We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love at the Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I met the man who would be my husband at The Sheraton Miramar 7 years ago, and we returned in July 2012 for a romantic beach break.

A vision of turquoise and terracotta, this hotel has an unrivaled beach front location in El Gouna, perhaps the most stylish resort on the Red Sea coast. Designed by internationally renowned architect, Michael Graves, the Nubian styled rooms are uniquely spread across nine islands linked by wooden bridges, surrounded by lagoons and sea.

Although architecturally striking, some of the interior furnishings could benefit from an update. Rooms, however, are comfortable, spacious and very well-equipped, each with a picture-perfect view of beaches, lagoons or attractive tropical gardens.

Basking in year-round sunshine, the Sheraton faces the warm, azure waters of the Red Sea and has its own protected, mangrove island, which serves both as a sea break and a chance to see marine wildlife. Colourful canopies of kitesurfers litter the sky. Yachts and dive boats effortlessly pass by and the islands of Tawila and Mahmeya sit on the horizon.

Relaxation is actively encouraged. The wind-breaks and sun-shades at the beaches have “call” buttons to summon a waiter when the need for a cool drink arises and the will to leave your sun lounger slips away. The tide rolls in and stresses literally ebb away.

Come nightfall, the hotel oozes romance. Soft, thoughtful lighting gently illuminates the grounds. If you are not a honeymooner, there is every possibility you will feel like one.

Poolside, things are a little livelier. Tanning and book time may be briefly interrupted by cries of “agwa jeeeem” as international guests assemble themselves in the pool for some synchronised exercise or water polo.

Of course there are plenty of activities on land and sea: golf, quad-bikes, horse and camel rides, and a multitude of sea sports from snorkelling and windsurfing to diving, boat trips and kitesurfing. Whilst luxuriating at the beach or pool is a given, it might be prudent to consider a little exercise after indulging in the Sheraton Miramar’s top notch restaurants.

Dining options are surprisingly very, very good. Hotel buffets are usually fairly uninspiring, but the Sheraton has injected some considerable care and imagination with beautifully presented daily changing cuisine, and chefs cooking a number of options live in the Miramar restaurant. La Piscina offers the experience of dining under the stars on hearty Italian or elegant seafood. Enjoy traditional Lebanese and Egyptian fare, beachfront, at Orient 1001.

Sheraton Miramar is undoubtedly popular with its guests, many returning year after year. The high quality of service is down to the dedicated staff that work with enthusiasm, and despite the physical capacity of the hotel, treat each guest with personal dedication.

They will know your name, which room you prefer and how you like your coffee. It is refreshing too, to see hotel management actively present and involved around the hotel, instead of faceless men in suits. They value their guests; they appreciate vacation time is precious, and it shows.

Sheraton provides language training courses for it's staff in modern European languages - they really do go out of their way to make communication easier between staff and international guests. They will really appreciate a few words back in Arabic, and you can learn them with the help of the Sheraton's daily newsletter that has a selection of words and phrases to learn.

Particular thanks go to the Sheraton's superb staff whose enthusiasm and professionalism could not be faulted. I'm sure this is down to great leadership - special thanks to hotel management (Dr Franz Kielnhofer and Islam Mahrous) - who were actively engaging with guests on a daily basis. They were extremely approachable to all guests and seemed to genuinely care about the quality of their guest's stay. We personally can't thank them enough for that.

Sheraton Miramar is a big name brand with an intimate service, offering a literal feast for the senses. A resort that implores you to relax… and come back for more.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CairogalUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear CairogaUK ,
Many thanks for your feedback and comments. Dr Franz the GM and I extend our sincere thanks for the positive article/feedback and would love to have you again to celbrate your annual anniversaries.

Shehab and you are most welcome to contact me personally for any future reservation and/or special requests.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,031 of 2,741 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

A few weeks back we visited the Sheraton Miramar for the 11th time. For us the Sheraton is our "second home". Meaning that it is a place we are visting since 2007 and which we consider a place we like to visit again and again. Why ? Sure because of the wonderful Egyptian climate and the hotel but especially for the Sheraton staff and we know so many by now. Some of them have become really good and close friends and it is always a pleasure to see them again and it hurts when we have to leave again.

An honest review after 11 times ? As said before the Sheraton staff is the main asset and makes people coming back. The percentage of returning guests is high and I can imagine this is the same for other hotels. It is because El Gouna is hassle free and really relaxed.

Observations

- Food at the buffet has improved. Friendly helpful staff!
- Breakfast is more limited in choice but still of a high quality
- Evening entertainment is more limited compared to other years when there were far more performers than the talented and friendly DJ Nour
- Staff in the evening at the Miramar bar and boat bar were less visiting the customers. We are also used to get "warned" when all inclusive is finished at 23.00. Not because we do not have the money to pay for drinks after 23.00 but just we are used to get a "last call" ;-)
- Being in a romantic dinner for a Sheraton promotion was special. Thank you to also those Sheraton staff involved!! It was a special experience twice even
- The Waves restaurant is always our place to be. Staff there is really dedicated and we know them really well. Compliments! However extra staff outside the restaurant serving the pool people is to be recommended. Not for us but it seems it was maybe too limited sometimes.
- I read a lot of Sheraton Miramar reviews on Tripadvisor as well as on German and Dutch sites. Many positive and also some negative. I also see many tourists not al engaging in any form with Sheraton Staff people. Ok they get a towel at the pool and that's it.. Just talk to those guys and throw in some Arabic words and start a conservation if you want. That works instead of only tips !

A 12th time ? Yes definitely. For us the Sheraton Miramar will always be our second home and we will return again and again. Inshallah....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chouffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear chouffe,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. and comments. I am very happy to know that your 11th stay was enjoyable as every stay.

Please rest assure that your comments will be shared with Head of Departments to make the best out of them. The feedback of our guests is very vital for us and we here in Sheraton Miramar take it serious to improve and elevate our standrds and fix our shortfalls when arise.

I will be waiting for your 12th stay and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed with my husband in this beautiful resort last January. We were very impressed as soon as we arrived with the hospitality of the staff and the impeccably kept lush gardens all around the premises. We were given a room in the second floor overlooking the beach as we asked for on reservation and it was great!! It was modernly furnished with a breathtaking view from the terrace. The bathroom was spacious and spotless clean. The bed was very very comfortable. The beach area was sandy and clean, with lots of sun beds.
As for the restaurant, it has a very nice outdoor seating area overlooking the beach; we loved having breakfast there. The breakfast buffet was great with a wide variety of options. The only con in our stay was that the dinner buffet wasn't really good. It was ok but not great.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms overlooking the beach, the ones in the second floor have a beautiful dome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DinaDeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Dear DinaDeif,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. I am very happy you spent a fantastic stay with us. Our resort is well known as a an Oasis for relaxation and privacy. The 20000 square meter over 9 islands connected with bridges and gardens provide a feeling of comfort.

I am very happy you enjoyed you stay and looking forward to welcoming you again. Please do not hesitate to contact me or any of our reservation agent for future bookings and/or special requests.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It is incredibly wonderful. A great experience. Rooms are clean, capacious, they provided us with two extra beds for the kids. Food was delicious, different theme every night. Personnel are cheerful, and helpful.the view of the lakes was terrific. We really loved the place and intending to go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Sherif S,

Many thanks for your valuable comments. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is the most beautiful resort I have stayed at and we have travelled extensively. From checking in until the day we left we were treated respectfully and without any hassling. Food whether by poolside or in the superbly laid out restaurant was of superior quality. The accommodation was well maintained and exquisite. We stayed in a junior suite and next time may go for the kings accommodation...thank you to all the staff for the best hospitality and memories of little paradise ...

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Dear Dave G,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback. We are very happy you spent a great vacation with us. It is our pleasure to hear from you.

Hope to see you soon in the near future in Sheraton Miramar Resort.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.2 km away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
32.7 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
2,536 reviews
1.7 km away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.3 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.1 km away
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: ₹ 6,903 - ₹ 15,355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing