We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A view from the" Seventies"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dive Urge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dive Urge
Ranked #1 of 27 Dahab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A view from the" Seventies"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

As the 71 yr old ( Solo traveller and novice diver ) in Attakat review above- I totally agree (Thanks Kat-keep in contact ! ). Dahab is a magical place. Truly " You arrive as a guest- depart as a friend " - I now number 3/4 of the local people as valued friends and look forward to a re-union from my next time at Dive U. Dive Urge and all their peoople are.... pretty good as well. A special word for Kimberley- without your help it would have been so much harder to complete the E-learning. Ahmed has the patience of Job- while pushing you all the time to do your best, he has to be congratulated for my achieving the Open Diver status.
Tip 1 You get so very much more from your stay if you can do the E-learning before you arrive.
Tip 2 Allow Dahab stay time after you have your pass,make time to dive for fun/ recreation.
Tip 3 Eat as a local, my recommendations >"King Chicken & sea food at "Sea B/ The Mermaid"
Tip 4 Dive Urge hire out underwater cameras / You concentrate on your diving, while Ahmed tales the pictures. They may not be Blue Planet class but hey , you are right there alongside Ahmed.
I will try so hard to come back to Dive U to get my next/ Advance Open Water qualification.
mike j - Forever grateful.

Room Tip: See my reviews with my three main tips for others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne G, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We are really glad you got through your PADI Open Water, a real achievement for anyone but in your 70’s, that’s something really amazing, huge well done from us all. Great tips for future guests too, especially the E-Learning which saves valuable holiday time. We pride ourselves in looking after you from the moment you inquire to when you leave and beyond. We now take photos of our diving guests underwater as standard at no extra charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
50
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Two visits in 6 months ,one for a Paadi course and one with my wife to soak up the sun and snorkel, have convinced me that Diveurge has that magic that many others strive for. Peaceful privacy when you want a quiet corner, personable service at all times, charming staff for your diving and catering needs, and that extra Bedouin flavour.Need one mention the glorious views of Red Sea and the beatiful backdrop of the Sinai? What a breeze , and what a break away from the stuffy hum-drum of urban life! The hour's drive from Sharm is worth it. I can't wait to get back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for advice and you'll get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne G, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We strive to provide a great holiday for divers and non-divers alike and I am really pleased you enjoyed your time here together. We think we are lucky to live in one of the most stunning locations in the world and glad you think so too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

If you want to simply chill-out,then this is THE PLACE!Right on the beach,with snorkelling and diving right on the spot! Soooooo relaxing,with wonderful ,attentive,staff always ready to help!
Accommodation is first-class.Lots of restaurants close-by.Thanks to everyone for a great week...thanx especially to Kimberley,who puts herself out to ensure that you are happy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisredman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne G, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Relaxing is what we work hard to achieve and glad that you reaped the benefits of a chilled out week. Kimberley is amazing and we are lucky to have her with us and all the Dive Urge crew too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I visited Dive Urge for a week to do the PADI Open Water Diver course. I had no previous experience with scuba diving, but picking Dive Urge as my dive center was the best, lucky decision I could have possibly made! Everyone is uber-friendly: they go out of their way to remember your name, what you like for breakfast, etc. Ahmed, my scuba instructor was firm and endlessly patient with me, no question was too dumb. I felt like a million bucks when I passed my course and owe it all to his excellent guidance! It's also wonderful to stay right at the dive centre. The excellent location affords easy access to the rest of Dahab and it's so nice to be able to dive and eat and sleep all in the same place. They hit just the right chords: laid back but very clean and safe, environmentally aware, friendly while still allowing guests privacy and space. I met great people from 12-71 during my week here; they really to cater to everyone! I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne G, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Relaxing is what we work hard to achieve and glad that you reaped the benefits of a chilled out week. Kimberley is amazing and we are lucky to have her with us and all the Dive Urge crew too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I hadn't really planned on embarking on diving...but the weather was windy so that snorkelling wasn't possible (sea too choppy) so I gave it a go. I was a nervous complete novice and can only say that our instructor (there were just two of us learners) Ahmed was brilliant; patient, calm, and encouraging. We had a really inspiring dive at Eel Garden (which is literally on the door step of Dive Urge) and I could suddenly see what all the fuss is about - beautiful corals and amazing fish all around us. I ended up getting my Open Water certification and hope to have another opportunity to dive again soon. I would certainly recommend Dive Urge for beginner divers - but my partner and the other guests who were experienced divers loved it too. The garden is a lovely tranquil place to hang out, the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble - and Dahab is a really pretty little place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne G, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We are so lucky to have Eel Garden Dive Site on our door step as it is one of the most spectacular dive sites in Dahab. We are so glad that you got through your P.A.D.I. Open Water Course, well done and look forward to seeing you back here for more ‘fun dives’ soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
1.9 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.5 km away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.7 km away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#7 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
5.1 km away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.7 km away
Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Urge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Urge

Property: Dive Urge
Address: El Melal Street | South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Dahab
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,042 - ₹ 2,315
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive Urge is a PADI Resort offering a personal,peaceful & professional retreat for divers wishing to holiday away from the crowds. Set on the shores of the famous Eel Garden Dive Site, just five minutes walk from the main bay of Dahab. Our family run club offers a unique 4-1 policy for all divers, which keeps the groups small and your enjoyment level high. We offer the highest standards of attention and care for all our guests. Our home from home feeling appeals to all holiday makers; singles, couples, groups of friends and of course families too. Our number one rating in Trip Advisor and Cert of Excellence, 3 years running, also speaks volumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dive Urge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing