We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful place, lovely staff - dodge the expensive peripherals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, lovely staff – dodge the expensive peripherals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Definitely the best in Dahab. Lovely position, large and comfortable rooms, interesting architecture, great views, immaculate grounds and, if you hunt around for a deal, excellent value. Breakfast good, staff throughout fantastic – nothing was too much trouble but they weren't not intrusive.

Now for the ...buts...But the WiFi is a rip-off, as is the water and you could have two meals for two at one of Dahab's more expensive restaurants for the price of one evening buffet (food's fine but nothing to write home about – try the beach restaurant during the day too). Plus the pools were grubby and the gym contains an ornamental exercise bike, two deflated Swiss balls, a par each of 0.5 k and 1k weights and several paper-thin mats, which isn't a lot of use. The cross-trainer works, though. Oh, and watch out for the surrounds on the beds, which are blond wood and have sharp, pointed corners that tend to get hidden under bedclothes. I had a severely bruised ankle by the end of the week.

Here's some useful info that the hotel don't give you:
1. You can piggy-back the hotel WiFi for free in reception, instead of paying $25 a day.
2. They run a free shuttle bus down to Dahab at 8.30 and back at 10 but you need to book (probably better to get a cab one way as this doesn't leave you much time to eat – the fare should be c£30 Egyptian, or around £3UK – ask to be dropped at the bridge and walk towards the sea).
3. Almost all restaurants are BYO – ask for an off-licence on the strip (they have them whichever way you turn) and buy wine, beer, water, whatever (take loads of water back to the hotel, paying about £2 Egyptian for a large bottle instead of £16 in the hotel).
4. Essence just before the bridge on the right is excellent. The Thai if you turn left is good. Almost everywhere does good fish and salads, burgers, steaks and so on. There's also an Indian, a Thai and several good Italians. Bizarrely, the only thing we couldn't find was Middle Eastern food – I think they think tourists won't like it – but there are little take-aways if you look, with roast chicken, salad, great falafel and more. Cheap as the proverbial chips, which you can get too.
4. Poseidon Divers has two bases at the hotel, one diving and one watersports, both good and reliable. I'd do that rather than taking pot luck elsewhere if you want to dive or snorkel. You can buy a cheap mask, snorkel and fins in Dahab rather than eat up your baggage allowance, or hire everything.
5. The Kids' Club compound is fab for families and also contains the gym and a games room with ping pong (top marks for supplying lots of new balls) and a snooker table.
6. If you are allergic to or frightened of cats, this is not the hotel for you. They have quite a few, who lounge around in reception and beg politely at breakfast. All friendly, glossy and happy but they might not appeal to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridien1937, Director of Rooms at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Kate Russell

It truly is a great pleasure to read your enthusiastic comments. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are delighted to read you enjoyed you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    249
    79
    32
    40
See reviews for
253
509
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Le Meridien is regarded by many as the best hotel in Dahab, and we booked on the basis of this fact, and the glowing reviews it has received on this site. Yes, the rooms are beautifully appointed (we had a superior room with sea view) and the staff fall over themselves to make your stay relaxing and problem free. The resort was practically empty; I don't know if this is a factor of the current economic climate, the perceived security problems or if the season hadn't properly "kicked off", but his means that the staff have very little to do and they can take time to ensure the guests are properly looked after. The "frontline" staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble...keep tipping and you'll get the red carpet treatment.

So far, so good.

I'm a well travelled businessman and frequently stay in 4 and 5* hotels the world over. I've come to expect a certain level of service and comfort. As a business owner I've learned over the years that when things go wrong the golden rule is not to hide in your office and let your troops take the heat...listen to the problems and sort them out, that's what you're paid for. My first problem with the hotel is that the Spa centre that is advertised, on their own and other websites, to be finished in autumn 2011 is still nowhere near complete and the level of noise and disruption experienced on the private beach is un-acceptable. This was pointed out to the staff on reception who passed our concerns onto the management...and nothing happened. Our relaxing beach holiday was ruined by drilling, banging and shouting emanating from the building site. We received no explanation, no apology and no offer of any form of compensation from management, they just kept out of our way. This is not acceptable in a 5* hotel.

Other small details. The jacuzzi has about as much fizz as a bottle of flat, warm Coke. Get it fixed. The internet in the public areas is so slow it's like being back in the dial-up age and the $25 per day charge for this (painfully slow) service in your room is tantamount to highway robbery. Every bar/restaurant in the town has wi-fi for free because it attracts customers...it's called marketing. I'm on holiday but I need to keep up with my business affairs, free internet will be a major factor in my hotel selection in future.

To end on some positive notes, the massage guy is fantastic...use him, I was a new man the next day! Dahab is a fantastic place to visit, away from the over-commercialisation of Sharm el Sheikh and the package tourist hordes it has so much to offer. Don't let the political unrest bother you, these people want tourists to come and visit them and the high level of security is for your benefit. Go for the watersports and relaxation but take advantage of the welcoming hospitality to see a bit more of what they have to offer. I will be going again, but I'll be staying in a beautiful little 7 room hotel I've found...not 5* but it's quiet and they have free high speed wi-fi in every room. I won't tell you what it's called because I don't want too many people to go there and ruin it...it's out there, find it for yourself, it will be much more rewarding.

Room Tip: Must have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CavemanRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridien1937, Director of Rooms Division at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear CavemanRacer

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated, as it helps us to continue to improve our service so that we may reach our guests expectations. I do apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the noisy of the Spa work. Your comments have been forwarded to the department concerned to ensure it will not happen again in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Le Méridien Dahab in the near future.


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful place. The room is big, the jacuzzi is amazing. The highlight is the bar in the private beach. Loved the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bventuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridien1937, Director of Rooms Division at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Bventuri

It truly is a great pleasure to read your enthusiastic comments. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are delighted to read you enjoyed you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel, repeatedly described by locals as the best hotel in Dahab. The place is absolutely stunning - sympathetically & beautifully designed by a brilliant architect and the layout is superb. Nothing is over a storey high and it is so spread out I doubt it would feel crowded even if full. Our (deluxe) room was absolutely beautiful, as were all the public areas, restaurants and the pools. It's very open plan and as a result of which there are a number of gorgeous little Egyptian cats around who were delightful. Breakfast was excellent with an egg chef ready to make you eggs or omelettes of your choice, plus some other cooked items, waffles, cakes & pastries, fruits & yoghurt, cereals, breads and cheeses and wonderful fresh juices.
For evening meals we found the restaurants to be expensive and not quite up to scratch where the food was concerned. This wasn't a problem for us as we preferred to eat in the lovely Dahab town anyway where El Fanar was one of the absolute highlights of our trip - by far the best restaurant in Dahab with wonderful food, incredible staff and a fabulous ambience.
Regarding Dahab itself, having travelled all over the world I have never been so overwhelmed by the warm hospitality of people as I was here in Dahab. The Egyptians were astonishing in their generosity and warmth and we loved it. If you are thinking of doing any tours (canyons, Petra, bedouin dinners etc) I cannot recommend Lady Egypt enough. They were organised, easy to deal with and their guide Ahmed was the best guide we have had anywhere in the world. Dahab Divers were excellent for my husband who loves to dive, and much more reasonably priced than the diving offered by the 5* hotels.
Le Meridien was simply stunning and the staff are delightful. This hotel is now in my top 3 worldwide!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are on the sea front with beautiful private outdoor showers as well. Worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BabyBlueLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridien1937, Director of Rooms Division at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear BabyBlueLou

It is truly a great pleasure to read your enthusiastic comments. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we am delighted to read you enjoyed you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to our Le Meridien Dahab Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Really so nice place great service good for relax very clean rooms and very nice location I recommend it

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahab20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridien1937, Director of Rooms Division at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Dahab20122012

It is truly a great pleasure to read your enthusiastic comments. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are delighted to read you enjoyed you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to Le Meridien Dahab Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
6.6 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
9.8 km away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.9 km away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
1.5 km away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
4.5 km away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Property: Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Address: Al Tahrir St | PO Box 2, Dahab, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dahab
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#11 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,209 - ₹ 23,785
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Dahab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Le Meridien Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Dahab Hotel Dahab
Dahab Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing