We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$228
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$205
View deal
Trip.com
$177
View deal
Hotels.com$205
Travelocity$205
Priceline$228
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
104
19
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
19
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant poolside bar hot options great hotel cooked to order eggs local cuisine santa cruz own pace isla grill top floor pool area rooms are spacious comfortable stay the hotel staff two blocks walking distance convenient location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2022 via mobile

Beautiful little hotel in Santa Cruz. The rooms were beautiful as was the pool and outdoor bar area. The top floor has a restaurant and breakfast included a buffet as well as freshly cooked eggs. Staff were friendly. The only disappointment was the sewer smell in some areas of the hotel such as the indoor/outdoor lobby area on the second floor.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank TakeFiveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comments we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our Ikala Galapagos.

We are really sorry that you had the bad experience with the smell you mention, this was due to a pipe in the street in front of the hotel collapsing, this has now been fixed.


We hope you visit us again soon. All the best from the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022

The Ikala Galapagos Hotel is very nice. The location is very good with very close access to the pier and within walking distance to the tourist areas of Puerto Ayora. The rooms are very nice and the pool area is very pleasant. The breakfast is very good and the staff is very accommodating. There are no elevators and the restaurant is located on the 3rd floor (European - 4th American). If you need to get a Covid test to return to the US, there is a test site across the street.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DianaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Dear Diana,

Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our rooms, location, food, and personalized service.


We do not have an elevator because, due to the context of Galapagos, it is not feasible to install one, however for those who prefer to have breakfast in the lounge next to the pool (ground floor) or in their rooms, we gladly offer this facility.

We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2022

The Ikala has a great location near the pier and the little town. The room was very large which was nice. The breakfast was great, served in a delightful, open air room with a stunning view. As other reviewers have noted, the pool/bar area was very comfortable and fun. Our group really enjoyed it. The hotel staff was nice and accommodating. My only issue was there were mosquitoes in the room. I got to the hotel with about 80 bites from a different hotel. About 20 more bites were added at the Ikala. So it put my misery over the top. Hotel rooms should be insect-free, or give you a mosquito net. Other than that, an amazing stay.

Room tip: Some rooms have a lot of stairs to go up. This was no problem for me, but if it is for you ask for a first floor room.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juliebB8175LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our rooms, location, pool, and personalized service.

Regarding your observation about mosquitoes, we are very sorry that they found a way to sneak into your room (usually this does not happen) . We will take your suggestion into account in order to improve our service.


We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2022 via mobile

Beautiful spacious suites, a relaxed bar with a talented bartender next to a cool swimming pool. Very clean and the staff was very helpful with our bags. No elevator here so ask the staff for help. Just off the main road, it’s very convenient to restaurants, bars and shopping. Nice continental breakfast with eggs to order.
Waiter goes out of his way to get to know what you like. We did several (three) tours and Robert Balfour who was our guide to North Seymour and Baltra islands was excellent.
Overall, a wonderful place to stay.

Room tip: If you can’t climb stairs, get a room on the first floor. Restaurant is on the third floor. They’ll cook eggs and bacon any style.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank richpa45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear richpa45,

Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our rooms, location and personalized service.

We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2022

After a 4-night cruise visiting 3 other islands we booked to 4 nights to stay here on Santa Cruz, to explore some more, at our own pace. Ikala was an excellent base.

As a small & modern hotel it felt relaxed and suited us well. Our room was vast, very comfortable and well equipped. Good wifi in room, by pool and on rooftop.
Breakfast was a good buffet – some more unusual hot options, but also cooked to order eggs, plus fruits, yoghurt, cereal and breads. The pool area (and whole hotel) was kept very clean and it was a good spot to relax after a walk.

The location was good – quiet edge of town but very close to the port (water taxi across to Isla Grill), fish market (must see for wildlife!) and local cafes & restaurants (our highlights: Galapagos Deli - brilliant for pizza, juices, sandwiches & ice cream and FraFre - superb fried fish not to be missed).
Also not too far from the Charles Darwin Centre (& neighbouring small beaches) across town and very near to the start of the path to Tortuga Bay. Tortuga Bay is a long walk on an excellent path through National Park land. It's 4+ miles there & back from the hotel to the lagoon (where you can swim, snorkel & kayak) at the end of stunning beach, but well worth it – water & umbrella or hat recommended!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrewinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jose Andrade, Dueño at Ikala Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear Trewin,

Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Ikala Galapagos Hotel, especially our rooms, location, food, and personalized service.

We hope you will visit us again soon. The best of the entire Ikala Galapagos Hotel team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews