it will be great . i liked the beach bar and you can also eat there from 12:00 pm till 5:00pm hmmmmmm sorry but i didn't like this number of russian people.you can also have ice cream and pizza on the swimming pool from 12:00 pm till 5:00 pm . and i ask the hotel to bring back the free nuttela because they used to put it at the breakfast but this year i didn't find it to put it on the pan cake :( .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_nasr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your comment ,thank you for your good words and we are happy to know that you had a great time in our hotel .
We are very delighted to welcome you again in your second home Sunrise garden Beach resort&Spa .

With Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 km away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
13.3 km away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
3.7 km away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
10.1 km away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,036 reviews
0.4 km away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,760 - ₹ 9,140
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5 star (local category) "All Inclusive" Resort is perfectly located in an extensive garden landscape. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea. Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the beaches. For those, who prefer water activities, the Resort offers aqua park with 8 slides for adults as well as kid's mini aqua park for small guests who didn't reach 120 cm in height. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing