We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great holiday and good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Life Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Life Village
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great holiday and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Just returned from a pre-christmas last minute week in Dahab. This is our 10th time in Egypt and 2nd to Dahab. We chose Happy Life as last time we were in Dahab we heard good reports and in particular the great snorkelling .

We travelled with our two children aged 10 and 7 and the main reason for our trip was to dive and snorkel.

The room we were given was great. Pretty much a suite. Huge lounge area with twin beds for the kids as well as a sofa, armchair and dining table and chairs, plus a large main bedroom, massive balcony and seaview. Other reviewers have mentioned that rooms and the hotel in general looks a bit tired this is true but really irrelevant as it is very clean and we were pleased to have so much space in the room.

Food-very good lots of variety and well cooked. One night they did a seafood night where you could choose which fish you would like they cut pieces off for you and cut calamri rings and you then moved along to the griddle chef who cooked it for you-delicious.Waiters very attentive and helpful always refilling drinks. The wine in particular was actually very drinkable (unusual in Egypt!!) and actually poured from a bottle (again not our usual all inc experience in Egypt).
Didn't hear anyone moaning about upset stomachs and we were all fine.

As it was the week prior to Xmas the hotel was initially very quiet and for a couple of days we were the only English people there. The majority were Germans, Dutch and Russians.

Pools are huge and there are water slides for the kids and shallow segregated areas for the kids too. Tons of sunbeds and we actually had a pool area to ourselves for a couple of days as it was so quiet. The only problem was that they were all unheated (approx 17 degrees freezing!!!) which was a big disappointment for our kids as they couldn't stand the water for longer than a few minutes. We did ask whether they would be heating a pool and the reply was not until next year, bit odd as this is probably the coldest time of year and we have been to Egypt at this time of year and the hotels we have stayed in have always had at least one pool heated.
The weather was pretty good, first couple of days were a bit windy so you did need to get shelter eg the windbreaks on the beach or tuck into a corner by the pool and then it was lovely and warm. Once the wind dropped it was steaming approx 28 degrees -lovely. Does drop at night definitely pack warm clothes for the evening we pretty much wore jeans and hoodies in the evening.

Snorkelling is awesome, excellent reef and a short walk along the beach takes you to an area named the three pools.Loads of beautiful coral and fish. Although the sea was warmer than the swimming pools (approx 22 degrees) I would still advise bringing a wetsuit with you or hire one from the onsite dive shop.Lagona divers are new on site at Happy Life my huband did a few dives with them and said they were a very slick and organised operation and reasonably priced for recreational diving. He did use Poseidon Divers, Dahab for a deep dive course he wanted to do as they were cheaper and he had booked it from the UK plus they did our airport transfers too. Again excellent dive centre and we would use again.
The hotel runs a shuttle bus in to Dahab which takes about 15 mins. Dahab is a nice town much more laid back than Sharm good restaurants most of which you need to bring your own alcohol (shops nearby sell alcohol). Yalla and Ali Baba are good.
We would definitely return to Happy Life but probably not in the winter months as amusing too youngish children without a swimming pool was quite hard work! There is a kids club which looked pretty good but aimed at a very young age group probably 3-6 years. I would recommend this hotel for a quiet and relaxing break and for divers and serious snorkellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you are travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jrj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    195
    52
    15
    13
See reviews for
121
222
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I have just returned from a 2 week stay which I booked with Olympus. Olympus did not include transport to the hotel to and from the airport, so I booked a private taxi with Sharm Club, who were there waiting for me on arrival and turned up 5 minutes early to collect me for the flight home. I would certainly recommend them and both drivers drove fast and carefully.

I booked this holiday as I just wanted 2 weeks of peace and quiet and because the all inclusive cost & flight was so cheap. It was just what I wanted only far better than I had expected. The rooms were well cleaned, the sheets were lovely, the bed was hard but I still managed to sleep for 9 hours every night. The heating (air cond) worked wonderfully and the room heated up very quickly once the sun disappeared at 3.20 pm.

In particular, I found the food amazing. I am NOT a big fish eater as it is so dear in the UK but I was eating fish everyday and I never got tired of the food. The staff work extremely hard and the service is great.

I would definitely like to return there for peace and quiet. Had this been a more expensive hotel, then I would have pointed out more deficiences. As someone else said, the rooms could do with a bit of refurbishment, but they were well cleaned and everything worked OK.

Please note that I rarely bother to rate a hotel on the internet, but this was such a bargain, I felt I had to say how pleased I was with this holiday. Most of the other guests were NOT Brits so take loads of books to read by the sea or by the pools.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlaudcent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was our second visit to Egypt and an all-inclusive break. After a bit of research we opted for Happy Life Village as it seemed to offer what we were looking for in a winter holiday following our son's wedding, the chance to relax and recharge our batteries.We were not disapponted and certainly agreed the place fitted its name!

We wanted a more isolated resort which still had options. We made use of the free shuttle bus into Dahab, went quad biking out from the resort and thoroughy enjoyed a day out to the white canyons, oasis and coloured canyons.

Time within the resort passed easily, with the beach area and snorkelling an everyday event. Whilst the resort wasn't full, the only time we were really aware of lots of other people was in the dining rooms at meal times.

Our room, whilst basic, was clean and maintained daily, as was the whole resort. We liked the fact each room had its own balcony. There was lots of choice at meal times, with food being cooked to serve. Couldn't fault the quality and, unfortunately, the array of cakes and pastries were too delicious to ignore!! Neither of us experienced any tummy troubles, which must be a first! All staff were extremely hard working, friendly and polite. The 'messages' on our coffee from the guys at the pool bars only made our smiles wider.

Would we recommend Happy Life Village and plan another holiday there? Absolutely 'YES'.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kari68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Just back from our second visit and found it even better, especially for a 3 star hotel, than last year.
The majority of guests were German, Dutch and Eastern Europeans with only a handful of Brits. Our air conditioned room had TV, fridge and was serviced every day and with fresh towels. We found the reception and all the staff effecient and friendly. They have added a fourth pool at the top of the complex but it was not in use while we were there. However did find the unheated pools quite chilly - but it was November !
Our only concern were the queues in the restaurant not helped by the apparent random layout of the buffet style food area but the food qualtity was even better than our visit last year.
The hotel is very isolated which suited us but there are daily free shuttle buses to Dahab.
The best feature is of course the superb swimming and snorkelling from the small jetty off the beach. The coral reef and variety of fish was again the highlight of our holiday but suggest you bring a wet suit this time of the year if you spend a lot of time in the water.

Room Tip: Rooms near to the lower pool bar could be noisy in the evening. Bring extra coat hangers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I go there every year and this year it was awesome.I love the workers so much.The rooms,pools,food,water slides are awesome.The safari was awesome.I adore this village and i will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
13.4 km away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.1 km away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
5.7 km away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
5.4 km away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
7.6 km away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#28 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Life Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Village

Property: Happy Life Village
Address: Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dahab
#3 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,974 - ₹ 3,403
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Village 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Happy Life Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Life Village Dahab
Happy Life Village Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing