We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alf Leila Boutique Hotel.(Dahab)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 40
US$ 39
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 64
US$ 60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Primo Hotel Dahab(Dahab)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 52
US$ 44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 66
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$ 57
US$ 24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Red Dahab(Dahab)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bedouin Lodge Hotel(Dahab)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
107
47
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
47
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprofessional instructorslight houserooms are cleanbed was comfortablediving centerbig thanksblue holevisit dahablighthousedivebedouinseamaintenance
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We came to Dahab to dive (they have a divingcentre Mirage Divers) and it was great!
They say ' it's a home, not a hotel' and they're totally right.

The staff is friendly and help you with everything (even getting you phone-credits for your mobile phone). There is a good atmosphere amoung the staff and other guests.

The rooms are simple but good (and cool cause of the airconditioning) and clean. The staff only enters your room if you hang the ' please clean' sign.

Mirage has a safe for your pasport and other valuables.
The food and drinks are nice (try the Egyptian breakfast).

Amber (the Netherlands)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AmberEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Mirage probably isn't for everyone - yes, there are a few hotels that are a little nicer up the path along the beach. But as my wife remarked, "What didn't they do that we asked?"

Friendly and accommodating, knowing when to ask if they can help you and when to simply let you relax, we found the Mirage to be a breath of fresh air. Unlike the notorious harassing tourist environment of Cairo, the Mirage seemed to "get it" when it came to making foreigners feel welcome.

The Mirage isn't for everyone - the rooms might be small to some. . .the bathrooms are right next to the bed separated by a wall. . .there are times when you can hear what goes on next door - but these small dings do not detract from our wonderful experience. A big plus was that there were no mosquitoes (and we went during the dead heat of the August summer)

My personal favorite Mirage memory was when my wife and I were hand-washing our own clothes (it was August in Egypt in 2009) and we were washing our clothes in the bathroom and letting them drip-dry on the chair outside of our room. Without asking, without prompting, within minutes a metal rack specifically meant for drying clothes appeared outside our room in ten minutes. That's what kind of place this is.

It's not as expensive as other places in Dahab - it's right off the water. . .and we had no problem walking anywhere. It was easily our best choice while visiting Egypt.

Room Tip: Keep away from the street (cars/people) stay near the water. . .
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rudedog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Friendly staff. Very welcoming during reservation.
Good hotel if you are on Bed only basis. Poor F&B.
The Hotel has a diving center and a nice Bedouin sitting area.
Ahmed Salem, Erica (Reception & Reservation) are very friendly.
Shady & Ahmed Salem (Diving Center) both are professional and very patient with beginners.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Walid-Hassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Mirage Village and we had a fantastic time. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and truly made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble.

The location was perfect, just 5 minutes to the eel garden and lighthouse dive sites and a wealth of shops and restaurants right on the sea front.

The room was spacious with AC / Heater and fridge, though the 'sea view' was not quite what we hoped for (I am nitpicking as it was only a stone's throw).
Very reasonably priced accommodation we thought given the quality of the service and excellent location.

The biggest plus has to be the on-site dive centre (Mirage Divers) whose staff were simply outstanding, we couldn't have asked for anything more. Beduin Tours is opposite and they are also excellent and very handy for trips to local attractions.

I would highly recommend Mirage Village to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cusimar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We've just returned from a two week trip to the Mirage Village and would like to say the Mirage is nice in a reasonable location with lovely staff. It’s about a 5 minute walk to “the lighthouse” and next door to the Furry Cup bar (my favourite bar in Dahab!) and the Blue Beach Club with its great new restaurant (which served the best food I had in Dahab).

There was minor problems with our stay which i feel I should mention for the purposes of this review however if you're the kind of person to overly worry about these things then I feel I should warn you to expect much worse in Egypt!

Our visit coincided with the recent uprising in Cairo and as such there was virtually no-one else staying at the hotel. As such we were given a "special room" which although spacious with a sea view (views from the other aspect wasn’t great) was a bit shabby. Also, despite repeated attempts by the staff the shower barely worked so after a day or two we moved to another room which was much nicer.
My biggest complaint however was that the room wasn't cleaned until we requested it. When the room wasn't cleaned again for another couple of days we again complained and after this it was (mostly) cleaned each day. I'm not someone that would ordinarily worry overly about such things however this is a country that requires toilet paper to be deposited in a bin rather than flushed and as such was a bit unpleasant after more than a day to my western sensibilities (like I said though – you'll see much worse)!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Davey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews