We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best hotel in Galápagos...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
359 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Galápagos...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

FINCH BAY is so nice! Rooms and meals are excelent. The waiters are so kindly. Good value!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KINO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you and serve you.
We look forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    155
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
223
364
44
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at this beautifull hotel for 3 days after our Galapagos tour. The accomodations were wonderfull, and the staff was outstanding. Manager Havier { Quito } and Carlos took such great care of us , we had to tell everyone about it. They really made the stay most memorable. We are planning another trip to the Galapagos, [ once is not enough ! ] and will surely go back to Finch Bay .
Randy Lang

Room Tip: All rooms are good,you may want an ocean view with balcony; the restaurant there in the hotel is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, for taking the time to write it down and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are at your service anytime you want to come back to the Galapagos Islands, we are delighted to know your experience with us was memorable, it was a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards from the Enchanted islands

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We arrived at Finch Bay hotel, following an 80 minute speedboat crossing from San Cristobel. After a few "issues" with transfers on our 2 1/2 week trip, we were looking forward to a week of chilling and exploring - unfortunately, for the 3rd time Metropolitan Touring had messed up and did not make the correct arrangements for our arrival (we noticed a reviewer had also experienced problems with them recently).

When checking in our names was not on the day’s mandate, the receptionist’s grasp of English was fair at best, & she ended up calling the guest relations manager Carlos.

Carlos duly arrived and immediately tried to put us at ease in what was quite a stressful situation, he explained that as we had spent the week previous on a liveaboard boat they had sent a boat out the previous evening (New Years Eve) to the channel where they pass to pick us up. This is a usual process when liveaboard guests are staying an extra week on Santa Cruz, as it saves passing by and returning the next day by speedboat - we were highly embarrassed by this as we knew that getting a boat and captain would have been difficult on such a festive evening. We explained this optioned had been offered to us several weeks before, but we had declined as we wanted to spend New Year with new friends made on the boat - Metropolitan Touring had mis-communicated this to the hotel & was particularly inexcusable as they also own Finch Bay. Anyway, enough about Metropolitan..................

Carlos could not have been more gracious and assured us that the only priority was for us to relax and enjoy our stay with them

After a rocky start we were shown to our ocean view room which was clean, spacious and well furnished. The bathroom was modern with a lovely hot shower and bio-degradable products for you to use. The balcony over looked the small bay and included comfortable outdoor furnishings and a hammock to relax in. The bay is beautiful and quiet until the weekend when it is used by local families all of who are well-behaved and more importantly take all rubbish home with them afterwards.

Our only negative comment on the rooms are they are not soundproof and you can here most of what is happening and said in the room next to you. Fortunately, we only had neighbours for a couple of nights.

The hotel is centred around the pool and restaurant, with comfortable seating and sun loungers. The pool is a good size and frequented by resident ducks, herons and gulls which make it more interesting - the obvious downside is the mess they leave behind, but the hotel staff regularly cleans the pathways.

The pool was well used during our visit, our only complaint would be that some families showed no consideration for others by allowing their children to constantly jump and bomb the pool, sometimes for hours on end & also chase the wildlife! This tapered off during the end of our week when the families left and it felt like a different hotel. You cannot blame the hotel for the bad behaviour of guests, but if you want a quiet time go out of school holidays.

We used both the lunchtime bars snacks, which were very good value and tasty, and the hotel restaurant, where the food was well prepared and presented. A wine list was available and had a varied selection – however wine is not cheap in Galapagos expect to pay in excess of USD$30 plus tax a bottle.

Overall we really enjoyed the hotel, Carlos was exceptional and went out of his way to ensure his guests are having a good stay and when he discovered it was one of our birthdays, prepared a special candlelit dinner by the pool on our last evening, which was a really special end to our trip – thank you Carlos.

The staff are all friendly and wanted to ensure that you had a good time, however I would learn a few words of Spanish if I were to visit again as sometimes a simple conversation can be quite a challenge.

Access to the hotel is by water taxi, the hotel do have there own boat which is free, this can be waiting for you at the jetty if you inform the hotel reception when you are leaving the hotel, otherwise it is a cheap water taxi, & there are always plenty available

Things to do around the hotel include the Darwin Research Centre, Tortuga Bay and The Grietas, as well as snorkelling in the bay which has plenty of fishlife - we snorkelled with marine iguanas, eagle rays & cow nosed rays on one occasion. The hotel also puts on plenty of full day activities, however after a week of challenging diving on the Galapagos Sky liveaboard, our intention was to relax & recharge the batteries.

An excellent place to stay during a special trip in an amazing place.........thank you for making our stay so special

Room Tip: Definitely Ocean View rooms - OV1 or OV2 are in a block of 2 with the best view, OV3 - OV6 are in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_and_Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, we are all happy to know you had a special trip in an amazing place like the Galapagos Islands.

Thank you very much for your feedback, we take all your comments seriously and we are working everyday to improve our service in every aspect you mention.
I am sorry for the issues with transfers and MT which in fact owns this place, but, thanks to MT we had the chance to meet you and serve you.

Carlos is a great professional and the staff follows him as a leader, thank you for your comments about him and the Hotel in general, we look forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia-USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and young son (17 mos) stayed at Finch Bay Eco Hotel after a 5-day cruise on the Legend in Dec 11. After 5 days being scheduled, we loved our unscheduled time at Finch Bay - very relaxing place. Basic info:
-No TV in rooms
-Internet connectivity is reliable and a decent bandwidth
Our room overlooked the beach, which is probably the best swimming beach close to town, and so attracts many locals. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The stand-out feature of this hotel for us was the swimming pool. Our son was in it every day, and his eyes never hurt. Food was of a high standard, especially the breakfasts, and we never had to be concerned about sanitation. Even with a pram, we were able to get into town easily using the boardwalk and water taxi. Some nice local attractions (Las Grietas) are a short walk away from the hotel, and we also walked to Tortuga Bay (and to the exceptional lagoon behind it) with our son in a pram.
We did not take any tours from the hotel as we wanted to get around on our own. I would have to say that the hotel kind of goes to sleep during the day when most guests are out on tours. Service during those times was sometimes a little slow (stressful with a young child).
I would also second a previous review that suggested hair conditioner for the rooms. It took nearly a week for my hair to return to normal. We did look carefully but there was no conditioner available in our room.
I've heard many other travelers be surprised by the weather in the Galapagos, but we were still unprepared for how cool it was. December is a "transition" month, but the weather was only sunny one day while we were there. Long sleave tees are a must for travellers... some nights we were in fleeces!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreckleFace72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear FreckleFace72,

Thank you very much for your review and for the title you chose to define your experience, we are pleased to read you loved your unscheduled time at Finch Bay , it is a very relaxing place indeed and the perfect place to rest after a cruiseship around the islands...

I am glad to know you were able to visit las Grietas, a natural aquarium to bath or snorkel and Tortuga Bay, the most beautiful beach in the Galapagos Islands!

Thank you for your comments and feedback, as you say there is a previous review saying something about hair conditioner, i will make sure every single room has plenty of it available at all times.

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We recently stayed at Finch Bay for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year. We thought this hotel offers good value compare to other hotels in Puerto Ayora, at least during the peak Christmas season. The hotel has a tasteful decor, great swimming pool and beautiful open air dining and lounging area. Our corner room on the second floor (#19) had a good view of both the ocean and the garden. The room is nice, spacious and clean. Our room rate came with buffet breakfast, which was fantastic in term of variety and taste. We dined in a few evenings and had excellent seafood dishes for very reasonable price ($15/dish). We also took a day tour to Plaza Sur Island through the hotel. The hotel is owned by Metropolitan Touring Company, which also runs daily tours from Puerto Ayora. You can join their tours even though you are not staying with them. This day tour was one of the best one we had (we took 3 day trips: Bartolome, Santa Fe, Plaza Sur from 3 different tour operators- suggestions on how to choose tour operators can be found on our separate,generic review of the Galapagos). Our naturalist, Franklin, was so knowledgeable, informative, cordial and friendly. The boat was nice, clean and the crews were just fabulous. We were spoiled!!! It might have cost more than other operators, but it was worth it. We highly recommend it.
A few fabulous activities that can be done near the hotel's vicinity are: hiking to Las Grietas (trail is quite challenging and treacherous, so wear good hiking shoes, but you can swim/snorkle at the quarry as the reward) and kayaking off the Finch Bay beach toward the direction of Las Grietas' wall. We did this after breakfast and saw so many wild life in the sky and in the water (blue-footed boobies, heron, white-tipped sharks, turtles, marine iguana) .
Our only suggestions for improvement are:
1. the operation of the front desk - the staff seems to be disorganized, aloof and not sure what's going on. Check-in process was slow and tentative (not just ours, but we observed others' as well). It seemed that they were surprised that people showed up and rooms weren't ready or they haven't assigned the rooms appropriately.
We wanted to borrow a kayak and had to wait for 15-20 minutes to get okay.
2. the operation of Finch Bay water taxi - you need to take a 2-minutes water taxi from Municipal Dock to the Finch Bay Dock. You could either pay 50cents per person one way for public water taxi or Finch Bay provided their own water taxi complimentary service for guests. We actually love the location because it's slightly removed from the town and the happenings, but yet, it's still conveniently close enough. The issue with Finch Bay water taxi is 8 out of 10 times we can't find their taxi, even though we have asked the front desk to page the water taxi and check their availability prior to leaving the hotel (about 5 minutes walk from hotel to the dock). In my opinion, it's either you provide the service and make sure it's always there or you just tell your guest that you'll have to pay for the public taxi. So we don't have to wait for 15-20 minutes and keep second guessing whether we should just call the public taxi. Or better yet, give the concessions to the public water taxi to take your guests for free.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blue_Earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Blue_Earthling,

Thank you so much for your detailed review about the facilities, food, activities and specially for your feedback, we are pleased to know you had the best day-trip with us, you are right about the possibility to join our tours even though you are not staying with us, everybody is welcome and many of our passengers actually come from other hotels in town, i am happy to know you were spoiled by the crew!

I am very sorry if you felt something was not ok during your check- in process, we experienced some problems with our booking system software and yes, we were slow and confused, the problem is resolved now! I am sorry for the dinghy´s service, your suggestions are welcome and actually we are working on that with the aquataxis, thank you for the great ideas!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
1.2 km away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
10.1 km away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
13.4 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,696 - ₹ 42,227
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing