We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAYS!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I spent 4 days with my girlfriend in Galapagos. We actually went during the high season and to be honest it wasn't as bad as I expected. The Galapagos Islands is just an amazing place. Now, the Hotel were we stayed was as awesome as our experience in the National Park. The Hotel (and I mean: the location, the design, the ambience, the rooms, the service and last but not least, the staff!!) were just amazing! Highly recommended!!

PS. Breakfast at the hotel was just great. Byron and the staff prepare amazing corn and plantain breads (try them all), the fruits are exquisite, the coffee freshly brewed...ham cheese omelet...mmm
Room Tip: Room number OV1!! with fantastic ocean views

Room Tip: ask for OV1, fantastic ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted to know you had great holidays in the Galapagos Islands, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to see you again, we are at your service.

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 500 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 days at the end of a trip to the rain forrest, and 10night cuise on the MV Santa Cruz. around the Galapagos Islands.

FINCH BAY
The Finch Bay is a good place to stop off at for a few days after one of the tours. It has a great pool, a small beach in front with its own wildlife - herons, marine iguannas, ducks, and of course sea lions and Pelicans.
The rooms are a good size with excellent air con, and thankfully NO TV !
Beds are turned down each night and you are left a sweet rather than a choclate
Breakfast is served from around 6.30-10.00 and there is ample choice. We had lunch and an evening meal which was also very reasonable. Just watch out for the 10%service and 12%tax on everything even on the mainland.
Wine was quite pricey but coctails were average price - you are on holiday and it is a hotel so you dont expect it to be any different.
You have filtered water in the rooms which can be re filled at the bar/ restaurant.
Restarant is also very nice and airy.
Walked to the Red Mangrove eco hotel for a drink while we we there just to check if we had made the right decision chosing FBay, yes we had.
Our only disappointment was that we only stayed 2 nights. We wanted 5 but were informed by our holiday company in the UK, Dial a Flight, that they had no vacancies. When we checked on the cruise and on arriving at the reception we were informed the hotel had several rooms available, this was really annoying as we could have had a really enjoyable relaxing end to the holiday. Looks like we will have to go back again some time!!

METROPOLITAN TOURING
Our trip was booked through Metropolitan Touring and although i have read about some bad experiences with them we could not fault them. From the minute we landed in Quito until we departed we were taken care of every step of the way. They are one of the main tour companies based in Quito and cover most of South America. They also own the Finch Bay and some of the cruise boats - Santa Cruz, La Pinta Isabella etc.

They provided our transfers to and from Quito, Sacha Lodge, Mv Santa Cruz and the Finch Bay and were always on time and on some occasions early.
Their staff on the transfers were professional and efficient in particular Sebastian who we had the pleasure of travelling with twice.

MV SANTA CRUZ
The staff on the MV Santa Cruz are also extremely professional and courteous, safety is also very high on the agenda. They clearly enjoy working for the company and it shows in the way in which they behave and respond to guests, some of which at times seem to ask the most stupid questions!

We did 2 x 5 night cruises around the Galapagos and it wasnt until our second week that we found out they actaully did a 3rd 4 night cruise. If we had known this in the UK when booking we would have done the full tour (that error was down to our holiday company Dial a Flight)
The cruise was spectacular as was the experiences we had with sea lions, penguins, marine iguannas, Boobies etc etc. The guides were very knowlegeable and had a good understanding of English. Thankyou to everyone who made our trip a memorable one- Vicky, Benjamin, Romero John, Pancho and lovely Carlito.
I could go on about the wildlife and the islands but you have to see if for yourself to understand what all the fuss is about. I can guarantee you will experience something special have some happy memories to take home with you as well as some excellent photographs.
The down side
Some nights the ship sailed through the night which i found quite noisey and difficult to sleep but thats just me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear Jordan16,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a complete review about your experience in the Galapagos Islands and for sharing it with other travellers, i am very sorry for the wrong info you got from the agency and for not being able to stay longer with us, we are waiting for you anytime.

We are pleased to know your overall experience in Ecuador with Metropolitan Touring, M/N Santa Cruz and Finch Bay Hotel was great.

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We spent 8 wonderful nights in paradise at Finch Bay. It's a perfect home base for exploring the islands and relaxing. The staff is all friendly and incredibly helpful (especially Carlos, Tito, Cesar, and Jorge at the bar), with great suggestions for enjoying Galapagos and even for what do to when we got to Quito. The rooms are lovely, the breakfast in the morning is amazing, and the pool and beach are idyllic! Dinner is also excellent at the hotel restaurant. Our excursions by boat to Bartolome and North Seymour were great and the guides could not have been better. This is DEFINITELY a place to go!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmooneyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear cmooneyNewYork,

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to know you had 8 wonderful nights in this paradise - The Galapagos Islands - and i want to remind you something: this is your island too and you are welcome back anytime, it was a pleasure to meet you both!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

FINCH BAY is so nice! Rooms and meals are excelent. The waiters are so kindly. Good value!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KINO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you and serve you.
We look forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at this beautifull hotel for 3 days after our Galapagos tour. The accomodations were wonderfull, and the staff was outstanding. Manager Havier { Quito } and Carlos took such great care of us , we had to tell everyone about it. They really made the stay most memorable. We are planning another trip to the Galapagos, [ once is not enough ! ] and will surely go back to Finch Bay .
Randy Lang

Room Tip: All rooms are good,you may want an ocean view with balcony; the restaurant there in the hotel is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, for taking the time to write it down and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are at your service anytime you want to come back to the Galapagos Islands, we are delighted to know your experience with us was memorable, it was a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards from the Enchanted islands

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
10.3 km away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
440 reviews
1.2 km away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
666 reviews
0.4 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
59 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
317 reviews
7.8 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: ₹ 25,399 - ₹ 41,420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-rooms and 6 Ocean View suites hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yacht. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing