We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful and knowledgeable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilios Dive Club

Ilios Dive Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ilios Dive Club - One with the Red Sea The Steigenberger Al Dau Resort, Red Sea, Hurghada is the home of Ilios Dive Club. On an area of 360m² we are offering everything diver, skin diver and those going to be need to have a perfect holiday. Due to over 20 years of experience in the professional management of a dive centre we guarantee our guests wonderful dives in the Red Sea. High standards and professionalism are for us the basics to feel comfortable. The dive centre is equipped with two multimedia classrooms, two big guest equipment rooms, workshop, filling station (Nitrox panel available), wheelchair accessible guest toilettes and showers and a very big rinsing area. Ilios DC is directly at the beach with our own marina in front, which allows diving and boat trips in a most comfortable way. Two private diving yachts (Al Dau 1+2) assure perfect comfort, delicious food and everything to feel relaxed on board. Certainly the whole centre is done border free, as we are already since 1992 specialized in teaching diving to people with disability. Ilios Dive Club is offering the full program; divers and non divers need to spend relaxing holidays, such as intro dives, daily diving and snorkelling tours to the beautiful dive spots of the Red Sea. Our PADI dive school offers courses from beginner up to professional. For sure we offer live aboard safaris, diving packages and special offers for groups as well. Jump into the adventure - get diving with Ilios Dive Club!
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Helpful and knowledgeable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Friendly and helpful divers, good dive base with enough equipment if you do not want to bring your own. Boats for the trips were well maintained and the dive master always asked the divers where they would like to go and what to see. Also recommended for snorkellers to join and the explore the beauty of the Red Sea!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    22
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Efficient operations and excellent diving but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The boats used are great, lunch served is OK and dive masters are excellent. Three major concerns: 2-dive trips made unnecessarily long, typically back between 3 and 4 pm ... could have back 1 to 2 hours earlier but the day is dragged out to make it a fuller day, presumably more for the snorklers. We just sat in the water for a couple of hours doing nothing ... would rather have returned much earlier, even skip the so-so lunch. Also, the guy selling personal pictures or DVD of one's day from a company called "No Limit HD" was a rip-off for the price paid, with minimal personalized footage despite promises and rather amateur editing with stock footage. Just enjoy your dive or snorkel and forget the up-sell. Lastly, in the 6 dives I did over 3 days, each time we surface way too early with plenty of air to continue for 10 or 20 min. longer ... I never understood why they finished the dives so early after only 30 to 40 min. Otherwise, excellent dive masters and very safety concerned (maybe overly so with the amount of air in reserve). There was so much to see and enjoy that cutting the dives short was quite disappointing. One time in the 6 dives I see more other divers than fish but most times no one else around. The support staff including captain were very friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holy_Innocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Long time on boat for no reason”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Why is there a 3 hour gap between dives just for the boat to sit there doing nothing? ALso diving elsewhere they give more freedom so you actually dive as opposed to have to hold hands with the instructor constantly.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dysonsphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would recommend Ilios Diving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Very friendly and helpful dive centre, predominately catering for German and Eastern Europe market however there were english speakers so dont be put off using them. Some of the dive sites were and hour or so to get to but were good sites. The centre offers various courses and is also experienced in assisting people with disabilities to enjoy diving experiences. Equipment can be hired at a reasonable cost and they also sell diving/snorkel equipment. This dive centre is easily accessable from the Steigenberger Club and Beach Hotels - no travelling around different hotels doing 'pickups'.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank KaseyK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
“wonderful snorkeling trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We enjoyed a lot a trip to Paradise island! It was really wow! Thanks to all the staff!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lyudmyla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ilios Dive Club also viewed

 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Ilios Dive Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing