We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$88
Travelocity$79
Tripadvisor$79
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
52
17
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
17
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juan carlos view from the balcony hot water location is great stayed nights would stay here again air conditioner other islands lobby pier desk shower wifi port ferry town galapagos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2022

This hotel fits the bill for location and walkability. It is easy to visit places to book tours, restaurants, the pier, and souvenir shops as they are within an easy walking distance of the hotel. Just to clarify, some of the tours leave from the other end of the island, those were arranged by my travel agent and transportation was provided. My self-booked tours left just a few streets over from the hotel.
It is quiet enough to be restful, secure, and they have a room air-conditioner! The thermostat is controlled by you. It was appreciated after hot, sweaty Galapagos days.
It was clean. Let the shower run a bit to get the water hot. The desk attendants are friendly and helpful. Water bottles may be filled at the hotel. Drinkable water in the Galapagos is brought in jugs. It will be safe to drink from their water dispenser in the lobby. It is not a "5-star hotel" in the strict sense; but it is in functionality for the Galapagos. Breakfast is available and served off-site. The wifi is terrific!!!
Recommended. I would stay again!

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at Posada Del Mar and it was great! Very simple but clean and a nice confortable bed, hot water and also PERFECT location if you’re taking tours to the other Islands. It’s literally a couple of steps away from the port and all the boats leave from there. Tons and tons of restaurants around it. There is actually a delicious cafe downstair. Juan Carlos and his mom Cecilia were super nice and helpful on giving us tips. I’d definitely recommend this place to my friends!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 July 2021

We booked a two-night stay here, but after the first night we booked a cruise to leave on the second day, so we asked the hotel if we could change the second night to when we came back from the cruise. He said no problem. This is a mother-son team who run the hotel. They were both so kind and calm and helpful with information. It is because of the son that we got our amazing cruise. The room was just fine. King size bed, safe in the room. This is not a no frills hotel, but it also doesn't have a lot of extras. It's just charming. Best of all, as others have stated, the location is great. When we got there, we walked to five agencies to get prices of cruises, and they are all a couple minutes walk. So is the dock where ferries and taxis leave for other islands or cruise boats. When it came time to leave, the mother walked us outside and around the corner to help us find a cab. Very casual and pleasant!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobM3799
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 June 2021

We were very impressed. Juan Carlos and his family took incredibly good care of us. The room was spotlessly clean, with a lovely view of the harbor. The hot breakfast was ample and delish! Juan Carlos speaks wonderful English and helped us with getting tickets on the ferry to Isabela and a taxi down to the dock, also recommendations for restaurants, and help with our heavy bags.

The "Deli" next door is run by his sister. They serve excellent pizza, fantastic coffee, and I recommend the fresh salad - which comes with beautiful avocado - and a yummy dressing! I had mine with grilled chicken and plan on going back. (the have ice cream too).

We have decided to come back for our last night before we leave Galapagos, because we know we will be welcomed back as family. Gracias Juan Carlos!

Room tip: Ask for a harbor view if that is important to you.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SarahJFisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 February 2021

I stayed in a 3rd floor suite and could not have been happier. The accommodations were spotless, the owners were exceptionally helpful and accommodating, and the view from the balcony was outstanding. Everything you could need was provided. There was a Mini fridge in the room, soap and shampoo in the shower, and a safe for items you wanted to keep locked up.
If that wasn’t enough, there was a common area outside the room with a full kitchen, including a coffee maker for those early morning excursions.

The hotel offered a morning breakfast that was fantastic.

The location can’t be beat- so close to the pier, restaurants, and shops.

Posada Del Mar would be at the top of my list for a return stay.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank megan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews