We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic eight days cruise”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Nemo II

Come Join us!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come Join us!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Come Join us!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
campGreno...
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic eight days cruise”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We are two couples aged around 55 years and we did the eight days western and northern islands' cruise (Isabela, Fernandina, Santiago,etc.) on the Nemo II.

As we spent 6 more days on the Galapagos islands after the cruise, we can assure you that a cruise is absolutely the way to see theese islands. It seems to be an expensive one, but when you consider that life is very expensive on the islands (hotels, retaurants, activities, transfers,...), it is realy worth it.

On the Nemo everything was great :
- the crew is realy helpful, smiling, patient,
- the guides (we had a first one for two days and another one after because the first one's wife gave birth to their first child...) know a lot about the islands (geography, history, birds, turtles and tortoises, marin life and so on) ; they are very happy to pass their knowledge ; they also go with you on land and under water for snorkeling (which is very interesting : sharks, turtle, fishes of course, rays).
- the cook is amazing : how can he manage to deliver so delicious dishes in a so mall space and even in rough sea...
- the captain is very cool and decided to get close enough toward the volcano's slopes to see the eruptions and the lava flowing in the ocean which was an amazing moment.

We also had the incredible luck to be with eleven other great people of all ages and nationalities.

It was a dream time during which we had the chance to discover a different world of nature, life and atmosphere.

Just to know : in summer (july and august) the sea could be rough ; but the boat is strong enough (!) and you can even sleep when it is moving, with some habit (the second night was realy choppy...).

I absolutely recommend this cruise on this special boat

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nemo ll”
Reviewed 4 August 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was a fantastic trip. The ship, the crew, the food, all excellent. We did the southern 5 day itinerary and had the most amazing time. Everything they say about the animals not being afraid of humans is true. The water was clear and warm, the beaches pristine and the animals unforgettable. We only had 12 people on our boat and that gave us a very intimate and personal experience. I can't recommend this trip enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderlus...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enchanting Islands, Amazing Vacation”
Reviewed 4 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We just returned from a last-minute vacation to the Galapagos, and it was like being in a National Geographics movie! The islands were beautiful, and the crew from the Nemo II made it perfect! Alexis, our Naturalist, was extremely knowledgeable, always willing to answer questions, and provided the right amount of information to make it informative yet still vacation. The food on the boat was fantastic, especially given the small space they had to work, and the boat was well maintained. The crew also stayed out of the way so you had independence, but was accessible for anything you needed. The rooms are a bit small, but you don't spend much time in them. The itinerary for Nemo II was fantastic - we say absolutely everything I could have asked for.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see the Galapagos”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This is a review of (very similarl) sister ship Nemo I, as TripAdvisor politely declined to create a separate entry when I asked. Management, please note. There are two much older reviews of Nemo I in the forum, but it needs its own space.

You will see lots of wildlife however you choose to travel in the Galapagos, but the people who run your trip will shape your experiences and memories. With only 13 guests, six crew, and one National Park Naturalist aboard Nemo I, we had personalized attention and a repertoire of international inside jokes by the end of the week. Our Naturalist and leader set the tone (“this week, we are all family”) and we fell in line.

Why a 14 to 16 person catamaran instead of a large ship? It’s more agile, which allows you to take your time on photo hikes & snorkels, the naturalist knows your interests and customizes your tours, and you get to know everyone well. Too small? No, the common areas - dining area, central cabin, lounge above the central cabin, front nets with mats, as well as our cabins - allowed us each our own space.

Our crew was warm and professional. Naturalist Marcos had encyclopedic knowledge of the animals and islands. He always had time for another question, never rushed us on hikes, but kept us on schedule always. Captain Diego put us under sail twice in the evening and once overnight. First Mate Carlos was in the right place whenever we needed something, and smiling.

We enjoyed getting to know people from Denmark, Sweden, Netherlands, China, the US, Germany. Our boat included families with high schoolers, newly-weds and retirees.

Nemo I has an option for a half week cruise; 7 of us stayed for 8 days and 5/6 people joined for each half. The transition was handled smoothly while we visited sites on Santa Cruz Island. We enjoyed the full cruise and would chose it again. Each Island was very different.

Matrimonial cabins (double bed) are furthest from the motors, generator, & anchor and thus quieter. Some of the other cabins have more space however. People in the front cabins mentioned that the generator made it difficult to sleep when it was going. Cabins are comfortable and well kept, but it's an older ship.

Food was bountiful and tasty. Hot soups were the best lunch ever after morning snorkeling excursions. There was always a snack and drink after snorkeling.

Provided snorkeling equipment was fine; we brought prescription masks as they're not available. Island, ocean, and aerial wildlife was amazing and plentiful.

Bring a sweater/shawl as evenings can be cold. The stars are beautiful, especially when you're under sail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2018
Hello Susan. Thank you loads for taking the time to review us. More than anything we want to share the magic of Galapagos Islands in a comfortable and friendly environment with our international guests. So happy to hear you enjoyed being a part of our Nemo family. We are grateful that you entrusted us with this once in a lifetime experience and we delivered a special vacation. Your compliments for each individual member will be passed along. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I can echo many of the comments here. The crew of the Nemo II provided excellent service - very good food, lots of assistance in embarking and disembarking, and quick responses to minor problems. We were in cabin 6, at the back near the motors. While it is noisy when cruising, the noise is constant, so it did not stop us from sleeping without ear plugs. The activity, fresh air and Dramamine ensured that we slept well. Our guide, Gabriel Ribadeneira, was very knowledgeable, patient, and responsive to the group's requests. The itinerary (west islands and Genovesa) is fantastic.

What I can is that the service provided by Gabriel and Latin Tours in dealing with a medical emergency was exceptional. On the second-last full day, my husband fell in a lava field and got a very deep cut on his leg. Gabriel arranged for immediate treatment on a larger boat nearby, and for a transfer back to Santa Cruz Island. We were met there by an ambulance, and a Latin Tours rep who accompanied us to the hospital and arranged a hotel. In the morning, he took us to the airport, having changed our flights for us. In Quito, we were met by another rep who took us to a hotel, then a private hospital, and stayed with us to assist with translation, and then back to the hotel. Latin Tours handled all of the logistical problems so that I could focus on taking care of the patient, who is now recovering well. Latin Tours' support made a bad situation so much easier to handle. My thanks to their whole team.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for trusting us,

We really regret about the situation with your husband hope that he will recover soon!

All the best,
Thanks,
From Nemo Galapagos Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing