We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tortoises at the property. No need to go to visitor sites to see them.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Tortoises at the property. No need to go to visitor sites to see them.
Room 1 with outside deck to chill out
Room 2 with ouside deck to chill out
Picture taken at the property where Giant Tortoises feed.
View from the property. The ocean at the horizon, with Tortuga Bay and Isabela Island
Outside the house
House located in an organic coffee plantation.
Front house with 18 hectarea garden and farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Diane J
1 review
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Our stay at this tortoise sanctuary was wonderful. Our host Reyna was very helpful and accommodating. Lodging was unique and well appointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thanks Diane for choosing MonteMar. It was a pleasure to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gracious hostess, tranquil location, breathtaking views”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at MonteMar in December for a yoga retreat. It was a quiet, peaceful, welcoming refuge at the end of each full day of exploring the Galapagos archipelago. Our hostess was gracious and fun, the food local, fresh and delicious, and the decor modern and elegant. The Galapagos tortoises and wild horses roaming the property made it all the more spectacular. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeylandFa...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Unique, memorable experience in Galapagos ”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

MonteMar is a beautiful property outside of the main town on Santa Cruz (about a 20 min drive). It consists of two villas (small bungalows) and the owner's house, plus lots of green space where wild giant tortoises roam among native plants / trees. The owners have an organic coffee plantation and an area where horses (not for riding) graze, plus chickens and numerous fruit trees (bananas, guavas, etc.). We stayed there for 3 nights in June with our family, including our 3 kids (ages 4-10). Rayna gave us boots so the family could wander the property and explore without worrying about fire ants biting, which was very helpful. She also gave us eggs and bananas from their property.

Our villa had two bedrooms (queen beds in each), a living room with a sofa futon that doubles as a bed, plus a small kitchen and eating area and bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped with everything from wine glasses, cork screw, thermo beverage glasses (that go in the freezer), drinking water (one large jug for the stay), etc. to all the basics for cooking, which was most everything we needed. The villa also had umbrellas, beach towels, reusable water bottles, etc for guest usage. Rayna sold us some of her organic coffee, which was absolutely delicious.

The villa also included daily house keeping, which was very thorough. The housekeeper was helpful in hanging our towels and some hand washed laundry on the owner's cloth line to dry as the villa didn't have an outdoor space to hang laundry. The house was very well cleaned and organized each day when we returned.

All aspects were eco friendly - recycling / composting, solar energy, rules to respect wild life, etc.

Each night stay includes one round trip taxi ride to the town, which was a nice touch as the villas are not walking distance to anything.

Upside: All the features I mentioned above, especially sleeping near the giant tortoises and having unlimited access to watch them in the wild.

Downside: Location is far from town but as I mentioned a round trip taxi ride is included each day and it wasn't a big deal going in and out of town in taxis to get groceries and sight-see. Since we cooked dinners in the villa (given we have young kids), being out of the town wasn't an issue for us - just took a bit of organizing around groceries.

Rayna was very helpful with suggestions on activities for our stay on Santa Cruz. Everything we did was self guided and focused on unique aspects of the island, knowing that we were moving onto Isabela afterwards.

I would definitely recommend MonteMar to families, couples and small groups looking for a unique experience on Santa Cruz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thanks for choosing us for your vacation. It was a pleasure sharing our property with you. Hope you arrived safe back home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariTurne...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“A stay in paradise with free roaming tortoises on a beautiful and tranquil family farm!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I cannot say enough great things about this incredible house, location and owners. We stayed 3 nights and did not want to leave. We loved the location so much, we opted out of a day trip to enjoy the property for an entire, relaxing day. I cannot count the number of tortoises we watched each day, our favorite had her home right outside the front door where we saw her each morning and evening. The wild horses came by each afternoon which was a beautiful site. Reyna and Roberto were amazing hosts and made you feel very welcomed on their amazing property - thank you!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Thanks you Cari for your visit. We enjoyed having you at MonteMar!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmbrooke
Kirkland, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Galapagos Experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our stay at MonteMar exceeded our expectations in every way and made our Christmas holiday on the Galapagos one we will will always remember. Driving onto the property is magical seeing the friendly giant tortoises throughout the grounds and then looking out at the view we knew it was going to be a special week. The house is beautifully designed and was perfect for our family of four. We spent our days on the beach or on day tours and we loved coming back to the relaxation of Montemar.
Reyna and Roberto are tremendous hosts who helped us throughout our stay at MonteMar. From picking us up at the airport to dropping us off at the marina at the end of our stay they made sure we were set for all our excursions throughout the week. Montemar is a special place and we would highly recommend it for a special Galapagos experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thanks Joy, Morgan, Penelope and Maguire for choosing us for your special holidays. It was a pleasure having you at MonteMar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing