We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton / First time in Eygpt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from El Gouna this was our first trip to Egypt. We had the meet and greet car at airport, driver purchased our visas, which came to £10 each. Cost of meet and greet (Sheratons own transport) about £32 and only £12 going back to airport. Arrived at the Sheraton at 6.30 p.m. and had an easy check-in and was in our room very quickly. We were a little disappointed with the standard of the room, and didn't feel it came up to 5 star, the twin beds were very comfortable, but not queen size. Although it was a good size and the balcony also a good size with two sun loungers. The bathroom only had a shower, which was no more than a 3 star, the water pressure very low. Air conditioning noisy, had to get up during the night to turn it off, as it kept us awake. We didn't have the normal amenities in the room i.e. bathrobe, slippers, scales, toiletries, iron, ironing board. We wrote a list and went to reception the following morning and they brought them straight up. The staff very friendly and willing to help. The hotel only had 3 restaurants, which we felt were not enough for a hotel this size. But the food reasonable and also reasonably priced. The grounds of the hotel were extensive and very pleasant to walk around either during the day or after dinner in the evening.

There were no mosquitos whilst we were there, but the hotel do fumigate the grounds both at night and morning. Unfortunately the morning fumigation takes place at 5.30 a.m. and wakes everybody up!!!!

The location of the hotel was excellent it was about 10 mins to the Marina which has many restaurants and bars and two evenings it has a street festival which was very good at no cost.
The street festival was also on in Downtown on four evenings, also many restuarants and bars. Both areas very nice to walk around, very safe and no hassling. Shuttle buses run to both places from the hotel every 15 mins the cost being 20 egyptian pounds per person for unlimited travel all week, excellent value.

We visited many restaurants both at the Martina and Downtown, we enjoyed most. Unfortunately after visiting the Greek Restaurant, Athena, had food poisoning and spent two days in bed being very ill.

Local wine between 100 - 150 LE imported wine £30 -£40. Egyptian wine doesn't come up to imported wine, but is drinkable. There is a shop in Downtown called Drinkies where beer is about 80 pence for 500 mlt. Also at the Marina you can buy Duty Free wine, beer and cigarettes, but this has to be purchased within 48 hours of arriving.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiaman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear asiaman0,

Many thanks for your detailed feedback and comments. your comments will be shared with the different head of department to study and take the needed action when needed. I understand your point of views mentioned and please rest assure that the best will be done to recover.

Pease let me know if you have more concerns or further observations.

Regards and hope to see you again

Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,632)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,038 of 2,632 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I'm not gonna write a whole letter because what I want to say about Sheraton Miramar, I can say in only one sentence: This hotel is a sunny paradise for both adults en children where the staff, from houskeeper to manager, treats you as if you are the most important person in the world. (You can also read my previous review that is slightly more detailed)

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadinedebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear nadinedebie,

Many thanks for your comment. youe comment is short but says it all. See you soon and looking forward to welcoming you again.


Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We visited this hotel already third time. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent and tasty food. Hotel is located just on the beach in the green garden. We highly recomend it as a family hotel with quite and warm atmosphere. We will be back again.

MJ and family

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Mariusz J,

Many thanks for your review. Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was our 3rd stay (March 25th-1st April) at the Sheraton, El Gouna. I think that probably says it all! I would urge any of you who are being put off travelling to Egypt by the so called "Troubles" to put it out of your mind. In the main resorts their is nothing to be concerned about. The Egyptian people are so kind and friendly and want to see the tourists return...and dare i say it the English especially...but all are wellcome. The Sheraton, El Gouna, is perfect for those looking for a relaxing, stress free holiday. The staff are all extremely polite, curteous and friendly and above all they can't do enough to please. My personal thanks to Hamada (who has kindly sorted out our return for us in September) this guy epitomises all that is good about this hotel. All the guys on the beach (Ahmed & Nada for a few days) and Ashraf at the Miramar Bar who was so so kind. It is very hard to remember everyones name...but for those i have not mentioned...sorry i would be on here for weeks! Kind regards to all...see you in September...Melvyn & Monica Jones Nottingham UK.

PS- It was good to see the GM walking around the complex on a daily basis.

Room Tip: We had room (3205) which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melvyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Melvyn J,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with the our associates with special thanks for those mentioned in your review in order to encourage and recognize their efforts.

We hope to see you soon again in Sheraton Miramar Resort.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Family of four stayed in connected rooms. This hotel is beautiful, well designed and spread out among lagoons. Use of color and architecture in the buildings is appealing to the eye. Pool is great for kids with extensive shallow area while offering a great setting for relaxing. Staff is very good and try to meet all your needs. One drawback is the walk if you are in one of the outlying areas of the hotel but this also adds to the atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear awalis,

Many thanks for your review and comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our resort and looking forward to welcoming you again and again.

Best regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.3 km away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
31.1 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,319 reviews
0.9 km away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
785 reviews
0.8 km away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
256 reviews
1.2 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: ₹ 6,703 - ₹ 15,554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing