We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time all inclusive, Egypt travellers & reviewer!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #62 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First time all inclusive, Egypt travellers & reviewer!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

As the title says this was a holiday of firsts for us. Having never done an AI holiday before or having been to Egypt but wanting a good value, great weather holiday in the school half term, this had come highly recommended.
We travelled with Red Sea Holidays and found the meet and greet at the airport exceptionally well organised, we were whisked quickly to the coaches and at the resort very quickly as its only 5km from the airport. Check in was swift and we were soon in our Junior Suite. The rooms are comfortable and functional but certainly a little tired and not quite up to what I would expect from a hotel rated as 4.5 star. Although the issues were only small e.g. the glass topped table had chipped corners which were sharp and could easily cause a cut if not careful, a small plastic tray for the complimentary soaps etc in the bathroom was damaged and had not been replaced, an intermittently noisy aircon I ended up having to correct myself and the inability to get hot water at certain times of the day (especially around 6pm). This said the room was comfy and was cleaned to a very high standard every day.

There have been many complaints from previous reviewers regarding the food to which I have to strongly disagree. The breakfasts are excellent blending varied egg options (delightful omelettes) with a more continental style buffet, good coffee, selection of cereals and juices. The juices are not freshly squeezed (they cost extra) and were on occasion very watered down.
Lunches and snacks were available in a few areas around the pool, simple pizzas, burgers, hotdogs and chips but all were welll cooked and readily available. The lunch time highlight though was the Oasis restaurant by the beach. This again is buffet style with two sections of live cooking, a pasta and a vegetable section, the food was varied with delightful rice and vegetable dishes and an excellent bread section. I would highly recommend trying this at lunch.
The evening fayre was a little more limited but at no point did we fail to eat an enjoyable meal.

The pool and beach areas are both great. We travelled as a family, two adults and an 8 year old boy, and between these areas we could all spend a very enjoyable day. Both are constantly cleaned and have very attentive staff who are happy to serve you drinks if you wish or you can pop up to the bars and help yourself to beer, wine and soft drinks thought the day. The beach was a highlight to us with lots of fish to enjoy snorkelling with and non-stinging jellyfish so nothing to be afraid of!
From the beach there is a large spit and you can get a great distance out from the main beach in shallow, safe depths and can easily see from the darkening sea colour where it gets deeper if you wish to venture out a little further, most enjoyable.
At both the beach and pool we did not struggle to get 3 beds at any time but there is certainly an element in the guests that like to reserve them although that is supposedly not allowed. I did watch people heading down with towels from as early as 6:30am but if you go before 10ish you will have no problems.

The entertainment in the evening is a little dated and would not have been out of place in the Costas in the 1980s, one of the reasons we spent more time at the inside bar of an evening was the huge numbers of smokers at the outdoor shows. The use of "hooka" pipes and normal smoking meant the air could be unpleasant for us non-smokers so we found the non-smoking inside area more agreeable, this is purely our personal preference and not a complaint!

Whilst there for the week we did encounter a couple of problems that did require a complaint to the hotel and rep and we did not feel were appropriately dealt with.
Firstly, we booked a trip to a Bedouin camp in 4x4s with a BBQ and watching the sunset and stars from the desert. The trip was advertised at £90 by Red Sea Holidays but when converted to Egyptian Pounds at there exchange rate ended up costing around £108, it would have been nice to have paid the listed price and exchange rate be amended to meet the advertised cost! Far more annoying though was the fact that the trip was poorly managed, we ended up sitting around for an hour waiting for the BBQ (this was food delivered in large metal serving trays, not a BBQ) and were then advised that sunset was not for another hour and a half so unless we wanted to sit around again we would not see it. We were in groups so ended up driving round for around half an hour before heading back to the hotel before sunset, very disappointing. We reported his to the rep but did not manage to receive a satisfactory response before leaving, we will continue to chase an answer.
Far more concerning though was an incident we had with reception. We received a call from the UK leaving a message regarding a serious incident at home that we needed to respond to, the message was very accurately left but unfortunately we did not receive it! We only got the message via text some 5 hours later. We reported this to reception who blamed the caller for giving inaccurate information so we could not be identified, accused us and our caller of lying, this was most unpleasant. We complained to the reception manager and our rep. This ended in an apology from the reception manager but the rep did not keep us informed or have as up to date info on the complaint as we did.
I really felt the rep did not fulfill his role well and thankfully the incident at home was resolved but could have ended far more negatively.

All in all despite the above issues we encountered we had a very enjoyable weeks holiday. Fantastic weather, good food and attentive service is always welcome and we left with a positive view of Eqypt and the resort. The value for money was exceptional and we would consider an AI holiday again in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    547
    193
    78
    42
See reviews for
344
758
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

we have just returned from a 2wk holiday at the siva grand, it was fantastic the staff go out of their way to make your holiday something to remember,the managment did exactley the same, this was our second visit to the siva grand and it most definatly will not be the last,we are planning to go back there just as soon as we can...... all we can say is THANK YOU siva for making our holiday so great so see you again in the very near future

Room Tip: all the rooms are big and airy they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with CoopTravel

Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just returned from a week at Siva with my sister (2 girls aged 23 and 24). Having never travelled all inclusive before I wasn’t sure what to expect but Siva did not disappoint. Our huge room (Junior Suite) was on the top floor with a great view of the pool and beach, and had a separate lounge area, gigantic bed (easily half again as wide as a normal bed!), clean modern bathroom and balcony.

The hotel itself is spotless and cannot be faulted, there are constantly staff picking up litter, clearing cups, glasses, plates etc, and generally tidying the place up. The foyer bar and terrace were nice if you wanted to be inside (for some reason!) and the pool bar was great with really friendly staff. The beach bar was nice in the evening, to watch the sun going down but only stays open til 10.30. The entertainment was a bit ropey but worth a giggle and a good thing to do to kill the time before going out later!

The beach and pool have loads of sunloungers and waiter service for drinks. You don’t even need to tip the guys every day, just be nice and they will make sure you don’t go thirsty (but a tip at the end of your holiday is definitely appreciated!) – the ‘no reserving sunbeds’ rule is definitely not enforced though and sometimes we couldn’t find 2 empty sunbeds, if you look around a bit you can usually find a couple but you might have to move them (again the pool bar guys were handy here!)

We went for a massage which was a massive mistake, the guy who walks the beach is a really good masseuse and will insist on giving you a free shoulder massage, which is amazing, but the girls who actually do the massage are rubbish, less a massage than just being covered in oil and sort of stroked a bit. We paid £50 for 2 people for 1 hour, cheaper than the UK but not by much, and definitely not worth the money – would not recommend this to anyone.

The food was nowhere near as bad as some of the reviews on here say it is! And definitely not catered towards German guests as other reviews seem to think, I didn’t really see anything that was particularly German and all the signs etc were in English. At breakfast there were boiled or fried eggs and a fresh omelette station, sausages (chicken or beef – no pork, obviously), tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, sauté potatoes, French toast... Or continental with cold meats, cheeses, croissants, yoghurt etc. Not exactly gourmet but very edible. The choice at lunch and dinner was incredible with a huge bread station, tons of salads and dips, soups, hot and cold carved meat, always a meat and a veggie option of stew, tagine, hot pot etc with rice, pasta, cous cous, potatoes. Then there was also a fresh cooked option at dinner every day which varied between huge prawns, mackerel, meat skewers, crabs, some were nice, some not so nice, but if you don’t like something you can always leave it and get something else! At lunch you can also get fresh made pizzas or burgers and hot dogs from the pool side bars. We went to the ‘oriental’ night at the Oasis which is included on AI but you have to book a table, I wouldn’t say it was worth booking, it was like a normal night’s dinner except there was less choice and there was a guy making fresh noodle dishes, but none of it was particularly tasty, or even very oriental!!

Evening entertainment around the hotel is great if you know where and when to look. For girls, ask the bar staff which bars are doing ladies night, and you can guarantee that there will be at least one within a short taxi ride which will have a ladies night on which means free drinks for girls! (Taxis always cost 25 egyptian pounds so agree a price before getting in and don’t pay any more unless you are going really far afield, also watch out as the taxi drivers will try to swap your pound notes for piastra notes (like pennies) so keep an eye on them especially if you’re coming home late as they will assume you are drunk. Best to hand over notes one at a time and confirm which each is (‘here is twenty pounds, here is five pounds’ etc))

Little Buddha next to the hotel is good on ladies nights (Sunday and Wednesday I think) where girls get free entry and free drinks 12am-2am, full of weird men but just ignore them and have fun! Papas Beach is amazing, go early (get there just before midnight) and get the sofas on the beach and have your own private beach party! Again they do a ladies night with free drinks for girls.

Both of us got unexplained stomach bugs which were not horrendous but pretty unpleasant, still not sure what caused it, but go to the chemist next door and explain your symptoms and he will give you drugs to make you feel better in a couple of days for about £8 english. Don’t put off going if you do get ill – it will only get worse! If you do have to spend a day in bed then there is a channel on the TV that plays rubbish American films all day every day so it’s not all bad!

Overall, we couldn’t really fault the hotel. It is not cultural by any stretch of the imagination, but if all you want to do if lay in the sun and have people bring you drinks all day, then you can’t really go wrong – enjoy!!

Room Tip: The top floor rooms were quiet and had lovely views. Lower floor balconies face right onto the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicechadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just returned from a week at the Siva Grand Beach.
I have never stayed in any hotel where more care was lavished on the grounds and gardens, which are extensive. They must use thousands of gallons of water each day keeping them in top condition. All pathways and the pool areas are washed down every day and kept immaculate.

The hotel itself is looking a little tired in places but is kept very clean and tidy. The food choices are good with various restaurants and snack bars to choose from throughout the day. As well as a full buffet restaurant near the private beach at lunchtime there are other food choices throughout the complex - salads, hamburgers, grilled vegetables, crepes, fresh pizzas, waffles etc. for those who find 3 full meals a day too much.
Water chillers are available throughout the complex to which you helped yourself whenever required. Various bars offered beer, wine and soft drinks for you to help yourself so there was no such thing as queueing, which can be a pain at many all inclusive hotels. If you really couldn't drag yourself off your sun bed, waiters were constantly available to bring your free drinks to you. If you give them a small tip they will constantly be back to check on you.

The buffet restaurants in the main building lack a bit of character. One bizarre feature is that they are above each other and have identical layout and furnishings. Very strange when they could have easily varied your dining experience with a bit of flare.
However, the food choice was varied and extensive. All the meat I sampled was superb - especially the lamb dishes. Show cooking was done at breakfast and dinner.

The hotel did not feel crowded, although it had high occupancy when we visited. There were always sun beds available somewhere throughout the day. Naturally the prime spots all go shortly after breakfast but there was no rush to "get the towels down" even though there was a high percentage of German guests.

This is a hotel that I would recommend to anyone wanting a luxury break in a hot climate.

At tip on obtaining your visa when arriving at Hurghada airport. On entering the arrivals lounge you will be directed by the tour company "agents" to the tour company kiosks to buy your visa at £13. However, immediately to the left of the entry doors are a row of bank kiosks, any of which will sell you the same visa at less than £10. (We got 3 Egyptian Pounds change per visa). It takes only a few seconds for them to stick the visa label into your passport and then you proceed direct to the Immigration desks bypassing all the queues. The "agents" will dissuade you as they are on commission but ignore them and walk purposefully into the hall keeping to the left and turn left at the end of the barriers back to the bank kiosks.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view choose the top 2 floors in the main hotel (rooms 400 & 500+) which are ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stugil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

3rd time in egypt, this was the best holiday allround we have had. The hotel was fantastic, as was the food, amenaties and above all the staff were outstanding. The staff made it a pleasue to enjoy yourself and the most friendly and helpfull wherever i have been in the world. The hotel has most everything you could wish for and works like miltary precision (it does exactly what it says on the tin!) Would defintely go back there again on my next egypt visit. We all moan about welcome mornings! well this was a new experience for us this guy was brill, funny informative with all the things you need to know at the start of youtr holiday not at the end. We actually congratulated him on being so good and not even pushing the trips like what sometimes happens. Iwas told that complaints about the hotel were that there were lots of Germans there! there was but what a loverly bunch of people we made friends with quite a few couples and had some great evenings.
Thanks Siva for a brilliant time and we will see you in the future.

Room Tip: Everthing we saw looked good we had an outside one nearer to the beach which was brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
22.0 km away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
3.2 km away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
1.8 km away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#12 of 29 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
0.4 km away
Giftun Azur Resort
Giftun Azur Resort
#95 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.6 km away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#9 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Property: Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Address: The Corniche, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,827 - ₹ 11,195
Hotel Class:4 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying one of the very best locations in Hurghada, the Siva Grand Beach delivers tradition with a twist. Choose from generously sized junior suites in the main building or rooms in the two storey bungalows in the grounds. There are few steps and with a wide gently sloping beach and excellent children's facilities, it is a firm favourite with families. And it's within easy walking distance of a wide range of shops, restaurants and other activities too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing