We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$78
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$70
View deal
Priceline
$78
View deal
Hotels.com$70
Travelocity$70
Tripadvisor$70
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
107
24
3
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
24
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room nature preserve santa cruz stayed here for nights minute walk smaller room we loved our stay charles darwin station fresh juice roberto fortress tours island galapagos laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

Wonderful experience at this unique and quiet property a short walk from the town. The owners - Gianna and Roberto - treat you like family and are attentive to your every need. If we are lucky enough to return to Galapagos, we would not hesitate to stay here again. Alicia & John from NY

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cubanita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roberto Haro, Propietario at La Fortaleza De Haro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022

My dear Alicia and John,

Guests like you are the ones that give Brightness to our Fortress and Joy to us. You are welcome to your Home in Sta Cruz anytime you wish!

Gianna and Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2021 via mobile

This is a homely environment. Robert designed a fort which has rooms to rent. His wife Gianna takes care of the guests. They live on the premises. The whole family is very blessed and it was pleasure to meet them. The room on top is the one you want reserved. It has amazing views of the bay and surroundings areas. There is a terrace and good size bathroom and beds. We were at the smaller room first near the entrance which was very small and uncomfortable for 3 of us. We upgraded. There is a pool to swim and Breakfast is a treat presented in the courtyard. It is only at 7:30 am. Gianna is there to chat with us. She is very particular and caring. We had bread, butter, jam, fresh juice, eggs and chocolate. It is a 10-15 min walk from town. A pleasant experience.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank archlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roberto Haro, Propietario at La Fortaleza De Haro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Dear Archana,

We were happy to host you 3, and specially when our kids were here, so we could enjoy of each others family. you are a very sweet lady and your husband and son are kind too.

We are glad as well that you liked our continental breakfast with also fruits and good Galapagos machine coffee, which we serve for 2 hours until 9:30

Wish you abondant blessings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2021

I have traveled for years and have never experienced such an incredible level of service. Gianna ensured that we achieved the exact experience we were seeking in the Galapagos. She reserved tours, ordered transportation, and even worked to successfully reclaim my phone that I had lost in a taxi. She even provided chilled calamine lotion for us to use on sunburns. She is clearly proud of her island and wants her clients to see all the beauty and amazement that it offers. In addition to the service, the building is surreal. It is truly a castle. We stayed in the tower room, which includes two terraces that overlook a nature preserve. Truly stunning. This is a magical paradise indeed!

Room tip: Tower has two terraces-AMAZING
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrystiner2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roberto Haro, Propietario at La Fortaleza De Haro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Dear Chrystine,

We are deeply grateful at your rewarding words about us. It´s a Luxury being chosen by persons like you who appreciate our care to give you what you look for in your Adventure here. And this is the encourage we need to continue putting Love in what we do at our Fortress.

Send you both our Warmest Hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

We were planning to stay here for 2 nights, but eventually stayed here for 6 nights.

The host (Gianna) is a very friendly lady. She helped us with bookings for the tours.

Breakfast is good: fresh bread/croissants with eggs and marmalade. Also coffee and tea.

The rooms are basic, but clean! The beds slept good.

Wifi is bad… as everywhere on the island. Try to het online before 6am :). At that time it’s ‘fast’.

Overall we loved our stay at this place. Rate 5/5.

Thanks Gianna (and Roberto) and see you in the future!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Passenger14195767619
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roberto Haro, Propietario at La Fortaleza De Haro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2022

Dear Guests, we are very thankful at your Positive Opinion, and welcome you to our Fortress whenever you wish. so hopefully we´ll meet again here in the future as you say!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2021

There are not enough words to describe our amazing stay at La Fortaleza De Haro! We were greeted warmly upon our arrival by Gianna and Roberto, and that first class hospitality never ended (even after we checked out). As soon as I even booked our stay, I received an e-mail with ideas on our Santa Cruz itinerary. Gianna recommended a solid plan, which led to an unforgettable experience. They genuinely care about their guests. The hotel is super cool, clean and in a nice, quiet location (and was built by Roberto). Breakfast was fabulous, and we enjoyed our time by the pool. This is a fortress, and you will not regret your decision to stay here! If you have the opportunity to stay in the tower, do it!!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorbait2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Roberto Haro, Propietario at La Fortaleza De Haro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2022

Our dear Guests,

We apologise for responding until now, but we have not been receiving Notifications from Tripadvisor since the World Crisis started, and did not think on writing them to ask, because I thought people were not leaving Reviews here anymore.

We thank you so much for your Generous Opinion about us, it's always a Delight to host People that appreciate our Care!

I just need to ask you the Favour to identify yourselves, so I can recognise you because I always remember our Guests, but now it has taken us too much to see the Comments.

Wish you lots of Blessings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews